We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very fresh food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong City

Hong Kong City
174 Broadway, Taunton, MA 02780-2548
508-822-2888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 116 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Taunton, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always very fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am spoiled now, I am so used to having very fresh food from Hong Kong City, I have trouble eating at other Chinese food restaurants. My only complaint is we ask for our boneless spare ribs well done, but we order take out and still have to bake them longer in our own oven to get them well done.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkley,MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

No matter what size party you have you can expect great service combined with great food. I have been with 20 people and were seated right away but also enjoy a quiet meal with my wife. Prices are reasonable and the serving size is more than adequate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I usually go to Hong Kong City every 5-6 weeks. We love the Spider Maki (a fried soft shell crab with fish roe and a spicy mayo) and Pang Huang Guai (a cold cucumber, pepper and garlic dish in a wonderful dressing with cilantro). We've also had scallion pie, spare ribs, crab rangoon and love the Salt & Pepper Shrimp. The service is normally very good and attentive -- was very slow only once. We find prices reasonable considering the selection, portions and quality. Being Taunton, it is above average as far as Chinese restaurants in the city & we are very happy to have found it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“they improved on perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

it has been awhile since we went to hong kong city-wow-their lunch specials got bigger and the food tastier-the wait staff excellent -some of the white chairs need some tlc-but that is the only fault i found today take my advice run do not walk to hong kong city-and bring an appetite

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great sushi (in Taunton?!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

You'd never think of Taunton as the home of the best sushi around, but it's always fantastic - provided you can communicate with your server well enough to bring you mackerel and not octopus (ooops!). They have a lot of offerings that other places in the area do not and the spicy tuna rolls, are still some of my favorite with their crunchy tempura crumbs. Also worth mentioning is the crab rangoons - I don't think I've had better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong City also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.