We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for an overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn Sturbridge

Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scottish Inn Sturbridge to your Saves list
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Delmar, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Okay for an overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This motel is not far from I-84 and is perfectly acceptable as a place for an overnight stay. The room was clean, though there was a little too much odor of disinfectant. It was quiet and the bed was as comfortable as beds in 5-star hotels. In fact, except for the slight shabbiness here and there, it was really no worse than some 5-star hotels that I have stayed in. A plus for me (I am mildly handicapped): I could park right outside my door. A good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
17
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Scottish inn is the best hotel for the money I have ever stayed in. The prices are very reasonable and the rooms are very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The building and landscaping are kept looking good and the area is pretty quiet.The rooms all have fridge microwave,fast wifi and cold a/c. The only thing missing is a pool. I have stayed in many hotels in the sturbridge area and none are better than the Scottish inn.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly service, true hi speed internet... everything a business traveler needs! The first thing you will notice is the huge flower garden in front of the hotel, definitely sets this place apart from the rest. Secondly the owners of the hotel are friendly and accommodating, I have also been here on a snowy night and woken to find my car windows cleaned off. Third, at this room rate you would be lucky to get a cot at most hotels but the rooms here are clean with a microwave and refrigerator. Great location, easy access to the major highways. Good restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean, no frills, breakfast was coffee in a 4 oz. cup, juice, little debbies pecan rolls and sugar buns, corn flakes and fruit loops. You bring your tray to a little cubbie, put the stuff on it and bring it back to your room. No pool. Bathroom is awful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

This place is the epitome of an average budget motel. It is clean, tidy and no frills. The breakfast is an average coffee and mass-manufactured baked things, which you have to load up and take to your room.

We got a king sized room and it was clean and tidy, but the decor was pretty old. The reception is pretty weird- windowed off like a 24hr gas station. Do they need protection from their customers? Odd. But the guy was friendly and helpful. Air con was good in the room. The location right next to a major road meant some noise at night, but with door and windows closed it wasn't a problem.

Bathroom size was very good compared to many other budget motels.

We would recommend this as an overnight cheap place to stay. No real complaints at all. No pool or anything, so maybe don't bring kids :-)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very dated, rooms smell musty and bad (the open windows when we arrived should have been a clue). We saw the great reviews and decided to give it a try, but be a warned, the great reviews must have been by employees/friends of the owners. We are really not picky travelers but this place is really below par. The price is low but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We normally stay in bed and breakfasts whenever we travel. We were looking for a cheaper alternative in the Sturbridge area. We wouldn’t arrive until after 10:30 PM at night and would leave early in the morning. We checked trip advisor and were intrigued by the Scottish Inn’s reviews and price ($60 a night with AAA discount). We booked it and arrived on a very snowy night. The front clerk was very friendly and check in was quick. We had requested a non-smoking king room. We were pleasantly surprised by how clean the room was. The room was not huge, but it was fully functional. It included a refrigerator, microwave, dining table and 2 chairs. The furniture was solid and attractive (no wiggly drawers made of corkboard). The walls were a lovely light yellow. The bathroom was good sized. It was a chilly night, but the room warmed up quickly when we turned on the heat. The bed was firm and comfy. This is not a luxury establishment, but it is a great place for a night or two. We would definitely stay here again.

Final note: It snowed during our overnight stay. We saw the owners cleaning off all of the snow covered cars in the morning. You won't get that kind of service at a chain hotel!

Room Tip: We had a king size non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inn Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Sturbridge

Address: 142 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn Sturbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Scottish Inn Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inn Sturbridge Hotel Sturbridge
Scottish Hotel Sturbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inn Sturbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.