We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodations, a welcoming ambience...we dream of returning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard

Save Saved
You added The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard
60 Mount Aldworth Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Waltham, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accomodations, a welcoming ambience...we dream of returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We spent five peaceful days and nights at the Doctor's House over the winter vacation. The house is charming and lovingly attended to, down to every detail in the guest rooms and common spaces. Our girls loved the wild turkeys parading around the enormous grounds and we all enjoyed evenings warming our feet by the living room fireplace: reading, doing puzzles and drawing. The owner made us feel totally at home. She was thoroughly engaging with the girls, shared stories about the house and Vineyard and great tips of what to see on and off the beaten path. The breakfast is sublime, the coffee strong, the piano waiting for a player. There is happiness in this place and we plan to return in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I arrived late in the afernoon, on a hot hot day. I rang the bell as instructed by a cute little note and was greeted by a very nice women. I later found out she was the owner. The house is huge, bright, airey, sunny and has a wonderful energy about it. I felt like I walked into my own house. Our room was very bright and comfortable. I was so happy. Our eleven year old found the families dog and cats and was exteamly happy to find four legged friends. Breakfast is an experience of YUMMMMMMMMM. Its hard to deside between the eggs or french toast or maybe the homemade muffins. I had it all . Iwas there four three nights and it was all heavenly. I willl be back. Liz and Deb and Nyrieka

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

The Doctors House is a beautiful bed and breakfast in a great location. The yard is immaculate. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Why the 3 stars? The owner and overall atmosphere of the inn are anything but welcoming.

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts over the years including several on the Vineyard and the owner Jilana is not a bed & breakfast type at all. For some reason she likes to talk about the day she doesn’t have to run it like a B&B. As several others have said in past reviews, you definitely feel like you are intruding on someone’s home and it is not a welcoming atmosphere. On a side note though, her husband, who from what we could tell mostly lives in Cambridge, was a wonderful man to talk to and extremely friendly. We joked that it was too bad that their roles were not reversed. The breakfast/inn helper was also a wonderful and nice person to talk to.

The home is beautiful and the rooms are quite large for the Vineyard. The location is a decent (but uphill) walk from town. We enjoyed the Vineyard Haven location as a central point to get around the island and took full advantage of the great bus system to reach points we had not been to in the past.

If you can ignore the owner, this is a great place to stay. There is so much potential here because the home and grounds are just gorgeous. It really is too bad and I hope some day it sells to someone who can give it the love it deserves.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We found this very charming, beautifully decorated B&B in a quiet neighborhood, and thought we would love it. However, we were made to feel like we were intruding on the owner and her family. In fact this woman, the innkeeper, was actually hostile. We were very uncomfortable because of these "vibes". It was a bit like being uninvited guests. What could have been a lovely stay turned out to be rather unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floridian
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Comfortable and cozy; picturesque and convenient. The owners and staff were friendly and polite and the breakfasts were promptly served and delicious whether taken indoors or on the porch. Our room #7 was beautifully furnished and sitting room was great. Being directly above the kitchen you could hear staff conversation sometimes. The wild turkeys in the yard were cool and the cats were nice. They also have pet parakeets.
My wife and I would definitely re-visit the Doctor's House.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Escaped to this B&B for a Valentine's weekend based on a friend's recommendation. First impressions were good: large private grounds, close to the center of town, big living spaces, and clean while at the same time feeling "lived in" (family and guests passed through from time to time). Our room was fairly quiet and offered plenty of space to settle into. The owner was friendly and left us alone. They definitely don't skimp on the breakfast, with a lot of variety and choices. Overall a nice B&B. You can tell that the place is well cared for and is a good getaway from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Just spent a lovely weekend at The Doctor's House, in Vineyard Haven, and couldn't wait to rave about it! The house itself is gorgeous, the public spaces are well decorated, sophisticated, and inviting and our room was large, but cozy, and having our own full bathroom was great. In my experience, that's not always a given with B&B's! That's the Bed, now for the Breakfast! This really blew us away - Eggs Benedict!?!? And it was delicious! There was a great selection of choices, everything from the typical continental fare (yummy fresh baked muffins) to made-to-order eggs - including Eggs Benedict - and a fresh plate of cut fruit! And delicious coffee, always a litmus test for us, and the Doctor's House coffee passed with flying colors! Everything was delicious, everything was beautiful, it was truly a mini-vacation! The whole atmosphere and high quality of everything allowed us to completely enjoy every minute of our stay there and considering it can be somewhat stressful to get to Martha's Vineyard, it was wonderful to be able to truly relax, in the delicious hospitality of The Doctor's House! We hope to return soon!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard

Address: 60 Mount Aldworth Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.