We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Landing

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Landing
Save Saved
You added Harbor Landing to your Saves list
Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for the weekend in the winter. No hot water, no heat in my room. Old and lacks decor. The other people we were with had no hot water either. 12 people were given a key in room 60 to shower because their was no hot water in 6 other rooms. That's disguising and non sanitary. Not to mention, you had to wait for 12 people to take showers. Needless to say, I took a cold shower on Day 1, but could not tolerate on day 2. Went to the manager, Vicki and was told "it's an act of God" that we have no heat or hot water. I asked for a complimentary room for another time and was told NO. Kitchen area had no heat. I opened three ovens to get the kitchen warm. Manager came down to kitchen, with an attitude and closed the oven doors. Terrible, terrible customer service!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have stayed at Harbor Landing on numerous occasions and have found the staff, as a whole exceedingly helpfull. Most facilities on the island are very expensive but Harbor Landing is affordable for the average tourist. The manager, Vickie McNamara has always been available to answer any questions we have had. It is not fancy, some of the rooms are small (budget rooms), but clean and comfortable. They do have regular, adjoining, and rooms with kitchenettes. Every room has its own refrigerator and TV. A community kitchen with plenty of room for the guests, an upstairs deck with lounge chairs and a sunroom. Downstairs is a large rec room with a larger screen tv, piano, and a small library. There are no amenities to speak of other than soap, and coffee in the morning. Again for the price it is the best value on the island. Close to public transportation, the ferry, downtown Vineyard Haven and beaches,. You could not ask for a more pleasant stay for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was my second time to stay at Harbor Landing. I love this place! It feels like home. Let me explain. Vickie McNamara, the general manager is so accommodating and efficient, friendly, and helpful. The location in the heart of Vineyard Haven is perfect. We did not have a car and could travel by bus all over the island so easily. The accomodations are great. The room was so clean as was the lobby and beautiful central kitchen and lounge. There was a lovely patio available where you can grill out or just enjoy a glass of wine as we did. I was there for 17 days so I feel I am a reliable critic of this quaint hotel. Vickie and her staff including maintenance and housekeeping went out of their way to make sure the visitors individual needs were met. I plan to go back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here because the price was right and I needed a room for myself and my two daughters. The room was small, the bathroom tiny. But it was clean. there's nothing in the bathroom but a couple of mini bars of soap. There was a small fridge in the room as well. The shared kitchen is large enough for everyone and the guests were friendly. I wasn't impressed but it wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed a few times at Harbor Landing and find it to be a wonderful, friendly, clean, and an affordable place to stay on the Island. I have recommended it to family members and friends and they have all thanked me for finding such an affordable place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. It is not the Marriott, there is not a lot of amenities, and it is small, but it is clean and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay on this storybook island. It is also centrally located. It is within walking distance of the ferry, supermarket, Main Sreet, beach, restaurants, etc. I cannot understand these negative reviews. It must be a disgruntled person. As far as the bulletproof glass is concerned, I have never seen bulletproof glass at Harbor Landing. Every small office/reception area I have seen anywhere has a sliding (regular) glass window for privacy. I highly recommend Harbor Landing as a wonderful, affordable place to stay on Martha's Vineyard, and suggest you try Harbor Landing for yourself to see that these negative reviews are unfounded .

Room Tip: It depends on what people prefer. Just tell the manager what your preferences are. She always goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here and felt the accommodations were terrible. It's my advice you look for another hotel in the area or simply pay a little more to stay somewhere else. The hotel is not clean, quiet, safe and the staff is less than accommodating. Let's put it this way, their office in the hobby area is behind bullet proof glass. The showers were very dirty and had no soap, shampoo and only one towel. The electrical cords were hanging from the ceiling.
I strongly recommend you read the reviews of other bad experiences and trust them. The positive reviews on here are hotel staff and friends trying to hold onto their reputation. Keep looking at other hotels in the area, don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Yes, the hotel is not posh. Yes, the rooms are small compared to what you might expect if you are used to Marriott or other large chain establishments. BUT - and this is an important one for my family - it is affordable and in an excellent location. No matter where you stay on the Vineyard, we all use the same beaches, breath the same air, swim in the same water, and eat at the same restaurants. I would rather spend my money taking a sail on a Black Dog tall Ship, going to Mad Mott's for coffee every day, and getting a Jamacian Beef Patty at the truck in Vineyard Haven for lunch than spend it on a fancy hotel room where all I do is sleep, shower, and go to the bathroom anyway. And for those of you who didn't get a car on the ferry? You can walk to Harbor Landing in about 7 minutes. And there is a super market on the way, in case you want to buy stuff to make PB&J sandwiches to bring the beach.

So, if amenaties are your thing (robes, wet bar, and room service) then this is not the place for you. If you want an affordable, pleasant, and professional place to serve as your home base while you enjoy the island, than Harbor Landing fits the bill.

Room Tip: Make sure you let the staff know how many people are in your party so they can suggest the appropria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Landing

Address: Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Harbor Landing Hotel Vineyard Haven
Harbor Landing Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.