We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Publick House Historic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Publick House Historic Inn to your Saves list
Publick House Historic Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   On the Common, 277 Main Street - Route 131, Post Office Box 187, Sturbridge, MA 01566-0187   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Sturbridge B&B and Inns
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a strange review to write as we only got this room at the last minute as we stopped on chance. We had taken it from our guide book which is usually reliable but we were disappointed. Possibly due to the hotel being very busy wi function we were placed in the motel at the very back. First impression is not good as it is within the tree area so there are falling bits fro trees this can't be helped but why can't you clean or brush away all the cobwebs and spiders. Anyone with a fobia would freak.

Once in the room it is large but again the decor does not help as it is bold and dark and with being near the trees make it very depressing. However given the rate was reasonable we maybe don't have much to complain about but would like to feel comfortable when I am spending the night in a strange place and this hotel did not do this.

We did have a drink in the bar and although it was very busy the staff were very pleasant and offers us a table if we were dining. There was also complementary coffee and muffins in the morning.

If we were staying in the inn we would maybe be back but I wouldn't recommend the lodges or at least the ones right at the back within the tree area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    54
    48
    35
    28
See reviews for
65
92
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We turned up without a booking and were given amazing rates after speaking to the manager. The Inn was superb, with a lovely historic country feel to it. The room was well appointed, with beautiful period like furniture and features. Restaurant and bake shop on premises provide good food, with a chance to try some historic New England dishes. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside was due to the age of the building, noise from the hotel could be easily heard.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico mo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here before and it is still great! Rooms are large, beds are comfortable, wireless worked & second sink outside bathroom is nice. Everything was very clean. I do wish there was a coffee pot, small refrigerator & microwave in the room. We will stay there again while shopping the Brimfield Antiques Shows next spring.

Room Tip: We were up the hill in the buildings called motor court (I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here on a visit to family in the area. We stayed in the Motor Lodge, our room was comfortable, spacious and clean with a nice balcony overlooking an apple orchard. We ate dinner at the bar in the Tavern, the Chowder was excellent, and we had two fish entrees that we really enjoyed. Staff was very friendly and professional. There was a wedding going on outside, but in our room and in the Tavern, you could not even hear it. The grounds of the Inn looked beautiful. Nice selection of wine as well.

Room Tip: The Motor Lodge is a good value and has a brand new swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed one night at the Public house. We each had a room. The night we stayed it was very busy (might have been sold out because of brim field antique market). We were very pleased with both rooms in the inn.The staff was VERY friendly, professional and helpful. We had drinks in the tavern (charming), we both had OUTSTANDING fish and chips in the dining room (could be the best ever for us 60yr old new englanders). We also chose a hearty breakfast in the dining room over the pastries and hot beverages offered in the tavern. The Public House is a gem.....We both plan to put this on our favorites list and even detour on our frequent trips from CT to MA to visit relatives...Highly RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Location of bed room could be important if there are functions in the many different rooms , some c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, MD
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Do I need to say anything else? Yes...bed bugs. Stay away.

We were stuck with the place after bidding on Priceline. I ended up paying a higher price on Priceline than if I had booked it directly. NO bargain, sleep, or cleanliness here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Infestation of these creepy crawlies is an understatement!!. I don't think the place owns a vacuum cleaner. Used dental floss ,spider webs and spiders on the front balcony,plain filth ,cobb webs, spider webs and spiders on the back balcony, peeling wallpaper and poor room lighting, just to name a few. Also there are neglected light poles on crucial walkways. Would never stay there again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Publick House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Publick House Historic Inn

Address: On the Common, 277 Main Street - Route 131, Post Office Box 187, Sturbridge, MA 01566-0187
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Publick House Historic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Publick House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Publick House Historic Hotel Sturbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Publick House Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.