We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant is a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paani Restaurant

Paani Restaurant
621 A Boston Post Rd, Sudbury, MA
978-443-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This restaurant is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have eaten here quite a few times and each meal has been wonderful. The menu has both typical dishes and some less familiar ones. But all are fresh and beautifully prepared. The owner is delightful and really cares about pleasing her customers. We once went there with a person who eats only vegan food, and she told us which dishes she could/could not prepare vegan. Another time we went with friends who have been to India many times, and they agreed that the food was exceptional. It is a small restaurant and the ambience is comfortable, not particularly noisy. On weekends, it is a good idea to make a reservation. Excellent choice!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful, uneven, and delicios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The decor is highly sophisticated--saffron and orange with blue drop lights. The owners are delightful and helpful. Among the foods we had, the Niza murg was the best we have ever eaten. The Zafran kofta was very good and so was the kabob platter. The kulfi was abominable and the kir very plain. So, it seems the quality differs substantially between the main dishes and the desserts. We wondered if perhaps they didn't make them, but rather bought them ready made the difference was so drastic. It was also pricey, about 45 dollars per person with wine. That's a lot for Indian food, but then many of the dishes were worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High end authentic Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Paani for the first time last year and it was really delicious. Tr restaurant is shockingly small so you are a bit cramped, but the service was impeccable (I think the owner even came out to check on us), and the food was authentic, fresh and overall excellent. Definitely a bit pricey but perfect for a date night.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Area, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“High quality cuisine with personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are locals and have visited Paani many times and we are never disappointed with the quality of the food. The rich Indian flavors are always blended and balanced to a level that distinguishes Paani from most Indian restaurants in the area. The dining area is small and cozy, and it nicely decorated. One of the owners is often there overseeing the service, and she does a nice job making the customers feel welcome. A real gem in Sudbury.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent but tiny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our second visit to Paani and we weren't disappointed. Accompanied by another couple, the bill was $120 for the four of us and, I, for one, couldn't stop eating. The flavors are rich, the preparation outstanding and the small setting with excellent service enhanced the experience. I won't try to enumerate what we had as I couldn't pronounce it when I ordered it and so I can't even try to spell it now. But the four entrees, soup, appetizer and naan were all delicious. Only beer and wine but that was sufficient for us. There is another Indian restaurant closer to the BMW dealership where we have also eaten but it is closed until the end of February. It is also very good. An excellent dining choice with many choosing take-out as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paani Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.