We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norman Rockwell Museum

Norman Rockwell Museum
9 Glendale Rd, Rte 183, Stockbridge, MA 01262
413-298-4100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1969, this museum has the world's largest and most significant collection of Rockwell drawings and paintings.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Was what we expected. To see the ACTUAL paintings by Norman Rockwell was awesome. Liked the short film shown downstairs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    173
    25
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A day worth spent...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

After emerging from the cocoon of this beautiful museum, one cannot reflect back on how this man's keen eye and talented hand chronicled the 20th century. Breathtaking was his talent and the museum displays it well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was so excited when I found out the Norman Rockwell Museum was located very close to family I was visiting. Rockwell's works have always either brought a smile to my face, or provoked some serious thinking. The guided tour was very well done, and the museum was well set up. It's a good idea to go downstairs first to watch the 12 minute introductory video, then walk around that same room to see the exhibition of Saturday Evening Post covers that Rockwell did. Upstairs you can see the process Rockwell used to make his magazine covers and product advertisements. Live models and sets were arranged, directed, and photographed, then a detailed drawing was done. After he was satisfied with his preparatory work, Rockwell would paint his story picture. Rockwell loved finding the perfect model and then directing the facial expressions he wanted for each piece. Besides Rockwell works, there were 2 special exhibits of children's book illustrators, with the books right there in a basket to read. My 2 year old granddaughter was quite entertained by the whole exhibit! Most of the Rockwell paintings are on loan at one time or another, so be prepared for a poster here or there substituting for the painting. The grounds and building are beautiful, too, set in the Berkshires in the. Lovely little town of Stockbridge.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We decided to stop at the Norman Rockwell Museum while on vacation in the Berkshires and we were very glad we did. The guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining; the grounds were beuatiful in October. We strolled the museum and grounds. Its big enough for an afternoon visit; with time to come back to change and still go out for a lovely dinner. We recommend making time to visit the site and take this wonderful trip through our recent history and memory lane.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“#1 On The “Must-See” List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We vacationed in the Berkshires in Oct, 2013 with friends & made sure the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge was early in our vacation explorations. The museum lived up to all expectations. Rockwell's incredibly detailed, thought-provoking artwork is in a class by itself. The museum includes a large number of Rockwell’s works, both large & small as well as historical artifacts & info about his life & art processes. Outside there are large sculptures that children are permitted to touch & climb on. The Rockwell art studio is also on the grounds & worth the short walk. The Norman Rockwell Museum is #1 on the “must-see list” for this area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Rockwell Museum also viewed

Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Norman Rockwell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman Rockwell Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.