We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Rude Innkeeper!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stockbridge Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stockbridge Country Inn to your Saves list
Stockbridge Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   26 Glendale Rd., PO Box 525, Stockbridge, MA 01262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
ME
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awful! Rude Innkeeper!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked the honeymoon suite at the Stockbridge Country Inn for our wedding weekend based on its reviews and proximity to our event. Things were off to a bad start when my wife went to check in and Diane rudely told her she was "in the wrong place." After a few minutes of looking over her reservation book she realized her mistake. We then waited over an hour for our room to be ready (3 hours after check-in).

Later that evening, after our rehearsal dinner, we invited members of our wedding party back to our suite for a visit (6 people). We were told the room was for "my wife and I only" and our guests were forced to leave. Vernon watched out his bedroom window to make sure everyone left. That night Diane could be heard through the wall of our bedroom saying horrible things about me, my wife, and our guests. It was Appalling, rude, and unprofessional. It was shocking to be treated this way as we were not rowdy teenagers but professional adults (MD's,Phd's, chemical engineers, television writers, etc). The next day Diane told me my groomsmen and I would not be allowed to get ready for our wedding in the suite and was extremely rude to our photographer. She made herself "scarce" for the rest of the weekend and we did not see her again. Although we had the room reserved 3 nights we left a night early and forfeited the rate for our final night, which was well worth it to not have to interact with Diane again.

The Inn is full of fake knock-off antique reproductions, cheap upholstered furniture, and machine made "oriental rugs". There is limited parking and an extremely steep driveway. Spend your money somewhere else. The innkeeper should not be in the service industry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I now understand why the Stockbridge Country Inn garners such good reviews on TripAdvisor. The inn is set on a hill off Rt. 183 just down the road from the Rockwell Museum and the Berkshire Botanical Garden. It's also within 10 minutes from Tanglewood and the quaint towns of Stockbridge and Lenox. So it has location in its favor. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and decorated in old New England style. The breakfast consists of eggs cooked to order and delicious, fresh pastries. So it has style and cuisine in its favor. But what really sets it apart is the staff, which is uniformly friendly and helpful, especially the innkeeper, Diane. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 10 am, which seems civilized, but is a tad late for me since I have yet to shake off my working wakeup time. Our first morning there, I was wandering around at 7 am or so and bumped into Diane, who apparently had just left her bed. When I told her I was looking for coffee, she took me into the kitchen and brewed a cup on the spot. That's a small thing, but it's typical of this inn's welcoming and helpful attitude.

Room Tip: Room 19 is a little dark, but spacious and on the first floor. The second floor rooms are just as sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Diane and Vernon warm welcome and great attention to details make the Stockbridge Country Inn a unique place to stay in the Berkshires. Our room was very comfortable, decorated in 19th century England style but with a very large 21st century bathroom with everything you need for a relaxing weekend. The grounds are beautiful, the pool a relaxing and refreshing break in a day of music and art. And breakfast means a sumptuous table with your choice of home made eggs, fruit, cereals and breads. For me, it was French toast with peaches... and the time to taste every bite because you are minutes from Tanglewood, Stockbridge, Lenox and all the attractions you want to get to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

we loved the stockbridge country inn! Our room was spotless and the inn was sooo charming. We were treated like beloved friends by Diane and Vernon. Breakfast was an event! Diane brings out all her best for us. The inn is well located for many activities. We also enjoyed the heated private pool in a lovely setting.Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: The white iron room was quiet and charmingly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Diane and Vernon Reuse operate the Stockbridge Country Inn with the goal of making guests feel like they are home away from home. Each of the eight guest suites is beautifully appointed with period furniture, fine art, comfortable beds, air-conditioning and full private bathrooms. The Stockbridge Suite is amazing and rivals a suite in the best large hotels. The king-size bathroom features a soaking tub, a two person walk-in shower and a large double sink vanity. There are beautiful views from the many windows, especially the one to the large swimming pool. Diane prepares a sumptous breakfast every day with choices changing daily. The staff serves in any one of three dinning roooms and all are cheerful and engaging. The Inn's location could not be better with easy access to Tanglewood, quaint downtown Stockbridge, several nature and hiking parks, Lee, Lenox and Great Barrington. Reading materials include novels, historical works, art books and magazines and most anything else one would desire and could be classified as a near complete library. Some suites have television and all have radios. There is television available in one of the comfortable sitting rooms but little time will be spent indoors with so much to do in the Berkshires. The best Inn in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: Go to the Inn's website to view the various suites. All of each suites details are listed and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We loved the Stockbridge Country Inn! A lovely room with private (and complete) bath. Terrific service and attention to details and a lovely breakfast service. Minutes from the most important spots in the Berkshires: Tanglewood, Naumkang, Botanical Gardens, Lenox, Great Barrington, Monument Mountain, Shakespeare and Co, etc. A great getaway!!

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Pros:

Perfectly situated. 10 minutes from Tanglewood, 5 minutes from Stockbridge, 10 minutes to Lenox. Only about a half mile from the Norman Rockwell Museum (a must-see, by the way), and the Inn will give you free passes.

It's a beautiful old country inn (built in the 1800s), with that pleasant "narrow hallways/creaky wooden floorboards" feel. Very well-appointed with antiques everywhere. The grounds - especially around the pool in July - were lovely. The pool itself is a welcome respite, and crystal-clear.

No TV in the room (Yes, to me this is a "pro").

Breakfasts: Very complete and tasty, though nothing overly fancy, which suited us just fine. Coffee, juice, breakfast breads, fresh fruit, eggs (standard styles, and one day Benedict, the other poached) and breakfast meats, pancakes, cereal and granola.

Vernon, the male half of the owning couple. He is quiet and unassuming, and usually just hangs around in the background. There are enormous amounts of reading material throughout the inn. Many of them are related to WWII, so I asked him about it. It turns out that he was a paratrooper in WWII (he still wears his ring!), and the conversation I had with him about his service then was fascinating.

Comfortable bed, with extra-squishy pillows, which I love.

The shower has quick and plentiful hot water, and good water pressure.

Cons:

A bit pricey.

Diane, the female half of the owning couple. She seems to run the show. Although for the most part helpful and accommodating, and possessed of a great deal of information about all things in the area, she was, as another reviewer put it, a bit "brusque". Two examples: When she first took us to our room, I asked specifically if there was a refrigerator in the room. She replied with a simple "no". It was only the next day, when I was talking with Vernon, that he told me that all guests are welcomed to use the main refrigerator in the kitchen. Now, given that I had asked, shouldn't she have mentioned this to me? And when I asked if they had internet access, she replied "Just turn on your 'thing' and see what happens". As it turns out, they do. Couldn't she have just said "yes" when I asked? She is...a little off-putting.

Room Tip: "Ben's Room" has no TV, which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Country Inn

Address: 26 Glendale Rd., PO Box 525, Stockbridge, MA 01262
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stockbridge Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Inn to The Norman Rockwell Museum and Chesterwood Museum, 5 minutes to Tanglewood, Central of all major Berkshire attractions, set up high on 4 private and professionally landscaped acres, in-ground swimming pool, bicycle and ski storage, full-service country breakfast, private bath en-suite, fine antiques, comfort at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Stockbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockbridge Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.