We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't have my reservation; assigned my room to someone...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Sturbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Sturbridge to your Saves list
Super 8 Sturbridge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   358 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    168
    79
    30
    17
See reviews for
134
117
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The manager, Seth, was extremely helpful in finding us a room with a nice view of the lake. Despite being located right on the highway, there was no hint of it from our room. The room was clean, roomy, and no trace of smoke smell. Breakfast starts nice and early (6:00). We will definately stay here again next time we come to Sturbridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozlo, Manager at Super 8 Sturbridge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review, Thank you. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Our rooms with the balconies are a real treat in the spring, summer & fall as guests find it relaxing to sit out there and watch the wildlife arouind the lake or pick up a book for a good read. We will look forward to your next visit when you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Super 8 in Sturbridge was a very pleasant surprise when hubby and I needed a place to stay overnight for a nearby event. This was the third Super 8 that we used within the last year. The first two I would not recommend, but the Sturbridge Super 8 was like a breath of fresh air to a weary (and wary) traveler. The room was clean, everything worked as it should have, and there were more features than advertised, not fewer. We had ample lighting, which seems to be a rare trend. I was concerned to be assigned a room on the second floor when I saw unprotected outside wooden stairways, but nearly as soon as the predicted snow started, there were staff members spreading salt. (Hmm, snow/sleet/rain falling in February in Massachusetts: Go figure!) I had to make several trips in and out and happily found that the stairs remained safely navigable and un-slippery. The staff was friendly and polite, and the lobby/breakfast area was attractive and well-stocked. Many places have poor-quality coffee and maybe a couple of preservative-laden, packaged sweet rolls for their “Continental breakfasts.” Super 8 Sturbridge actually had good coffee, cereal choices, hot waffles, yogurt, juice, and even some appetizing-looking fresh apples when I visited.
My only suggestions for improvements are refreshing the web page information, adding some whole grain breakfast options, and making certain that the stoppers and drains work optimally for sinks and tubs. The website indicated a refrigerator was in the room, but mentioned neither a coffee pot nor a microwave. It was nice to find them there. At least one of the restaurants listed as nearby is part of a chain that closed some months ago. I’d drop it from the list and add the information about the additional room features. For most people, the breakfast offerings were very nice. Customers who are watching carbohydrates, such as diabetics, might benefit from a whole-grain, low sugar toast option and a little peanut butter. Oatmeal might be OK, but an alternative is nice for some variety. The sink stopper didn’t move at all and the drains were a little slow without quite being problematic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozlo, Manager at Super 8 Sturbridge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for such a great review. Our staff has been diligent in their job duties and comments such as your's pays off a hundred times fold to us all and just motivates us to keep it up. We are in the process of updating the restaurant information on our website as there is a constant change of new eateries around our quaint town. Our motel is very lucky to be in the heart of it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Room was nice but the water was not hot enough for the hot tube. Had to shovel a path to my room because the staff either was to busy or forgot we were in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozlo, Manager at Super 8 Sturbridge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting us. I do apologize for the poor snow removal on our part. Unfortunately, your maintenance crew was shorthanded, though that should be no excuse. We have fixed the issue of the water temperature.I do hope you'll stop by again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sturbridge

Address: 358 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sturbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cedar Lake in the heart of historic Sturbridge. Approx. 300 yards from the entrance to Old Sturbridge Village. Many rooms have a lake view. Every morning we offer a complimentary SuperStart continental breakfast for all guests. Free Wi-Fi/hi-speed internet in all rooms. We do have Whirlpool Suites and deluxe rooms to stretch out and relax in. We take great pride in our friendly and helpful staff. Sturbridge Host Conference Center is directly behind us. Restaurants next door and quick eats in walking distance. Antique, local gift shops and many other restaurants are very close as well as a repertory theater. We are pet friendly and offer early check in when possible, both with a fee, please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Super 8 Hotel Sturbridge
Super Eight Sturbridge
Sturbridge Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Sturbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.