We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grande old dame of Stockbridge is showing her age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
The Red Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Main Street, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-0954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“The grande old dame of Stockbridge is showing her age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We like to visit historic places so we decided to drive up to Stockbridge, Massachusetts for a weekend stay at the historic Red Lion Inn, which dates back to 1773. As with any property that is nearly 250 years old, you can either see the charm in the creaking floors, noisy pipes, threadbare rugs, rattling heaters in shoebox-sized bathrooms, and mismatched furniture (as we experienced in our room, although we cannot speak to others) or you can be disappointed. We chose to do the former and overlooked these signs of an extraordinary life, and enjoyed our stay, although for the rather steep holiday weekend rate of $270 a night, we would have liked a few extra comforts like bottled water in the room and HBO. On our first night, upon our return from dinner, we went to the Lion's Den, the inn's pub in the lower level, and were treated to a fantastic performance by a jazz band. The inn does not charge a cover, and the drinks are reasonably priced. Parking is also free. We will be back for a visit during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    196
    69
    46
    19
See reviews for
111
306
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stockbridge is a quintessential New England town which was made famous by Norman Rockwell's painting.

The Red Lion Inn is rich in history and charm. The rooms are small and a bit outdated with flowered wall paper and the beds are not overly comfortable. However, the bathrooms are modern. The hotel is a bit expensive considering the accommodations. The main dining room was full and service was good. The food was delicious with something on menu for everyone. There were many large families and groups dining with children so would be nice to have a separate dining area for those choosing to eat a quiet meal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This inn has been here since 1773. It's very pretty. It's historical without being drippy. It's well done and tasteful. The wraparound porch and the rocking chairs are a nice touch.

We arrived late but were able to have a snack in the Lion's Den. There was a guy playing live music and it was very relaxing after a day of travel. My sandwich was very good. And my dining companion loved the French Onion soup.

We stayed in Maple Glenn. The room was wonderful. The bathroom very new and modern. The bedding was warm and inviting. They even had little homemade peppermint chocloates every night. I loved the in-room Keurig machine too. Once I figured it out.

I met some business colleagues in the great room downstairs. We built a fire and had a very productive and comfortable day. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Maple Glenn is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

i cannot sing the praises enough of the red lion inn, AND, it's companion pub, located below…three friends and i decided to spend new year's eve and the day after at the inn…just delightful….the room was exactly as appeared on the website photos (very important to me)…everyone we encountered was kind and courteous…the only negative was the food preparation for several menu items…granted, the "usual" chefs and such were, apparently, not on duty and several items weren't prepared properly…however, when we shared our disappointment, every effort was made to "make things right"….and the best of all….we awoke, on new year's day, to a lovely blanket of snow….the pub below is fantastic….a great, warm and welcoming place for a drink, some snacks, or, just a warm cup of apple cider and a beautiful fire...

Room Tip: we had a room with two double beds and private bath (i highly recommend that)….our friends had a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked this as a surprise for my wife. I've always wanted to stay at the Red Lion Inn. It greatly exceeded our expectations.
This is NOT a Holiday Inn or Motel 6. The entire atmosphere is different. The place has character and charm. I would have been dissappointed if it was updated and modern. I've traveled alot and already know how it feels to stay in a modern hotel. But the chance to stay in a place that has housed historic figures... that's unique.
The room was comfortable and clean. The bed was amazing. The on-site restaurants exude class and charm. The lobby area with it's old fireplace and seating was great.
We would stay here again in a second.
As a matter of fact, we look forward to it.

Room Tip: the basebord heater in room 104 (our room) was LOUD!!!! would kick on a few times per night and run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

You can't ask for anything else In stay... Friendly, helpful staff... Quaint but large suite room... Exquisite cuisine both for dinner and breakfast... Lovely village setting... Topped off by a live music venue in the basement that feature good artists. Coffee fresh throughout the morning. Can't beat it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Red Lion has it all: atmosphere, attention to detail; it's clean, friendly, comfortable. We go back a few times a year and it never disappoints, although it might be more magical in the winter than in the summer, thanks to the fire in the lobby and the hot tub and heated pool.

Some of my favorite things about it: the antiques and collectibles that line the halls, Simon the cat, the fresh flowers in the lobby and the single daisy in every bathroom, the turn-down and mints in the evening, the cheese and fruit plate off the lobby in the early evening, the can-do attitude of the front-desk attendants (we asked for three extra robes and they delivered them to our suite ASAP). We'll continue going back a couple of times of year.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main Street, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-0954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.