We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great experience and extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   366 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Westerly, RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall great experience and extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Attended a conference. Friendly welcome, Hotel rooms immaculate, daily housekeeping exemplary. Magnificent view of Cedar Lake from my ground level room. Exercise room open 24 hours. Conference rooms comfortable, Conference meals all excellent.
I arrived early to visit the famous "Old Sturbridge Village". Stayed an extra day ro give myself a treat.
Great dinner at the Oxhead Tavern, Delicious and piping hot meal, generous proportions, reasonable prices and cozy atmosphere.
Breakfast sendoff this morning in the Greenhouse Restaurant was outstanding...three cheers for Melissa, my server, Andrea, the hostess and the chef whose Minuteman Eggs...scrambled eggs with Cheddar cheese....were the best I've ever had.
As a female traveling solo I felt comfortable and secure. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Lake view room is my favorite but, ask to be near the spa or the pool or whatever is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind appraisal of our hotel and staff. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    130
    112
    90
    92
See reviews for
162
141
21
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a week in August while she attended a Sturbridge village camp. We got a package deal because of the summer camp. After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't expecting much - but was very pleasantly surprised.

No, it is not a 5-star hotel. But I didn't expect anything like the amenities that they had for the price we paid - paddle boats, nice little private beach, miniature golf, lovely themed indoor pool, exercise room, and even a tiny game room. Breakfast was included in the package, and it was not a stale-doughnuts-and-cereal-help-yourself-arrangement, either. They served my 8 year old bowls of fresh fruit and berries, waffles, and eggs that met even her exacting standards (picky!), and had enough variety for me (I particularly loved their Eggs Benedict) that I never followed through on my original plan to try some of the other breakfast restaurants nearby. I thought the coffee was too strong, but I believe it was Starbucks' so that probably puts me in the minority.

The staff at the front desk, in the restaurant, and the room cleaners could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Yes, the hotel is showing its age, but it is clean and comfortable and kept at a comfy temperature. We had a balcony room overlooking the very quiet grounds and within view of the lake, where we hung out and watched a family of ducks wandering about in the morning. Some minor mechanical problems with the room were attended to instantly.

I hope they don't update the place! I probably wouldn't be able to afford it once they did, and I definitely want to go back for next year's trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just stayed at the Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center. Nice little New England retreat. The services was great, rooms could use a little updateing, but over all, good value for the $. Complimentary coffee, other than this little mini-coffee maker in the room would be a nice added amenity, but would definately stay there again. Conveniently located just outside historic Sturbridge Village. Lots to do in the area, especially for a family w/young kids. Big indoor pool area to keep everyone occupied for an hour or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We're delighted that you and your family enjoyed yourselves here. Kids do love that pool; especially during the colder months. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am writing this review in hopes that the people from the Sturbridge Host read it. I have been making an annual trip to Sturbridge for the better part of 30 years. First with my parents, and now with my own family, parents and my sisters family. We have only stayed at the Host. We have now moved to the Comfort inn, and this is why.....
While the location (on the lake in the heart of the town), and the courtyard ambiance with a great pool and indoor balconies can't be beat, the rooms are beyond unacceptable. Stains on carpets, wallpaper peeling from walls, cigarette burns in comforters, water stains in the ceiling of the bathrooms, uncomfortable beds and pillows, squeaky slider doors, peeling paint on balconies, etc etc have Forced us to search else wear. My wife refused to stay there again, even though we both felt a connection of nostalgia.
To the owner of the Host, PLEASE fix this. I realize the cost of a mass renovation is extreme, but you have lost 3 customers who booked annually to the Comfort Inn. Based on reviews, something tells me you are going to lose a lot more.
In its Hay Day, this was a Great hotel. I am so saddened to see the state in which it stands today.

Room Tip: Hang up with the Host and call the Comfort Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so sorry to have disappointed you. We have shared your comments with our Executive Team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I would never stay again in any room that faces the pool/restaurant area. It is extremely noisy and poorly soundproofed. Weddings, parties, and people just hanging out and making noise throughout the night made it impossible to sleep without earplugs.This is a very poor design for a hotel. I can't speak to any of the rooms that do not face the interior--presumably they are better.

Room Tip: Don't stay on interior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Please accept our apologies for not being able to sleep due to noise. Had we known, we could have moved your room to another area of the hotel. We certainly hope you will give us another chance. Most people really like the lake view rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our tour. Staff were very welcoming. The rooms were big, clean and bed was very comfy. We ate at the Tavern which was really busy but very nice. It must be a hotel thing in the USA but the hotel bars close really early so bit disappointed that we couldn't have a drink after 11pm. Breakfast was very nice and overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel. We're very happy that you enjoyed your time here in New England and we hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I got married on October 6 at the Sturbridge Host and it was absolutely perfect! The wedding coordinator, Courtney is amazing! She was always quick to respond to questions and walked us through every step of the wedding planning process. Planning a wedding can become very stressful because there are always going to be bumps along the way, but Courtney was so helpful and reassuring. Even on the day of the wedding, after she had just dealt with a downpour on the first outdoor ceremony, she talked my DJ into setting up outside so that I can have my outdoor ceremony by the lake. And aside from a bit of a chill, the weather held out wonderfully.

The hotel is far from ordinary and the perfect place for a wedding. Our guests had a blast in the pool or visiting the local attractions the morning of the wedding and I had no worries about people driving anywhere after the wedding. The outdoor ceremony was beautiful by the lake and the small ballroom comfortably fit our small wedding. We also got to do karaoke in the tavern after the wedding festivities ended!

All in all, the wedding was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Courtney and all of the Sturbridge Host staff!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool, but if you can get one that faces the lake you'll have a much better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Congratulations! We're so pleased that everything was wonderful for your special day. It's the people that make all the difference and we're lucky to have such great staff. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service every day and it's nice when someone notices. Thank you. And we wish you and your spouse a long and loving life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 366 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.