We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Witch Sailing Day Charters

Sea Witch Sailing Day Charters
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA
508 631 · 6535
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Martha's Vineyard
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's certainly pleasant gently sailing out of Martha's Vineyard on a summer breeze. John and sue are nice people. Just know that part of the time for which you pay included ferrying you back and forth from the shore to ship and back again. With a large party, this takes a chunk of time out of your sail. If any of your party have disabilities, getting in and out of the boat can be difficult (but not impossible).

Make sure you understand EXACTLY where Captain John will meet you on shore!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Sailing Charter Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I charted the Sea Witch January 26, 2012 in St. Thomas (Virgin Islands). What a great experience. This wife and husband team run a great cruise. I layed up front on the sailboat catching some sun while my wife hung with Capt. John getting some sailing tips. Susan was very attentive with drinks and food. We were so cared for from the minute they greeted us on shore at pick up to the time we got back to land. I defiantly will be back next time in St. Thomas and highly recommend them to customers looking to have a great time out on the seas.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Had a blast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent a late afternoon on the Sea Witch. Capt. John and his wife were tremendous hosts, by the end we felt like they were part of our party. Capt. John did an amazing job as captain and Sue kept our party well informed and educated as we had tons of questions. We anchored off to go swimming, hung out, enjoyed the beautiful scenery. We also brought drinks and dinner on board and felt right at home. The only regret is that we had to go home. If you're looking for a fun and relaxing time on the Vineyard, spend some time on the Sea Witch!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's all good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent a day chartering Sea Witch.
Cap'n John was very competent. Sue was very friendly.
Spending a day on the water can rarely be a bad thing and in this case, it was a wonderful time.
Sue was offering snacks and drinks while John very capably managed to sail the boat virtually single-handed which is a fair accomplishment considering the 4 sails and a whole lot of tacking coupled with an amount of traffic.
Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great sailing adventure on the Sea Witch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Late this June, we chartered the Sea Witch for four hours and had a great time. Our party was two families, a party of ten with adults and teenage children all of whom were quite comforatble on board. We had a great sail with Captain John and his first mate Susan (not "Sue) for four hours off the island and near Nantucket. We stopped in a calm area and Captain John let us dive off the boat into beautiful water off of the island. We brought our own lunch and adult beverages (no red wine as it stains the gel coat). We will return to the Sea Witch again when back on the Vineyard in the future. Highly recommend this excursion as they are very friendly and fun people! Go for it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Witch Sailing Day Charters also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Sea Witch Sailing Day Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Witch Sailing Day Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Witch Sailing Day Charters to your Saves list