We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B on Martha's Vineyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorncroft Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thorncroft Inn to your Saves list
Thorncroft Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   460 Main Street, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B on Martha's Vineyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The owners of Thorncroft Inn are what makes this property so special. They are informative and attentive, but respectful of your privacy. They provided us with some wonderful self guided tours and dinner suggestions. The breakfasts were AMAZING - better than anything you could get at a hotel or resort. Although the decor in our room was a bit early 90s, it was big, comfortable, clean, and private. The property is wooded and you are very likely to see wild turkey, deer, rabbits, and other woodland creatures. We will definitely stay here every time we visit the island.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, so I suggest looking at their website to choose the one most suited to your tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed two nights. The Innkeepers make you feel right at home. They explain all of the Island's eccentricities. The breakfasts are delicious and enormous. Our room was cozy and quaint. Rode our bikes off the ferry, straight to the Inn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was on the Vineyard for one night on business. In the past, I've picked random Inn's to stay at. Upon arrival, I was blown away with the over the top hospitality from owners Karl & Lynn. The Inn is simply beautiful, plenty of parking, fantastic amenities and I could go on forever about the level of service. I usually don't stay for breakfast while on business, however, I did this trip and again, was amazed. They made me feel like a king. I cannot wait to go back for vacation. For the record, I was in the hospitality industry for 20 years. I am rarely impressed ... Karl & Lynn are incredibly proud proprietors and simply get what it takes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the the Thorncroft Inn. Karl and Lynn were the most gracious and helpful innkeepers we have ever encountered. Karl helped us with planning from the minute we made our reservation and provided us with great tips on how to spend our time. The end result was a perfect vacation.
One of the nicest aspects of staying in the inn was the cleanliness. Our room and bathroom were immaculate. Karl and Lynn do not miss a detail.
I have recommended this inn to all my friends and acquaintances and hope that they can be lucky enough to stay there some day.
Thank you for a great memory!!
P.S. It is a ways from town but a pleasant, easy walk to enjoy.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main house above the kitchen area but we never heard any noise. It was very pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I just got back from the lovely Thorncroft Inn in Vineyard Haven. We loved every minute of our stay. Karl and Lynn were excellent hosts. The breakfast meals were so huge we couldn't finish them and couldn't even think about having lunch!! Karl recommended 4 different terrific restaurants and was on the money with all of them. He also gave great sightseeing tips and directions to all. Our room was immaculate. We could walk to the town, or a coast guard lighthouse, or to the ferry from the inn. The town is very nice as it has a few places to eat or just hang out. The Organic Cafe was excellent!! We will defintely return to the Thorncroft Inn next summer. Maybe even sooner!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

is apparently Vineyard Haven 's worst kept secret. The taxi driver who drove us to Oak Bluff for embarkation to Hyanis was moved to check whether we had any greenbacks left after our two day stay at the Thorncroft Inn!   I can categorically state that this is the most expensive, read overpriced bed and breakfast that I have had occasion to stay in and i have had the privilege to stay in many.  Our research was it must be said somewhat hurried as we strove to find ourselves accommodation ahead of the July 4th weekend but on the remarks made by Booking.com we trusted our choice.  Wrong!  Research after the event suggests very many have arrived at same conclusion as ourselves.

I can wholeheartedly concur with the the comments referring to the rather aged decor. I would go as far as to say drab, dark and dull if not damp.  We had a stunning view from the door to the deck of two attractive plastic chairs.  It is inconveniently located especially or anyone without a car as buses do not run late at night .

We were ushered into a side reception room and left to wait and wonder with the fridge.  The whole over precise military timing of breakfast sittings was farcical.  The guest who uttered" who would have thought about French toast and cheddar cheese ?" was bang on, not to mention a peach concoction on top. We retreated to our room the following breakfast opting for a continental breakfast which was anything but continental. Bread rolls and a tub of yoghurt although the fruit was welcoming no cheese or meats.  I will admit that on an unseasonably wet and chilly weekend the "log fire " in the room was welcome .

The Thorncroft Inn may well have been one of America's best rated Inns back in 1990 but that was a quarter of a century ago and in a different century.  Standards have changed. Guests expect tea and coffee making facilities, a cheerful welcome and with respect not one that one might get a wake. The  suggestion that a 10 pct gratuity was in order, perhaps expected, was gratuitously insulting and ignored.  The Thorncroft Inn room rates I contend are too high by a factor of double. The sooner the assessor s of AAA revisit the better for this kind of experience can only give Vineyard Haven and Martha's  Vineyard a bad rap. Thank heavens for the islands ' excellent bus service which went some way to restore our faith in humanity ..Only some.

  P S The two night stay cost the princely sum of USD 781.30 .The taxi was 15 bucks including tip  to the ferry. Best value on Martha's Vineyard was the all day bus pass for 7 dollars apiece .

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I have been enjoying retreats at Thorncroft since 1984. Lynn and Karl have upheld the same high standards for all of these years, I cannot think of another place that has lived up to the expectations held as Thorncroft has. The Inn is lovely, the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, the breakfasts are nothing short of sumptuous! You know you are in a great place when you book your next stay before you even leave...we did that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
7.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#2 of 5 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#5 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorncroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncroft Inn

Address: 460 Main Street, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorncroft Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorncroft Inn is a romantic, secluded, first class, exclusively couples oriented, fourteen room country inn situated in three restored buildings on 2½ acres of landscaped treed grounds, in an area of summer estates in the West Chop area of Vineyard Haven, on the Island of Martha's Vineyard. The inn specializes in honeymoons, anniversaries, engagements and birthdays. Most of the inn’s bedrooms have working fireplaces; some have furnished balconies, private exterior entrances with private porches, two person whirlpools or private hot tubs. All room prices include renowned concierge service, full country breakfast in our dining room or breakfast in bed, wireless and wired high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thorncroft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorncroft Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.