We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sturbridge Country Inn

Sturbridge Country Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sturbridge Country Inn to your Saves list
Sturbridge Country Inn
530 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Sturbridge B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

it feels more like a house but it is very nice. not used to that type of trip but it was very nice. only for a night or too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    11
    12
    23
See reviews for
6
42
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday and got the Romance Package. What a value! Between the massage and dinner, it was like staying for free! The inn was wonderful and the hot tub was heavenly! We were centrally located to everything we wanted to see and can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front of the main building and heard no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19540
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I made a reservation, read the reviews, and canceled it that same day. The next morning I spent around 2-3 hours calling almost every inn, B&B, or even hotel that had a decent rating in RI, CT, & more. NOTHING! If they had an open room, no young children permitted. Too bad, we had a 4 year old, a 2 year old, and a 6 week old infant. As a last resort, I reserved a room again. I could go on about some of the negative reviews here, but it would take too long. Yes, some areas are worn and need the attention of a skilled handyman. However, it is obvious that some exterior renovations are underway and hopefully the interior will follow. The room was CLEAN!!! And they welcomed our children. My son accidentally pressed the carbon monoxide monitor and set it off. Not knowing if it was faulty, whether he pressed the test button, or whether there was a real danger, I called the owner. He was down ten minutes later with a replacement, even though the lobby was closed for the night. That's service! Weekend breakfast is a buffet of muffins, coffee, juice, bagels, cereal, & fruit. No hot cooked foods and not a lot of variety but staff keeps the table filled. If you leave hungry it's your own fault. Weekday breakfast is very light, we kept ours for a snack and stopped at Annie's Kitchen for a full cooked breakfast. Would I return? Yes. You get what you pay for, and $149 per night for a king bed & a jacuzzi was IMO a good deal. Third night was about half price.

Room Tip: Stayed in front corner room- you'll get some traffic noise but didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary at this wonderful inn. We had a great time. The room was very quaint with a real working fireplace and a corner jacuzzi. We also had a king size bed and a little breakfast area as well. We had so much fun at the Sturbridge Country Inn and it's surroundings that we will definitely come back in the future!

Room Tip: The king size bedroom was great...lots of room even with the corner 2 person jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have stayed at the Sturbridge inn several times now and really like it. It's quiet and the family rooms are large and spacious. All of the restaurants are within walking distance, and the owners are very nice and helpful. We think it is the best place in town, and have stayed at a couple of other hotels. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northshore,Ma.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

At first sight you see almost nothing but peeling paint. Discouraged we went inside to find a dingy lobby. Asked to see our room; because of the disappointing appearance outside. The desk clerk showed our room to us. It was clean so we stayed. My gut said go; but my friend is more forgiving. Our room had recently painted walls; and clean linens. There was no working fire alarm in our room.(no battery or cover). There was 1 chair , very poor lighting,no closet,the vanity needed replacing; and the woodwork needed help. Yet there was a beautiful tub. Breakfast consisted of juice,coffee(medium warm), half thawed muffins,and bagels.Someone was painting a room; so there was the possiblity other rooms were updated. Since we were the only guests they should have upgraded us. As we drove away we left behind the weeds in the far end of the driveway never to been seen again by us.

Room Tip: No, maybe they will get their priorities straight in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The photos of this "Country Inn" must have been taken sometime in the 1980's when it was last painted and decorated. I understand that the economy has been tough, but there is no excuse for the complete lack of service. The lobby always seemed to be closed/locked, whether it was 6am, noon or 8pm. So forget having the provided breakfast of granola bars and water (yum!) before you leave for the day. (is it me or doesn't an "INN" provide some sort of breakfast???) No vending machines that we could find. There was no soap in the bathroom, the head boards were missing from the beds. No hand towels or face clothes, just two towels in a dusty basket. I would have asked for more, but of course, the lobby was closed and locked. If it was a $50 a night hotel I would still think twice, but they charged almost $200 a night! I agree with the reviewer that thought the good reviews were planted on here. No one could possibly think this place has any charm or service. Stay away!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sturbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Country Inn

Address: 530 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1840s Inn, located in the heart of Sturbridge. A charming blend of old and new, our 15 rooms/suites all feature a fireplace and large whirlpool tub. All rooms offer king or queen beds. We offer a complimentary breakfast, afternoon refreshments and complimentary wine or champagne for special occasions. Close to Old Sturbridge Village, and many restaurants and shops. Sturbridge is a perfect starting point for touring New England, just 1 hour from Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sturbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Country Hotel Sturbridge
Country Inn Sturbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sturbridge Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.