We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Landing

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Landing
Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Vineyard Haven
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is a few blocks from the ferry landing, bus depot, Main St., Black Dog Cafe. If you are on a budget there is a huge kitchen and outdoor grill. The kitchen is very clean and has everything you could possibly need. Also my room had a small fridge. The decor of the rooms and sitting room is a little old but it's clean and there were no problems. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago when we needed inexpensive place for couple of nights. Perfect location, right near VH center, ferry, Black Dog Cafe, bus depot (next to ferry terminal). Easy to get breakfast at any number of coffee places in VH center. Bring your own soap and shampoo and you are all set!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for the weekend in the winter. No hot water, no heat in my room. Old and lacks decor. The other people we were with had no hot water either. 12 people were given a key in room 60 to shower because their was no hot water in 6 other rooms. That's disguising and non sanitary. Not to mention, you had to wait for 12 people to take showers. Needless to say, I took a cold shower on Day 1, but could not tolerate on day 2. Went to the manager, Vicki and was told "it's an act of God" that we have no heat or hot water. I asked for a complimentary room for another time and was told NO. Kitchen area had no heat. I opened three ovens to get the kitchen warm. Manager came down to kitchen, with an attitude and closed the oven doors. Terrible, terrible customer service!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vineyard Haven hotels

Marshfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have stayed at Harbor Landing on numerous occasions and have found the staff, as a whole exceedingly helpfull. Most facilities on the island are very expensive but Harbor Landing is affordable for the average tourist. The manager, Vickie McNamara has always been available to answer any questions we have had. It is not fancy, some of the rooms are small (budget rooms), but clean and comfortable. They do have regular, adjoining, and rooms with kitchenettes. Every room has its own refrigerator and TV. A community kitchen with plenty of room for the guests, an upstairs deck with lounge chairs and a sunroom. Downstairs is a large rec room with a larger screen tv, piano, and a small library. There are no amenities to speak of other than soap, and coffee in the morning. Again for the price it is the best value on the island. Close to public transportation, the ferry, downtown Vineyard Haven and beaches,. You could not ask for a more pleasant stay for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was my second time to stay at Harbor Landing. I love this place! It feels like home. Let me explain. Vickie McNamara, the general manager is so accommodating and efficient, friendly, and helpful. The location in the heart of Vineyard Haven is perfect. We did not have a car and could travel by bus all over the island so easily. The accomodations are great. The room was so clean as was the lobby and beautiful central kitchen and lounge. There was a lovely patio available where you can grill out or just enjoy a glass of wine as we did. I was there for 17 days so I feel I am a reliable critic of this quaint hotel. Vickie and her staff including maintenance and housekeeping went out of their way to make sure the visitors individual needs were met. I plan to go back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here because the price was right and I needed a room for myself and my two daughters. The room was small, the bathroom tiny. But it was clean. there's nothing in the bathroom but a couple of mini bars of soap. There was a small fridge in the room as well. The shared kitchen is large enough for everyone and the guests were friendly. I wasn't impressed but it wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed a few times at Harbor Landing and find it to be a wonderful, friendly, clean, and an affordable place to stay on the Island. I have recommended it to family members and friends and they have all thanked me for finding such an affordable place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. It is not the Marriott, there is not a lot of amenities, and it is small, but it is clean and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay on this storybook island. It is also centrally located. It is within walking distance of the ferry, supermarket, Main Sreet, beach, restaurants, etc. I cannot understand these negative reviews. It must be a disgruntled person. As far as the bulletproof glass is concerned, I have never seen bulletproof glass at Harbor Landing. Every small office/reception area I have seen anywhere has a sliding (regular) glass window for privacy. I highly recommend Harbor Landing as a wonderful, affordable place to stay on Martha's Vineyard, and suggest you try Harbor Landing for yourself to see that these negative reviews are unfounded .

Room Tip: It depends on what people prefer. Just tell the manager what your preferences are. She always goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Landing

Address: Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Vineyard Haven
Also Known As:
Harbor Landing Hotel Vineyard Haven
Harbor Landing Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harbor Landing to your Saves list