We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Affordable, but be Aware of Skunks.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Save Saved
You added Martha's Vineyard Family Campground to your Saves list
569 Edgartown _ Vineyard Haven Rd., Box 1557, P.O. Box 1557, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and Affordable, but be Aware of Skunks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the campground Aug 7-14 and rented rented a tent site. The sites were a bit small but were flat and shady and easy to get in and out. This us a small but quiet campground. There are about five stand-alone showers near the office and four extra showers in each of the male and female restrooms, all near the office. They are small but clean. Our major complaint was the ever present skunks roaming our site every night even as we were sitting and conversing. It was a huge nuisance for us to not be able to peacefully sit outside our tent because of the skunks. On the last night of our stay, we even had to sit on the table, afraid of being touched or bitten by the skunks. My wife swears she would never go back to the campground just because of the skunks. Aside from that, the campground is well located and quit affordable for Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We just returned from a week's "vacation" at Martha's Vineyard Family Campground. We arrived and were given a tent site that was so small, there was just enough space to step out of our tent and before walking into our screen tent that goes over the table. All of the sites looked small, so it didn't seem to make any sense to ask for a larger one, because there didn't appear to be a larger one. We tried to make the best of it, but after setting everything up, we soon realized that with our van, 4 bikes, a tent and a screen tent, the only space left for our fire ring was quite close to where we parked the car. It really seemed a bit dangerous to have a fire within 3-4' of our car, so we tried to back to the car out a bit, but then it was in the road too much. The thought of moving everything at this point seemed daunting so we let it be and when we had a fire, we backed the car into the road. We did appreciate the quiet time, that was the best part of camping there! Although not all the kids were quiet at 10PM, at least there wasn't loud parties going on like other campgrounds. We also loved the outdoor showers and the size of them was awesome!! The downfall was the hot water heater was set to barely warm, and with the cold weather we were having, it was less than enjoyable, wish they could have turned the water temp up a bit. I would have gladly paid for a hot outdoor shower, but that wasn't an option and I think he kept the temp down to save on money :/ The showers inside are free, and much warmer, and not just because they are inside, the water temp is noticeably higher, but the showers were much smaller. The bathroom stalls were tiny, the kind where you go in and have to straddle the toilet to shut the door and you just about hit your head when get up from the toilet. The bathroom floor was disgusting and only appeared to be clean in the early am, by the end of the day there was sand and hair all over the floor. The employee didn't seem to know much of what was going on, and didn't have many answers. There are plenty of skunks, but if you don't bother them, they didn't seem to bother you. Wifi was only good if you were at the main store, wish the wifi was a larger area. If you plan on camping here, ask for a large site at the least. It is a good bargain for Martha's Vineyard, but the old adage, you get what you pay for, holds true...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Hard to find and staff if lost if quiet time they are all about even though u don't bother any1! Whatever! Boy dude came and dumped water on my fire.,, lol it came back to life! Not bothering anyone ... Don't bother me! Kids r having fun but a million other places to go than here. Bad accommodations ! Gl if u camp here! Sites small and shaded for sun lovers!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed our time in a 2-bedroom cabin a lot. It is very much a family-oriented campground and quiet hours are held to! The bus runs from right outside the campground and most of the cabins are a quick walk to restrooms and store. As mentioned the store has good prices, but is limited to quick, microwavable items. It was so convenient to get a decent cup of coffee for $1.50 each morning as we didn't plan to do much cooking while there. The grill was decent, tank refilled right away when we asked, and grill utensils/lighter included on top of the grill. We found front office staff helpful and kind and didn't see a single skunk (July 24, 2014). They have fairly priced bike rentals right on site (although inventory is limited). We met people from all around the world while here, adding to the experience. TIPS: Showers in restrooms (attached to office and game room building) were nicer and warmer, but get crowded in am; multi-day bus passes are worth it bc you pay for each town you pass through (family of 5 going from Vineyard Haven-Edgartown=$15 each way); buses run loosely on schedule, but they add more when they expect crowds which helped; ask about and look for bike paths--there's TONS of traffic and drivers pay little heed to bikers in our experience; be prepared to PAY CASH because many restaurants don't want to pay fees for credit cards--there are ATMs almost everywhere though.

Room Tip: Lower numbered cabins are closer to office and bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Check in was ok. Summer workers are not super vested in your experience. They seem to warm up a bit, but not much. They don't really know anything and have to check with their boss for everything. It took over five minutes for me to read the rules. I ended up asking if there was a copy in the cabin as there was no way I could remember all of them.

I reached the cabin which hadn't been cleaned. Dirt on floor--feet stuck to the floor, trash in filthy trash can, food on bench next to refrigerator, dirt on mattresses...

Nice maintenance man cleaned trash can with bleach.

I went to use the restroom--hot without adequate ventilation. There was one fan in an open window. Reading other reviews it is clear--restrooms get nasty later in the day because they are only cleaned once--even during high season.Take this statement to heart. Don't plan on using the toilets or showers late in the afternoon. Eww.

Notes: There is a small dorm refrigerator. Ice trays are removed. They charge $3 for ice and don't sell ice trays. However, they will sell you a small Styrofoam cooler for $5.99. I asked the owner for an ice tray--she said nobody had ever asked for one!?

My campfire ring did not have cooking grate, There were some vacant cabins with campfire cooking grates, but I was told that I couldn't trade mine out for one. However, they offered to sell me one for an exorbitant price at their store.

I'm not sure if grills are cleaned between uses as my whole cabin was not cleaned. Some cabins have super nice, new grills. Mine at cabin G-5 was crusty, old, and still had food scraps from the previous camper. There were also some dirty cooking utensils on the grill. Of course, you can buy cleaning supplies and foil at the store...for a fee.

Bicycles can be rented for a bit more than you pay in town, but the bikes must all be back by 8pm. It was a 20 minute brisk walk into town, but there is a bus stop directly outside the campground. A ride to town is $1.

I called in advance about mailing linens because we were flying in. I was told it was okay, but upon arrival, I was told by the desk staff that my linens never arrived. When I got back home, I was greeted by my box marked "refused."

The kids appeared to be having the time of their lives at the playground.

There are some pretty nice bed and breakfasts to stay in for less than a nightly rental at this campground. Unless you have a camper/trailer or plan on driving in with your own camping equipment, I would skip this one.

Room Tip: Specify that you want a clean cabin with a cooking grate on your campfire ring and a clean grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We just spent a week at Martha's Vineyard Family Campground with our 3 kids (aged 8, 6 and 3) and had a wonderful time. The tent sites are very nice, quite large with plenty of trees to provide shade, bathrooms are OK and the playground is wonderful for the kids who disappeared there to play with their friends every time we came back from the beach. The island is lovely with beautiful beaches, cute little towns and good places to eat. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the campground in a cabin for 4 nights this week. Very clean, staff was just o.k. We did not bring a vehicle, did not need one. We brought our bikes and easily made it through Vineyard Haven, Oak Bluffs, West Tisbury, down to South Beach and over to Edgartown. If you get tired, just hop on the bus. There is a stop at the campground! So convenient! For those looking for groceries, etc, the town is a "dry town" meaning there is no alcohol sold at the stores. Great family campground, make sure to go to Aquinnah and see the beach and cliffs.

Room Tip: If renting a cabin, G13 was at the end of the road and so quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha's Vineyard Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Family Campground

Address: 569 Edgartown _ Vineyard Haven Rd., Box 1557, P.O. Box 1557, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 188
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Family Campground Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Family Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.