We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Riviera Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Stafford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the last stop for us in our three week long tour of the North East US. A party of 7, including 2 seniors and three kids, we had treated ourselves to four nights at The Riviera Beach. We chose sea-front rooms to wind down after a pretty hectic few weeks. We were so pleased with the location of the hotel and the peaceful sea-front setting. It is very much a family resort with a lovely outdoor pool and equally nice indoor pool with steaming hot Jacuzzi. The atmosphere was relaxed and family-friendly. There is a little sea-front bar and sometimes live music in front of it. The bar does not stay open late, again, great for the family feel. Our rooms were spacious, although the beds are very small, far too small for my 6'2" father who struggled to cope with both their length and width. This was really our only grumble. Our rooms, 118 and 119 were perfect, being on the ground floor and having almost direct access to the beach, without being smack in the middle of everything. They felt quite private, especially when the two families either side of our rooms moved out on the second day and we had two whole days with just the patio for four rooms to ourselves!! The views were gorgeous. The sea was blue and gentle. It was teeming with wildlife which kept our eldest son happy as he loves to explore nature. The free coffee was appreciated too! We left the resort feeling as though we had really had a separate 'mini-vacation' to round off a fabulous trip.

Room Tip: Rooms 118 and 119 are perfect if you want to be really close to the beach but a little more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent stay and wonderful comments you added in your review. The staff and manager's all work very hard to provide a great vacation and memory of Cape Cod. We hope you will visit us up north in The White Mountains of New Hampshire at our other Red Jacket Resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    73
    37
    19
    6
See reviews for
123
34
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are just finishing or stay here and it was a great 5 days. I gave it 3 stars mainly because of the room, but let's look at both sides:

Pros: Can't beat the location -- right on the beach with chairs and umbrellas provided. Never had an issue getting a chair and the staff is always on top on things and friendly. The pool is also nice just steps away -- towels provided. You have access to the neighboring sister properties and can use their amenities (we used the laundry next door) and jump in on any activities throughout the day (generally no fee). Also a kids club to keep the little ones busy for a short time or a few hours. Food right on the property and short driving distance to many restaurants. Also beach activities like volleyball, parasailing and banana boating.

Cons: Really the only con is the room. As a couple of reviewers posted it really is a motel on the water - which it is (and that's ok). We booked though expedia and had a standard room with two beds - parking lot side. It has a mini fridge, cable TV and iron. Our room was tired, definitely musty smell and some wallpaper peeling off the walls. Nothing too terrible, nor is it dirty, just recognize it's a basic older room -- and the value is really in the wonderful location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and the nice comments you posted about your experience. Our properties are older however great care is put forth to provide a very clean and comfortable room with an impeccable location and excellent service from our entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great week here! From check in to check out we were given great service! Staff was always accommodating ,very friendly& readily available! John Verity ( Manager) was always helpful ! Housekeeping staff did a great job! Kids Klub was an added bonus,great fun for the kids! Lots of fun activities- Yoga on the Beach,Music,Dance lessons !!! We had a fun & relaxing week! We have been coming here for many years & will continue to do so!

Room Tip: We always stay ocean view ,poolside 1st floor ! Love sitting on the deck with friends,while kids pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and taking time to review your overall experience here at Riviera Beach Resort.We do strive to provide a wonderful vacation memory for you and your family. Your points are heard and we contniue to listen to our guests and learn form every review. We hope to see you back at any one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts here on Cape Cod or up north in the beautiful white mountains of New Hampshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The dedicated staff at this resort made this a terrific vacation! From the general manager, John Verity,Beach supervisor, Jill, Wait staff, Colin, Housekeeping supervisor, Susan, this professional staff continued to provide outstanding service throughout the day. They were always visible and ready to cater to your individual needs. With such a beautiful beach location and lovely amenities, it is the perfect spot for all families to enjoy!! Can't wait to visit next year!!

Room Tip: Rooms by pool also have a beautiful view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It was each and every staff member's pleasure to have you and your family stay with us here on Cape Cod. I also enjoyed reading about your experience and we do try to learn from each and every guest's point of view. Thank you again and we certainly hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schenectady, ny usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we just returned from a family vacation at this resort- a wonderful time was had by all, the staff was excellent from check in time to check out time. the room locations were just perfect. the girls that checked us in were very polite and nice, especially alex, she was great, I probably called her several times before we arrived and she was always very pleasant on the phone. the rooms were very clean, the beach was neat and clean, the sand was taken care of every day, the pools were clean and refreshing... the food was very good, especially the breakfast, my husband enjoyed it very much- the home fries were just yummy!.. the entertainment was nice to listen to , the bar served good drinks and every staff member would greet you with a smile. I sure hope to return here again with my family. I hope this is a helpful review.
lois from Schenectady ny

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and taking time to review your experience while you were here.
It is my pleasure to have you and your family as guests and we ceratinly hope you return soon to any one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed the beach and variety of pools, however, there wasn't much available for food choices that allowed us to stay at the hotel and eat. Our room appeared clean, but had a very strong musty odor. We had to go buy an air freshener to be able to stand it. Overall, we would use this hotel again because of the beach and pools, but we might try booking directly with the hotel to get a better room. Our room was very quiet, but it was on the first floor and faced the parking lot. The people with pool front rooms seemed to enjoy sitting on their patios, but we couldn't really enjoy ours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Riviera Beach Resort. The entire team strives daily to make each and every guest feel special and welcome. We also thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I carefully read every guest point of view and comment and when applicable use the information to better serve our guests. Look forward to having you return to any one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was rather disappointed with what we got for the amount of money we spent for the room.

I felt as though there should have been a continental breakfast or maybe a buffet . When I asked the clerk about one he said go up stair to the restaurant and you can buy breakfast,
For the $764.00 I spent for 2 days, breakfast and dinner should have been included!.
The rooms were average nothing special, 2 double beds clean and made up both mornings,bathroom clean, the grounds were great for children they had a few activities for the kids,
Parking was on the property and there was nothing close within walking distance to do with the children, The beach was wonderful water was warm, the staff was very helpful when it came to setting up umbrellas and bringing chairs down to the beach.
I wish they had told us upon arrival we could reserve chairs and umbrellas and they would be set up for us. No night life for the young couples to do anything, would have to drive in to Hyannis for night life

Room Tip: the room w had was on the second floor with a balcony over looking the ocean but if you have childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We try our best to offer the finest memories and ocean front accommodations anywhere on Cape Cod. The entire team takes it very seriously and we look forward to having you return as a guest to any seven of our Red Jacket Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.