We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Of Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
The Red Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Main Street, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-0954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Freehold
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Days Of Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arriving on a Sunday meant a quiet travel day. Room in the main house was next to our car in the parking lot. Very convenient for the two of us. The dinning room was expensive. But so was all the restaurant in the area. The inn was very quiet and we were able to sit on the main porch and just watch the traffic go buy with a lazy breeze through the porch. The cell phones have a very poor reception which I thought was great. Wi Fi worked great. Over all it was a peaceful and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    196
    69
    46
    19
See reviews for
111
306
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Huge historic inn in Stockbridge, MA. The hallways & rooms are adorned with tons of unique historic items/objects. We were in a king room on the Route 7 side. Very noisy in the morning - lots of cars & trucks downshifting to the stop sign next to the inn. Get a room overlooking the courtyard if you stay in the main house. Bathroom was a nice size with robes, storage shelves and adjustable shower head. Adjustable gas fireplace in the bedroom was cool. The whole building smells like a fireplace, which came home with us in our luggage. The main dining room is gorgeous with some very creative menu items. Very romantic at night with candles, etc. The tavern is small and nostalgic with lots of creative drink options. The Lion's Den is in the basement, serves food & has lots of cool board games & live music 7 nights a week. We ate in all 3 spots and everything was delicious. Room service was fantastic. Make sure to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door at night. Housekeeping can be very ambitious in the morning. The outdoor heated pool & hot tub are awesome. Cable TV in the room w/ lots of DVD's to rent at the front desk. Great high speed computer/printer in the library for guest use. Lots of cool little common areas around the house to sit/think/read. There's a cool-looking cat named Simon who roams around the inn (which is weird considering there are 3 public restaurants in there too), so beware if you're allergic. This hotel is a great launch pad for all things Berkshires - check out Bash Bish Falls, Norman Rockwell Museum, Lenox, MA and the Lee Outlets - all within 20min or so.

Room Tip: Route 7 side very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Used a Travelzoo deal for one night's discounted room with wine and meal (and museum) vouchers, and I'm glad we had the discounts -- eases the pain. The room was fine, the welcoming staff were fine, the bar was fine. But the meal (in the tavern) was, frankly, dreadful. We chose to have two appetizers each and the first - mussels with chorizo - would have been tasty if the mussels had been cooked. At least half of mine were not open. I would have complained had anyone turned up to ask, but the next thing we knew our second appetizers arrived on the table before the first had been cleared so thing got a bit complicated. My second choice turned out to be inedible lamb and my husband's a bit of fried bread with bacon and maple syrup. No noticeable sign of the promised cheese and arugula. On checkout I was not asked if we had had a good stay, which was probably fortunate for the people behind me. Seems a shame that such a well-known place delivers so little. Perhaps we just arrived on the chef's night off?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I'm so sorry we disappointed you during your stay. It certainly sounds like something was off in the kitchen with your mussels which I will bring up with the chef. When the 2nd course came, the server should have realized your first course did not meet your expectations, nor the third. You have our deepest apologies and assurances that I will bring your experience to the attention of our dining room and kitchen staff. I'd really appreciate you letting me know the specifics (when you dined and stayed) so I can better focus on when and what went wrong. Please let me know off-line (my email is attached) as I'd like to invite you back to prove that this was a one time incident, and not something that happens all the time. Thanks again for letting us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Since it's a historic place you'll have to accept the small rooms, lack of windows, radiator on even tough we didn't need it, etc. Our bathroom was remodeled nicely and we were told the bed was new but like a rock and too uncomfortable for me for our 2 night stay. Since the fireplace was lit the last weekend of April we learned it doesn't draft very well and at times your eyes would water in the lobby area. Unfortunately, our room was on the 2nd floor right up the staircase from the lobby and even there, in the hallway, it was very unpleasant. If you have any breathing issues be sure to get a room away from the lobby unless you're there in hot July or August. While there is plenty of parking out back, there isn't a single, even inconspicuous sign directing you where in the maze of this cut-up, large, old building where to enter with your luggage from the rear. I find that a little foolish even for old NE rather than charming. But the front porch with comfortable chairs is definitely charming. While there is very good WiFi in the Inn, be aware there is virtually no cellular reception in town on Verizon. When we go back to the area, we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We're so sorry to have disappointed you on your first stay with us. The wood-burning fireplace has been a mainstay in our lobby for over 200 years which we're quite proud if and most guests really enjoy. This time of year when it;'s 60 degrees in the day and 25 degrees at night, we're always running to start and stop the fire. Such are the trials of a 238 year old Inn! Cell service in the area is something we're really pushing for with the cellular providers - they are the decision makers on this, so we're told. Please write or register a complaint with your cell provider to install a repeater in Stockbridge. It would help our cause! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent a night here for a wedding in a nearby town. While charming in appearance, the staff was decidedly uncharming and I found the hotel quite the opposite of user friendly. In fact, it frustrated me over and over. Upon check in I was invited to carry my luggage up two flights of steps to the room. I knew it was shared facilities, which I didn't mind since I was going to be there less than 24 hours but after meandering around the 3rd floor for 20 minutes looking for the room (this hotel is huge, over 100 rooms) because the hotel lacks signs directing one to the rooms by number, I couldn't find the facilities at all. That is because the closest one (unmarked) was down two hallways and across a landing. I only eventually found it by going back down to the front desk and asking.
I was very dependent on the internet, which was not working. My verizon Iphone btw also did not work in this area. I needed to catch a shuttle to the wedding and was unable to access the information to do so due to the internet. Back down to the lobby where they told me the internet didn't work. Voicing my frustration, I was told in the most unfriendly terms by who I assume was some manager that they were working on it. No apology, no offer to find another solution, no acknowledgement even that this was a problem.
The room itself was spotless, although loud because this place is right on the street at a major intersection in the middle of town. The bed was comfortable but it was equipped with a sheet and a down comforter. It was cold without the comforter and hot with it. This was May, hardly down comforter weather but nonetheless a little chilly at night so not sheet weather either.
The lock to the door was not functioning properly, but after 5 to 10 minutes of jiggling it finally it worked. I did mention this nicely upon check out thinking they would like to know to go put some graphite in it or something, but this was not well received either.
I ordered a cocktail in the bar and was met with the same indifferent cordiality that marked the entire stay, not rude exactly but bordering on it. I did not have breakfast, as it starts at 7am and I had to leave before that. I did have a cup of coffee at the bar, which was of poor quality.
In summary, it is a clean and charming looking facility that is loud because it is on the corner of two main streets and quite close to the street. What ruins it is the attitude of the staff, which seems to permeate all aspects of the facility. Just were not nice at all. Not entirely rude, but unpleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed here for just 1 night, my first stay, although I have eaten in the restaurant a few times years ago. We stayed in the main inn and my BFF and I decided it was "like being in your grandmother's house". Loved that they have a "library" with old books and new computer...loved all the displays on the walls and in the hallways..museum quality stuff...we just needed a docent. Loved sitting on the front porch with coffee in the morning. At check out, the clerk was VERY helpful with shaping our plans for the upcoming day for a good but short hike. The restaurant host took our photo; the gift shop clerk told us all about the hotel cat....i.e. good staff who seem to like working there. Would definitely stay again...so much charm and character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were in one of the rooms in the new building behind the inn. Our room was very large with king bed and large bathroom. It was very clean. We ate in the bar area downstairs which was adequate, not excellent. The old inn is interesting to tour. I was also excited to go to Country Curtains which is in the inn, as I have purchased many curtains from the catalog over the years. I did not have time to sit on the porch in a rocking chair but will do that next time! This is a great place to stop and slow down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main Street, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-0954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.