We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sturbridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Sturbridge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sturbridge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   408 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
mexico mo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“overpriced and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for four nights during September Brimfield Antique Show. I was late making reservations and this was all I could find nearby. The regular rate is $56.99 and the rate for the week of the antique show is $125.99 per night! I realize that all of the hotels raise their rates during this week, but REALLY!!!

It was nasty smelling. I went to Walmart and got Fabreze and I also wiped most surfaces with wet wipes. I removed the ugly smelly bedspreads and left them in the corner all week. That helped, but it was still bad. The toilet would not stop running and there was no light bulb in the desk lamp. Since we left the room very early, before the office was open, I left a note on my pillow asking for light bulb , toilet repair, and extra towel. I got one towel and no light bulb. Toilet still running. . . When I called that night to ask for bulb I was told to check the plug - which made sense because none of the plugs would hold my phone charger in. Finally someone brought a bulb.

I will remember to get reservations somewhere else for next springs Brimfield Show.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    6
    7
    11
See reviews for
13
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed there on my way back from maine to connecticut. The room was clean. The dresser looked dated and was missing a knob and had holes in the top where the tv lockdown device was previously mounted. Had plenty of cable channels. A/c thermostat knob shaft was stripped so a/c only ran at coldest temp full blast and could not adjust. Room was like a refrigerator I payed 39.99 with a coupon they honored. Housekeeping banged on door very early and opened it anyways but i had the deadbolt locked thank god as i was still in my underwear. I saw a Labor Ready pad the maids were using so I think they use temps to clean the rooms. It looked like it was another fancier brand of motel back in its heyday. Pool was not open still covered up.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were returning from Florida, and decided to stay in Sturbrige the night. Since no Holiday Inns were in site (though my GPS showed one that was now a La Quinta...), we decided to check out the Motel 6. Our thoughts were we just want a clean bed to sleep, and it's not that busy, so should be quiet. Were we wrong! When you only have 6 - 7 vehicles of guests staying there, why jam them in the same area of the motel? We had guests next to us and above us, and the paper thin walls made it difficult to relax with both hearing voices, TVs, and later "noises if you know what I mean!". We toughed it out, but in the morning I stated to the man at the office about the noices, the running toilet, etc.. "Oh, so sorry..."

Well, we tried to cheap out that one last night on the road, and it was a mistake that we will not make again...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here Sunday of Columbus Day weekend. I know it was a holiday weekend, but that is no excuse for what we found.
I had looked up the rates online before checking in and the rate was 65.99 for a room for 2 people. We went to the desk and the gentleman ( who was nice) quoted us a rate of 79.99....we glanced at each other, and my husband suggested we go back up Rt 20 to a Super 8 we had passed. The man immediately changed his rate to "The special for 1 traveler " ... 65.99 .. the online rate for 2 ! We should have gone back to the Super 8!!
I could smell a strong smell of curry in the air at the front desk, and commented "I don't know what's cooking, but it smells good !" The man looked up quickly and said..."Oh, I have a breath mint in my mouth " !!?? I didn't know they came in curry flavor !
The first room we were assigned to was not cleaned yet, at 2:30 in the afternoon. We walked back to the desk, and requested a change which the did do immediately, but were accompanied back by a snotty woman who apparently didn't believe us, because she opened the door which was ajar anyway, and agreed, yes, it hadn't been cleaned. DUH !! It looked like a pigsty when we looked in, LOL.
Anyway, after we had gotten our bags in, we started turning on the lights, as the room was very dark. The dirtiness was everywhere ! Door frames were filthy, mirror was streaky, and there was an actual huge clod of dirt in the middle of the bathroom floor. I used one of the kleenex-like washcloths to clean it up. Needless to say, we never walked barefoot in the room.
The only 3 saving graces were the micro-fridge combination, and the fact that the entrance to OSV is across the street and that The Cedar Street Restaurant was 3 doors down.
I know Motel 6 is a budget motel...but I didn't expect fancy digs, just clean ones.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Finished travelling south in New England and wanted to stay outside of Boston, so tourist information recommended Sturbridge, MA. Found the Motel 6 to be a good, basic choice and liked that it had an outdoor pool.

Sturbridge is simply the junction of I-90 and I-87, but lots of hotels, restaurants, etc. found here.

Motel 6 is nestled on top of a small hill, which creates a separation from the main room (US20) that it fronts on. Motel is basic, yet clean and comfortable. Both rooms were clean, with separated bath/toilet and sink areas which works well for couples.

Pool was wonderful, especially on a hot (30C) afternoon!!! Teenage girls spent hours there. Decent selection of restaurants nearby. We chose Cracker Barrel and had 2 great meals (dinner and breakfast).

This place was better than other Motel 6's I've stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Sturbridge based on their website which boasted a continental breakfast and a pool. The continental breakfast consisted of primarily Little Debbie snacks and the pool was closed, we visited in July. The bathroom tub had coners full of black mildew and the bedding smelled of mold or mildew. Had we inspected this room prior to our arrival at midnight, we would not have stayed at this motel.

  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

After reading some reviews (although they were a year old or older), I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was not as bad as it sounded. Basic accommodations, clean and neat. We had a small room with one queen bed. It was comfortable and well kept. The place could use a little updating. The gentlemen who worked at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. We asked for a refrigerator and it was set up and waiting when we arrived. I would not mind staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sturbridge

Address: 408 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sturbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sturbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.