We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tulip
121 Main Street (Route 28), Redstone Shopping Center, Stoneham, MA 02180
781-438-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Stoneham
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Wakefield, MA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Very Good Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I went there on a Sunday for the lunch buffet with my husband, my sister and my brother in law. We all enjoyed it. The food was quite tasty and they had lots of choices available including shrimp, clams, and sushi. The service was good, the atmosphere was very pleasant, and the price was very reasonable. That was my first time going to Tulip, but I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK but no more than that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

another one of those overly big multi asian places that cater to fast food hordes. The food is at best adequate as is the service. The atmosphere is ruined by blaring music that is only beat with no melody. We have tried it twice and doubt a third visit will occur. This place has great potential but seems to be unaware of it. has strong appeal to the fast food crowd.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“delicious but not enough of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ate on the non-hibatchi side of this elegant restaurant. Very varied menu and great service. The two dishes, red curry something and chicken with ginger and scallions, were very tasty but portions were skimpy for the price. I am used to a larger heap of food under a metal lid. These dishes were served on dinner-sized square plates with no warming element needed as we consumed it so quickly that it stayed warm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I really liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Tucked next to LA fitness in Stoneham is this great place. Had heard good things about the Chinese food and the buffets, but we decided to try the hibachi.
Went on Wed night so it was quiet on that side. Food was good and prices were average. Would definately go back again and try the buffet. No complaints.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ordinary Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have been to the lunch buffet ($10.50) twice now. The food is good quality but not very warm - some is not even lukewarm. Also, there is little or no spicy food on the buffet (Hunan, Szechuan, etc) - pretty much the usual Chinese buffet selections plus sushi and salmon. My wife liked it better than I did. The decor is exceptional, the service satisfactory.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulip also viewed

 

Been to Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.