We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brimfield excursion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Maple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Maple Inn
217 Main Street, Spencer, MA 01562   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
boston,ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brimfield excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was a last minute trip to the Brimfield fair. Innkeepers were wonderful and accommodating. Our room, the Rose room, was beautiful. Very clean. Easy to find. Breakfast was excellent and staff was attentive. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
46
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

my boyfriend and i really needed to get out of the city for a few days and so he booked us for the inn for a few days. he surprised me though because when we got there, i realized we were staying at the cottage! it is super cute, clean, comfy and just all around beautiful. we had an awesome stay and really enjoyed the staff. i hope to return to the inn one day because we had such an awesome stay.

Room Tip: stay at the cottage! it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

After a long, long day of travel - from Honolulu to JFK to CT to MA- the Peach Room was like an oasis for a weary visitor!! Gorgeous furnishings with all the right touches and a breakfast to die for made us want to stay longer. Hint--don't pass up the stuffed blueberry French toast or the "flop-over"!! Bathroom was tiny, but to be expected in this sort of old New England home. Next time we will be sure to put aside a few days to more fully enjoy this beautiful B&B and the surrounding area. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A long trip back to NH turned into a delight with a night at the Red Maple Inn! Absolutely lovely and full of historical charm, the Inn is impeccably and lovingly run by John & Shari. They and their cuddly dog, Bella, could not have made us feel more welcomed in their home! We were lucky to stay in the lovely Rose Room, a quiet room on the back with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Breakfast was a gourmet treat served by John, from the yummy muffins to the omelet and crepe-like "flopover." I was so glad to finally be able to visit this Inn, and hopefully will pass that way again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Red Maple Inn is an exquisite bed and breakfast! It was so easy to reach via Boston. We stayed in the suite and felt pampered and welcome. The Innkeepers, John and Shari were so professional, yet treated us just like family. The breakfast was scrumptuous and the afternoon cookies were delicious. It was such a relaxing get-away, and John and Shari were very helpful as we planned our daily excursions. The Inn is at a great location -- close to the Massachusetts turnpike, and Worster is just a hop, skip and a jump away. I can't wait to return during the autumn to see the changing of the leaves. Thanks, John and Shari for such a memorable experience. You are the greatest!
Carol A.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room, each with its own special appeal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We needed a nice place on the way across Mass. Great gem within reasonable distance of Worcester. This place is a lovely old inn with all the details of old architecture and the new comforts people expect. Breakfast was a lovely, cooked-to-order meal with fantastic coffee and baked goods. The host provided us with great dvd choices and took the trouble to obtain directions for us to get to our next destination. Good restaurants nearby for dinner. We lucked out in finding a choral concert at the church next door.

Room Tip: For family or friends traveling together, there is a suite with two rooms and a bath all set off its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast in Spencer, MA. We stayed for one night in May, 2012. The Rose Room was very comfortable, and John our host made us feel right at home. And that breakfast! We'll be looking for more opportunities to stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: The Rose Room was very nice. Although we didn't see the other rooms, I'm sure they were jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Maple Inn

Address: 217 Main Street, Spencer, MA 01562
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Spencer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2007 Yankee Magazine "Editors' Choice", 2006 Boston Globe "Each time you enter a room you're dazzled anew by the charmingly over-the-top decor." The Red Maple Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built circa 1780, features six deluxe guest accommodations, decorator touches, luxurious bedding, private bathrooms, air-conditioning, color cable television with DVD players, 1000+ title DVD Library and complimentary Wi-Fi. Gourmet breakfast, Wine Cellar and Fine Dining. Cooking classes and Classic Film classes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Maple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Maple Inn to your Saves list