We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brings you back in time...sort of...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longfellow's Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longfellow's Wayside Inn
Save
You added Longfellow's Wayside Inn to your Saves list
72 Wayside Inn Road, Sudbury, MA 01776   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brings you back in time...sort of...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have been visiting The Wayside Inn for 25 years... historic, cozy and charming...but when we saw the way the hostess was dressed in a black mini skirt, and three inch heels, I was taken back.. her dress was inappropriate for this historic Inn. I remember when everyone dressed in period clothes, it back you think you were back in the 1700's..I know times have changed, but I dont think the Wayside Inn should be represented in this way... Hopefully she will rethink you outfit next time or maybe the management will change it for her.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
31
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went to a small wedding here and was seated near the door leading into the kitchen area. We could hear our servers making rude remarks about the guests from the interior. It went on and on throughout the entire event. Wow. That's the reason they expected a big tip no doubt!! The bride and groom did not know about this, and we weren't about to tell them, but I would NEVER have a wedding here, or advise anyone else to. Fake hospitality is not hospitality. That, and the place is dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hubby and I enjoyed an overnight stay on Monday of Thanksgiving week, a mini celebration for his 70th birthday. What a delightful time we had. It was quiet and the Inn felt as if it were almost our own. Like history? This is the place - in the middle of Colonial America - with Concord, Lexington and other famous places nearby, the Wayside Inn would make an excellent base from which to explore. Did I mention dinner? Delicious! Since we were there during Thanksgiving week, we took advantage of their specials that week and enjoyed a three-course dinner (appetizer, entree, dessert) for $29.99. Our choice? The prime rib, of course - something we never eat at home. The tavern was cozy, with delicious wine in front of a roaring fire, and our 4-postered bed snuggly warm on a chilly night. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff friendly and very helpful, and breakfast the next morning (part of our very reasonable room rate) was yummy...any entree off the menu with no restrictions. All in all, an outstanding stay and one we'd do again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this inn because of a family connection to the original owners. We were very pleased to find the inn in a spectacular setting, with many acres of surrounding woods, streams, historic buildings and natural beauty. We stayed in one of the oldest rooms, and while it was spacious and comfortable and fascinating, the very narrow and twisting wooden stairway made taking up luggage a real challenge. On the other hand, the staff were exceedingly helpful, and the breakfast selection was amazing. The dinner was, however, not as good as we would have expected, and the dishes varied from not so good to OK. We'd recommend going there for the grounds, the history and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Think carefully about requesting a historic room if you are going to have large pieces of luggage an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I try to visit the Wayside Inn as often as I can for both the food, the drink and the experience. A National Historic Landmark located less than an hour from downtown Boston, this place will take you back in time! Imagine dining and sipping a "Coow Woow", America's oldest cocktail (Google it) with one of our nation's founders! The menu offers tasty traditional American comfort food, served in a communal dining area, along with Coow Woows and other period and contemporary libations in an actual museum / New England country inn. A fireplace fire rounds it all out on a cold winter evening. There is little gift shop on the premises and be sure to tour the premises while waiting for your meal. Reservations are highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsville, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Wayside Inn for one night in our stay -- they are a good deal for historic digs with a full breakfast (any delicious choice from their menu), but they were booked for the rest of our visit to MA. The Inn is both museum, restaurant, tavern and B&B on rolling acres of historic land that includes an old (operating) mill and a church. If you are going for dinner, ask for seating in one of the historic rooms (we especially like the tavern), as a nothing-special modern dining room has been added on. It was nice NOT to have televisions in the room, though the "guest sitting room" is a charming little room with a flat panel and a game/puzzle table. My son had to study for tests much of the time we were there, and there were several open spaces upstairs with seating and tables. I wandered from one historic gathering room to another -- imagining the Fezziwigs holding their annual Christmas party -- CHARMING.

Room Tip: Some rooms face east -- it's a beautiful sunrise if you're up for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we moved from Connecticut to Sudbury, Massachusetts, we stayed at the Wayside Inn waiting for the movers. We had a fabulous breakfast of lobster, fruit and eggs. The room was so charmingly decorated. We loved it. Since then we've celebrated birthdays(speaking of birthday Oct. 23rd we're celebrating my neighbors birthday there), taken friends from California, Florida and New York there. Everyone loves it. We've also gone as a couple to celebrate anniversaries etc. We've been there all four seasons and its surroundings are so lovely. We're happy we live nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed May of 2011 when we moved. Make a reservation even on weekdays for the hotel as well as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longfellow's Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellow's Wayside Inn

Address: 72 Wayside Inn Road, Sudbury, MA 01776
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longfellow's Wayside Inn is a historic non-profit Massachusetts Landmark. The Inn, built in the early 1700s, has served travelers of the Boston Post Road from the colonial era to today.The Inn offers historically appointed guest rooms, a full restaurant and bar, picturesque function and dining rooms, an outdoor canopy tent, museum exhibits, and several acres of gardens, historical buildings, and walking trails. The Wayside Inn is the perfect place to hold parties and celebrations, weddings, family reunions, or quiet getaways. The Inn also hosts several special events each season, including concerts and food and drink festivals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longfellow`s Wayside Hotel Sudbury
Longfellows Wayside Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longfellow's Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.