We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Oasis right next to the Bike Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Riding Hoods Basket Cafe

Red Riding Hoods Basket Cafe
108 Congamond Road, Southwick, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Southwick
Cuisines: American
Description: Coffee House / Baked Goods / Light Fare
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee House / Baked Goods / Light Fare
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food Oasis right next to the Bike Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We rode the Farmington Valley Rail Trail north passing Granbury Ct, and eventually entering Southwick Mass, where the trail becomes the Southwick bike trail. At the first major intersection of the trail and a major road, is this café, which is biker friendly, attractive to look at, and has very good food. When we arrived, we sat inside, as it was very hot out, and ordered two wraps and raspberry iced tea. The food was good, and if it was cooler outside we would have sat at one of the outside tables. The restroom is available for customers, and you can refill your water bottles in the fountain next to the restroom. A nice find highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Biking Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Favorite destination ride on RailTrail! Park in Simsbury and ride north to Southwick MA (~10 mi.) through peaceful woods and past farms complete with cornfields. Stop for lunch or tea at Red Ridings Hood's and you'll find whole fresh foods, comfy couches, and quirky ambiance. Almost feels like you in are in Vermont. Warning, it's hard to head back home!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Surprising little find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great ambience in this old general store converted to a cafe. Very casual with a steady stream of bicyclists coming in off the trail. Old creaky wood floors and just so cozy inside and chairs on the porch. You order at the counter and it is brought to your table. The coffee is really good and we give high marks to the quiche and the breakfast casseroles. When I think of a place I want to go sit and meet with a friend, this is it. Plan to try out some of the delicious looking baked goods someday.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, Inviting Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stop here often when I am biking on the Columbia Greenway RailTrail. Red Riding Hood's Basket Cafe is housed in a renovated early 1900's general store complete with original tin walls, tin ceiling, antique serving counter, and working pot-bellied stove. Open year round, and nestled right on the Rail Trail adjacent to Lake Congamond, Red Riding Hood's Basket is the convenient gathering place for folks of all ages.

The atmosphere is warm and inviting, the food is homemade, and the service is done with a smile. An exceptional experience that you will return to again and again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Specialty Coffees, Lite fare and Smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great little gem of a Cafe located in Southwick - right off the popular bike path and near Lake Congamond. They offer specialty coffees, bakery items, soups, wraps and smoothies. Great ambiance and tasty treats make this one of my favorite spots to enjoy a great coffee and light meal for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Riding Hoods Basket Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Riding Hoods Basket Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Riding Hoods Basket Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.