We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paani Restaurant

Paani Restaurant
621 A Boston Post Rd, Sudbury, MA
978-443-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Paani is so good our family has added it as our "regular" Thursday night meal. The restaurant is small but the kitchen cooks big. The mango lassi is just too good to describe. We love the lamb which is served in a variety of styles and spice temperatures. The eggplant is also a sure winner. Also, the owners are so personally involved in all of the dishes and checking on quality control. I think this is the key ingredient - family care and love for the food.

This is a fantastic take away meal location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really good Indian cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is quite small, and a bit stark (although brightly painted and very clean), not fancy or luxurious. However, the food is delicious! Authentic, freshly prepared, beautifully seasoned. Best Indian food I've had in Boston area, of several I've tried. Service is very friendly, warm, attentive, knowledgable, and helpful.Wine list is limited but seviceable. Prices are reasonable. Strongly recommend ordering lots more than you can eat, enjoy the variety, then take the rest home for next day's lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Elegant Indian fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Paani is a small restaurant on Rte 20 in Sudbury near Marlboro, tucked in next to a Japanese place. If you like Indian food and appreciate delicate and sensitive favors, this is your spot. Unlike run of the mill Indian restaurants where all the sauces look and taste the same, Paani's dishes are subtle and easily distinguished. We've been working our way through the menu and have not been disappointed. The wine list has international selections and will appeal to diners who want an alternative to beer with their meal, and chai is also available. The appetizers include a juicy, yet crunchy aloo papri chat, one of our favorites. And of course, takeout is available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Food West of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Delicious food. We tried 3 different dishes and 3 types of naan - All were some of the best we have tasted in the Boston area, and we have lived here for a while. Particularly thrilled with the nawabi naan and the aloo saag. The staff members were extremely attentive and friendly. The place is quite small, so plan on calling ahead if you want to go at a busy time or on a weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Highely reccomend this restuarant. Very friendly managment and staff. Food is delious. We had a moxed veg platter to start. All of highest quality. A mix of meata nd veg dishes and breads to follow. The eggplant wasa especially good as was the Nan. Just talking about it makes my mouth water. We will be returning. Best indian resturant this side of the pond!

Note it is a small place. Probaly only 24 seats.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paani Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.