We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sturbridge Super 8 Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sturbridge Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Sturbridge Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   358 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Stayed here one night after reading other reviews here.
Agree with other recent comments; this is a well situated clean hotel, quiet and good beds. Front desk staff very friendly and the breakfast included was excellent.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    159
    78
    28
    17
See reviews for
129
108
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Oh, my gosh – what a find! I picked this motel for a 2-night stay near my parent’s home because of advice on TripAdvisor & because it’s right off I-84 (very “easy-on/easy-off”). I made our reservations on Expedia.com & it was $95.14 a night. We stayed in Room 233 (non-smoking, king-size bed) on a Friday & Saturday night in June.

When we first entered the room, the smell of cleaning products was a bit overwhelming (I can’t stand anything scented – perfume, candles, cleaning products), but we opened the sliding glass door to the mini-deck (3x5 feet) and that aired out the room nicely. The view from the sliding glass door onto the pond below was lovely. As the motel is close to the highway, there was fairly constant highway noise, but closing the patio door & running the air conditioning unit (which really worked well) drowned out most of the noise at night. We never heard any noise from our neighbors.

The motel is privately owned & the lady who checked us in said that the owner had been working to renovate everything over the past couple of years. This was very evident as everything in our room looked new-ish and was spotlessly clean (ok, I admit that I saw a spec of mildew in the grout around one tile in the shower – but this room was cleaner than I keep my own house!). Probably my only complaint was that the bathroom sink was a bit small for all of our stuff (we don’t have to share a sink at home).

The room had a vaulted ceiling, and was quite nicely decorated with scenic prints & lovely lamps, and the bathroom tile looked new. It’s within walking distance of some restaurants/taverns, & McDonalds (Friendly’s was across the road). We got dinner one night from McD’s and it was very nice sitting inside the room at the small table near the patio door, looking out onto the pond (one afternoon I noticed one of our neighbor’s on her “deck” reading a book). And we had fun watching the ducks and geese swim up to the lawn outside the motel both afternoons -- looking for hand-outs.

The landscaping was even nice – with pink roses that matched the pink of the room doors. There was a small but very clean outdoor pool behind the motel (no lifeguard).

The continental breakfast was especially nice, and served in a small dining room near the motel office. There was coffee (a little weak), assorted teas, assorted Danish, cold cereal, bananas & apples, orange & apple juices, bagels and make-your-own waffles. The dining room was also very clean & all of the food was fresh.

It’s probably not high on most travelers’ lists to get their daily exercise while they’re on vacation, but it is important to my husband – the sidewalks outside the motel were excellent for walking, and you could even go quite a distance just walking around the parking lots beside & behind the motel. If you need a gym work-out, the Sturbridge Athletic Club is just behind the motel & charges $5 for a day pass (the equipment is old, but perfectly adequate for a work-out & my husband enjoyed it).

I think this motel would be a great place for an extended stay in Sturbridge. And I would think that it would be great for people traveling with kids – waffles for breakfast, a pool to swim in, and feeding the ducks in the afternoon. I didn’t check it out, but it looked like you could even launch your own canoe or kayak from the motel grounds onto the pond.

  • Liked — Window with a great view
  • Disliked — Smell of cleaners/detergents
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

WE WERE GOING TO MAINE....AND WE WERE SO TIRED...SO WE JUST TOOK THE EXIT AND FOUND THIS PLACE. WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE IT WAS..............

We had a room with Whirlpool suite overlooking the lake. When we went to the room we were really surprised by it. It was two room suite with a seperate sitting aea.

The bedroom was beautifully decorated with king bed. It was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with whirlpool big enough for two. It was very very clean.

THE FRONT DESK WAS EXCEPTIONAL. VERY HELPFUL AND COURTEOUS. I HAD FORGOTTEN MY TOOTHBRUSH AND THE FRONT DESK STAFF BROUGHT IT RIGHT OVER and made it a point to make sure that I was really comfortable and happy with my room.

Breakfast in the morning was pleasant surprise. I would recommend the hotel to any traveller be it business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

Can’t add much to what was said by the previous reviewer. Stayed here just overnight, so didn’t have a chance to use the pool or even test out the wireless connection. The room was large enough and very clean, comfortable bed, nice (and unexpected!) view of a lake right outside the window, decent breakfast, friendly staff, easy to find (about a mile off the highway) – all for under $80. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Stayed one night in King bed suite. Was a very large room and had a view of lake behind property. Was clean and we were pleasantly suprised as exceeded our expectations. Close to Old Sturbridge village and highway exit.

Pool was a little grungy and needs work. Ladder was loose.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. When we asked for extra towels after using pool they brought them right over. Contientla breakfast had waffle maker.

Internet was down while I was there and need a cord as not wireless.

  • Liked — room was large
  • Disliked — internet service was down
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2004

It wasn't the best place around. There are other nicer hotels in the area. My son had allergic reaction to something he ate right before we were going to bed. (pine nuts in his pesto sauce) I had to call 911 but I had a hard time because of the phones. When I called the front desk, they didn't seem to understand or care. After spending the night in the hospital, the next morning they truly didn't care. Plus where he got sick in the parking lot stayed there until late the next day. Gross! I would have cleaned it but my son was passed out and I was at the hospital with him. The hotel guess showed concern but not the hotel staff. I thought it was kind of odd. It was a scary night and they were no help.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sturbridge Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Super 8 Motel

Address: 358 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sturbridge Super 8 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cedar Lake in the heart of historic Sturbridge. Approx. 300 yards from the entrance to Old Sturbridge Village. Many rooms have a lake view. Every morning we offer a complimentary SuperStart continental breakfast for all guests. Free Wi-Fi/hi-speed internet in all rooms. We do have Whirlpool Suites and deluxe rooms to stretch out and relax in. We take great pride in our friendly and helpful staff. Sturbridge Host Conference Center is directly behind us. Restaurants next door and quick eats in walking distance. Antique, local gift shops and many other restaurants are very close as well as a repertory theater. We are pet friendly and offer early check in when possible, both with a fee, please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sturbridge Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Super 8 Hotel Sturbridge
Super 8 Sturbridge
Super Eight Sturbridge
Sturbridge Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sturbridge Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.