We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms and scrumptuous breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crocker House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crocker House Inn
12 Crocker Avenue, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
“Gorgeous rooms and scrumptuous breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were three girlfriends on the Vineyard for a wedding up the road in West Chop. The location was perfect - close to VH for strolling, a block away from the wedding ceremony and a short ride to all the other activities in WC. The two rooms we had were beautifully and quietly decorated in a wonderful Cape Cod (but not cheesy) style. Soft colors, beautiful fabrics and just enough furniture. My room had a small balcony which was nice, but actually the communal porch was used more often. The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was on UK time, so up very early and could enjoy the quiet morning on the porch eagerly awaiting breakfast. I was not disappointed. Among the fresh fruits, yoghurts and granola was superb homemade scones and each day had a different 'entree'. The first morning we had a panini-pressed wrap with scrambled eggs, spinach and cheese (heavenly) and the second morning was a toasted (gorgeous bread) similar type concoction. Talented chef! This place is HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: There are a couple rooms on the ground floor which would not be recommended for romantic couples (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
48
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The room was so pretty and the location, a short walk to Main Street, was ideal. We could see the sea from our window, too. Jeff and Jynell, our hosts, were friendly and very helpful and the lounge/breakfast room was attractive. We met some lovely fellow guests and everyone chatted over the delicious and plentiful breakfast. Jynell made sure that my husband had a gluten-free breakfast, which he was delighted about. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We checked Tripadvisor while planning our trip to the Vineyard. The Crocker House Inn seemed ideal for a 2 night stay as it was in Vineyard Haven and close to the ferry landing. Reviews were very good and we were not disappointed at all! Our kind bed room was comfortable and my partner was a happy man with cable TV and Wifi at his disposal. We enjoyed conversation with Jeff and Jynell and others who gathered in the communal living room. Wonderful breakfast and coffee available anytime. We walked into town for dinner which was wonderfully convenient. Overall, it was a really relaxing weekend with just the right amount of conversation and privacy. We will return for another stay at the Crocker House and will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This bed and breakfast is really ideal. (Sorry it took me so long to write this post, though.) We stayed there the weekend of Oct. 1, and the place is lovely, very well-cared for, clean, hospitable, quiet. There was a place for our bikes, and we had everything we could possibly need. The breakfasts are not to be missed. Great value for a really wonderful place. Thanks again so much.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Jeff and Jynell are extremely friendly and great hosts! Wonderful location and Inn! They are within walking distance to restaurants and Main Street! Could not ask for a better stay! Breakfast for me was also very good and plentiful! Jeff and Jynell offered to custom make anything you would like. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Jeff & Jynelle are friendly. They upgraded us when we arrive since they were not oversold. Overall, I felt the rooms were overpriced. They wanted to originally charge us $285 per night during off-peak season when the rooms were dirty and the bathroom tiles were yellowish. I'm not sure why other reviewers say their breakfast was amazing. I felt like I was back at the Hampton Inn for $100 per night and having a free buffet style continental breakfast where I had to make my own toast and cereal. One morning, we even found a fly in the water jar. Their selection of coffee and tea were limited and they put out burnt chocolate chip cookies. We have been to a handful of B&B and this certainly was NOT one of our best experiences. We don't understand the other reviews. This place definitely did not blow our socks off and we definitely felt cheated given it ended being $225 per night plus tax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Crocker House as part of a 10-day trip to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard for our 25th wedding anniversary. The B&B is just a short walk from the Vineyard's convenient and cheap bus network and an even shorter walk to Main Street's intriguing shops and fine restaurants. Jeff and Jynell provided great recommendations for restaurants, a place to stay in Edgartown and a bicycle rental. And other reviewers are correct: The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful! Our room on the second floor at the front of the house had a very comfortable king-sized bed, a gas fireplace (unneeded in early September), a sofa and plenty of floor space. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask either Jeff or Jynell when you call to make a reservation - they will find out what you want (ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crocker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocker House Inn

Address: 12 Crocker Avenue, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet residential side street just 4 house lots from the water. Close to everything yet much quieter than other locations. Comfortable, Casual and convenient. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crocker House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crocker House Inn to your Saves list