We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much improved service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   366 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“much improved service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Our organization has used this facility for conferences for many years. We were very pleased this year with the improvements after several years of deteriorating infrastructure, less than appealing food and undependable tech services. This year the technology worked well, the food was fabulous, the new chef has developed an excellent menu. The food was fresh, appetizing and delicious. I heard not one complaint all weekend! The gentlemen organizing the rooms and maintaining the tech services were very nice and quick to respond.I will say the event planners and conference staff have always made every attempt to try to appease us but this year everything was really great...thanks for being so attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    130
    112
    90
    92
See reviews for
162
141
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We just returned from a wedding reception at the Sturbridge Host Hotel and were extremely pleased with the service. We attended a rehearsal dinner on friday night where the food was excellent, but the service was exceptional. The bartender even took it upon herself to check to see if any guests wanted another drink, while removing any unfilled glasses or bottles from the tables.
The wedding reception went off like clockwork. Our Hostess, Roberta Ryland was right on top of everything. We could not have asked for a better reception. No detail was to small, nor was anything overlooked. I'd recommend the hotel for any futuire receptions of anykind.
It was great.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Stayed here for one night only as part of a New England in The Fall Tour. Hotel is set on its own very attractive lake and some rooms face this way (not ours) (Room 401).

This room is situated at the end of the corridor so no-one passing the door at all hours, however room is on the corner of the building and partially overlooks the parking area which is illuminated all night and as the curtains do not close the light may well prevent some people from sleeping.

Room is spacious, so too is the bathroom with plenty of counter space, plenty of towels. Everywhere clean. Comfortable bed, plenty of pillows.

The restaurant is off the lobby area on the way to the rooms. This area is dark and unappealing with the indoor pool next to the restaurant area with no division, the smell of chlorine was most off putting so we decided not to dine here. Dread to think what it is like when the kids are in the pool

Within hotel grounds is a Tavern, which when we walked past was closed so could not view a menu, gave this one a miss too.

There is a wine shop next door with a huge choice of wine at reasonable costs.

Entrance to the hotel complex is between MacDonalds and Burger King ????? (when all else fails)

Not much else of interest in the immediate area....

Hotel OK for a one night stay on a tour...

  • Liked — Location, views, spacious accomodation, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Lack of things to see in immediate area.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I frequently stay at the Host on business trips - at least twice per month. The staff has always been extremely accommodating and helpful - especially one of the ladies at the front desk who has always gone out of her way to make certain that my stay was enjoyable. The rooms and common areas are clean and neat; and every request is met with a prompt response. I highly recommend this hotel and personally wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I stayed here for a conference at the "conference center" (a big ugly metal building bolted to the side) and thought from their website this would be an upscale place. Boy was I wrong. My choice was "overlooking our miniature golf course" (which should have said "overlooking some needle and leaf covered indoor/outdoor carpeting we put back by the dumpster") or "overlooking the lake" (which should have read "overlooking the lake as long as you don't get too close to the window where you can see the work shed and grody barbecues")

The room was oddly shaped with all these strange alcoves with nothing in them except badly patched plaster. The shower leaked and someone else's hair was all over the floor. (Which was still there the when I left on the 4th day - apparently they don't clean the floors) There were stains on the tile floor and so much dust on the shelves I had to never wear the white shirt I brought and put on the shelf - it was disgusting. The Wireless coverage, while free, was so poor that my connection never did remain solid.

I made a special request of this hotel, which make of every hotel where I stay, and have always had it granted. Here, in what I was told was one of the most hospitable parts of the country, the answer was a flat "no" - not even an explanation.

And worst of all, at 10:00 in the morning, there was NO PLACE in the entire hotel to get a cup of coffee. How is that even possible!

There is so much more about which I could rant - but I won't bore you.

I will never stay here again, even to attend a conference. I will find a nicer place nearby and drive every day.

  • Liked — It was close to the business meeting I was attending, but that's the ONLY thing
  • Disliked — Everything else - from the carpet to the ceiling, everything and everyone inbetween.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Stayed here early September. The room was alright, with a view overlooking the lake. The balcony was 'rustic' - meaning it needed a lick of paint.
We seemed to get a time when there was a group of teens staying, and we spent half the night listening to them running up and down the hallway shouting at each other. Not the hotel's fault, but no great.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel with some frequency since I go to Sturbridge twice a year for the nearby Brimfield Antique show and it has steadily gone downhill. The Hotel has beautiful grounds and a nice lobby. It is however thoroughly mediocre with extremely poor service.
The rooms are decent and clean but they are not maintained - our shower curtain rod was hanging down so low that water went all over the floor - no one fixed it. We placed a wake up call to the desk - no one called - we called the front desk several times and no one ever answered the phone - after ten rings or so it went to voice mail. The staff was neither pleasant or unpleasant they simply were indifferent. There are many better choices in Sturbridge - this place would be fine as a discount hotel - it is NOT a good hotel. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 366 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.