We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
The Red Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Main Street, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-0954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Island New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure of a 2 day stay at this glorious inn. We got a incredible "off season package" called a "Snuggle Up", which included breakfast and dinner . The price was an absolute steal for the quality of the beautiful room we were given, and the absolutely delicious food we had for both breakfast and dinner. The service in the main dining room was just incredible. Not only were the wait staff very attentive, but genuinely friendly and accommodating. This seems to be the "norm" throughout the inn. Every single employee that we had any contact with was courteous, helpful and just the nicest imaginable! The cleanliness of our room was amazing, not to mention the charming antique decor. The thing my husband and I loved about this beautiful country inn, was that everything that you could possibly want for was there. If you wanted a formal dining experience, dine in the "Main Dining Room", if your looking for a more informal experience, try the "Widow Binghams Tavern, and if you like a little pub atmosphere "The Lions Den" will fill that need.Entertainment in the Lions Den is every night with local musicians giving their all. Food was fun in the Den. Great pub fare ! The thing that we also loved was the beautiful sitting areas throughout the inn, our favorite being the area with the inviting real woodburning fireplace right outside the Main Dining room. We found ourselves sitting there both nights after dinner, chatting with some really nice couples. Let me not forget to tell you about the delicious mulled apple cider that you can have with a dose of dark rum. A great drink to sip in front of the fireplace.We can't say enough about the Inn. I could go on and on. Please try a off season stay there . You will leave grinning ear to ear and rested beyond your expectations. Any questions? I would be happy to answer, as I could write countless pages about this perfect place!! P.S There is a adorable cat named Simon, that was adopted by the Inn. Friendly like the rest of the staff, don't be surprised if he cuddles on your lap in front of the fireplace. Enjoy!!

  • Liked — authentic country inn with clean beautiful rooms and dining
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    205
    74
    46
    19
See reviews for
118
328
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed last night with one of their packages which included dinner and breakfast.

The Inn is very historic and filled with antiques, in some areas though, there are just too many and it just looks cluttered. The history of the Inn is remarkable and there are many small areas for just sitting and relaxing. There were fireplaces burning and the entire inn felt warm and cozy.

The front desk staff was pleasant when we checked in and we found our room to be large and very nicely decorated with a gas fireplace and a nicely apppointed bathroom.
The problem with the room was that it was directly on Rte 7 and it was so loud that we did not sleep at all. You could hear every car and truck so loudly that it felt like we were sleeping on the street. Also, before we left the room for dinner, there was a knock on the door for turn down service. We told her that we would be leaving in 2 minutes and when we returned to the room, it had not been turned down. Not a big issue, but just a detail that was overlooked.

We did enjoy the outside hot tub while it was snowing. The pool, while very heated, was not heated enough for me, though my husband did jump in. It was a nice treat.

I will preface my dining review with the fact that I was in the restaurant business for many years.
We had lunch downstairs in the Lion's Den and it was very good with some of the best potato chips we have ever had.

The dining room is very nice but we had an OK dinner. My starter of sweet potato gnocchi was swimming in a flavorless pea puree and needed both salt and pepper to pull out the flavors. I ordered the grassfed beef from their sustainable menu. The flavors of the sauce, goat cheese potato pancake, and sauteed spinach were delicious but the cut of the meat was very tough and flavorless. My husband enjoyed his salad but his prime rib was just OK and there was no au jus to go along with it.
The pumpkin creme brulee and chocolate tart were superb with a cup of freshly brewed local coffee.

Breakfast was just OK. Service for all meals was excellent.

We will probably not return. I understand that there is not much that the Inn can do about the street noise, but we were up all night long and could not wait to get home to get some rest. I was expecting more from the restaurant; it has been so highly recommended but I did not find anything that lived up to the reputation.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

Red Lion inn is a lovely old inn. The front desk help were very nice. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub were open while it was snowing which was a rare treat for those of us who are brave enough to go out in a bathing suit when it is 25 degrees outside. The room was antique but clean and well cared for. Only downside there is no soundproofing at all-you can hear your neighbors and they can hear you (which may be a problem if you are counting on having a romantic night). Our neighbors were pretty quiet but we still could hear them. There is a small eatery (I think it is called the corner market or something like that) a few doors down with an inexpensive super breakfast and great hometown service. We were there for skiing. Jiminy Peak is close and very nice. Butternut was also pretty close but not worth the trip.

  • Liked — quaint, antiques, small town feel
  • Disliked — soundproofing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2008
Thank you for posting your feedback, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. You picked a great time to come for the skiing and a relaxing outdoor hot tub soak apres-ski. Thanks for letting us know about the soundproofing issues. We've started on a renovation campaign that encompasses insulating the exterior as well as the interior walls. (Something they didn't think they needed 100 years ago!) The market you mentioned is called Elm Street Market and has a great hometown breakfast and lunch counter to catch up on all the Stockbridge news. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

My fiance and I LOVED the Red Lion Inn. It was so pretty, and I totally enjoyed the real fireplace...they smelled wonderful. We both work at a hotel, and our expectations are always very high. All of our expectations were met. We had a cozy little room with a king size bed, and a fireplace. The Front Desk was very polite, and helpful. We went to dinner at Sweet Basil Grille and had a fabulous meal! The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast. The package we were on was great, in the package you got a room, and a breakfast. The breakfast was a full breakfast with juice, coffee, and a full entree. I loved it. We are planning on returning every year to celebrate Valentine's Day.

  • Liked — The fireplace in the room.
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit noisy...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2008
We're happy that Malibu84 enjoyed their stay and couldn't agree more that there are few more romantic spots to spend Valentine's Day with a loved one than The Red Lion Inn. We're always proud when we can impress our hospitality colleagues, and provide them with a great experience "from the other side of the front desk". Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

What a welcome respite The Red Lion was after a long stormy ride from Boston! My mother and I were so very pleased with their courteous staff and luxurious accommodations. Shortly after arrival we had a light dinner in the Lion's Den. This meal and breakfast the next morning in the Dining Room were memorable. My mother and I certainly felt pampered during our stay at this lovely inn.
I chose the inn after reading a Norman Rockwell Museum brochure. In it I learned The Red Lion Inn and Country Curtains pays all children's admission to their museum.
I hope to make an annual trip to The Red Lion Inn for many years to come.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2008
We're so pleased that 234 years later, we can still provide a welcome, warm and inviting respite for weary travelers like debdug, who now arrive by automobiles instead of stage coaches. We'll keep the fires glowing and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

My husband & I have frequented the Red Lion Inn for several years now, mainly in the spring or summer. This year we thought the holiday season would be nice. The Inn was beautifully decorated & rooms & food were always excellent. My qualm is that the staff (management) did not appear to be aware of the intrusiveness of other parties that monopolized the main lounge. Apparently there was a family gathering & they took up the entire spot & placed their Xmas gifts under the tree & took all sorts of pictures. I actually was quietly waiting for my husband to come downstairs for dinner & was asked if I would mind moving because a member of their party had just arrived. Usually I would not mind, but in this case i found the request annoying. There appeared to be many smaller or meeting room that this party could have utilized for their family reunion.They also left drinks & snacks & paper in the area & I almost tripped on a ribbon.
I would go to the Inn again, but not during a holiday season.

  • Liked — location & decor
  • Disliked — young unsupervised children opeing Xmas gifts all over the main rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2008
We're so pleased that Blackiefazz enjoyed her stay with us and disappointed that we did not do a better job of traffic control in our cozy lobby. It's unfortunate that the family in question did not avail themselves of many smaller nooks and side parlors that would have been available for their party. While we strive to provide all our guests with a relaxed and memorable experience, unfortunately, some guests are not as gracious or considerate as others. I would imagine by the time we realized this party had taken over the lobby (made smaller by our Christmas tree), it may have been too late to move them. We will look forward to your next visit, and hope the family in question is also a Tripadvisor reader! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

My wife and I took advantage of a Friday night mid-December special--one night plus breakfast for $85 plus tax--booked directly through the inn's website.

It turned out to be a fabulous deal--at least for us. The massive inn is of incredible historical interest and funky old charm. The whole thing is from the Revolutionary War era. The floors underneath the expanse of Persian-style carpet undulate underfoot--but I thought that was kind of cool. There are cabinets everywhere filled to the brim with antique china. The lobby is huge, with lots of little nooks, fireplaces, and siderooms. You really feel like you're getting an old-style New England experience. It's somehow very ornate and yet cozy as well.

The room:

I should note that our room was one that did not have an attached bathroom. (We knew that from the start, however.) The bathroom was directly across the hall. But there was no one else on our wing that night, so we had it all to ourselves. This would probably bother some people--yet there are other rooms at the inn that do have their own bathroom. And they give you thick robes to use, so it's not like you'll be stuck running across the hall naked. And there was a sink in the room.

The bed was very soft, the sheets luxurious, and the room warm and quiet--despite the fact that its windows faced Route 7. There was not much traffic at all there late at night. Perhaps that's different in the summer or on a weekend night in peak season. The rooms also have free wi-fi, and there's a computer with a printer in the third-floor library.

Problems:

To give a balanced review, I should note that some of the wallpaper and plaster in the room was cracked--but it almost added to the charm. In a modern hotel room, I'd think that was ratty--but here it just reminded me that early American patriots slept here.

Eating:

The voucher for the continental breakfast for two turned out to be a real perk, in that we were also allowed to apply it ($14 value) to the bill on a full breakfast.

Breakfast in the exquisite dining room was delicious, and the service was the perfect blend of warmth and efficiency--but without any insincere, cloying obtrusiveness. Try the French toast or the Red Lion Frittata. Even the music was a tasteful and barely noticeable background of classical tunes. I kept teasing my wife over the white tablecloth that I felt like an actor in some Jane Austen movie.

Other:

The Inn also will give you a coupon for $8 off an adult weekend lift ticket at Ski Butternut if you ask.

The front-desk staff was very nice and accommodating.

We asked for and were given a room on a high floor (4th) and thus had a wee hike up the stairs to the room. Not a big deal, though. These aren't cement fire stairs but a beautiful carpeted staircase. For those with walking difficulties, there is an elevator.

If you bring your small children, do control them. We saw some who had made a shameful mess of the courtesy hot chocolate in the afternoon--and the parents didn't even clean it up. This is not a place where wild hellions should be brought. There are too many beautiful and historical artifacts here.

Conclusion:

If you love old buildings or American history and don't mind a few cracks in the ceiling or a floor that's uneven here and there (due to 300 years of use), then you will love the Red Lion Inn. It's a great way to sample one of the last vestiges of authentic New England.

  • Liked — Cozy historic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2008
Thank you WashDCMan, you got it! What we mean by that is: We fully admit we're not for everyone - our creaky floors, squeaky doors and well-traveled hallways don't appeal to those seeking a cookie-cutter hotel experience; and that's OK! For the rest, we promise to remain faithful to our mission of providing the conveniences and amenities you expect, with the historic ambiance you love. But don't ever expect key cards or automatic check-in kiosks. We DO have our limits! As for the wallpaper and plaster - that is a slip, and one we'll correct. I'm glad you made note of it, and thank you for your feedback. We'll see you next time and remain at your service! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main Street, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-0954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Orbitz so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.