We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I alway's liked it but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Riviera Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I alway's liked it but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Never an incident here other than positive although rooms could use updating in a major way but grounds and property well maintained with a beautiful beach for the kicker..Couldn't miss though a really bad Bed Bug review recently that either was pulled or zapped not sure why as if true should be known for the sake of future vacationers (fair is fair) No resort is capable of pulling off 5 star reviews each and every time.....Very curious.

Room Tip: Ocean View seems to be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we certainly hope we exceeded your expectations while you were a guest with us. The staff strives daily to provide each and every guest with a memorable stay. This past winter we upgraded our restaurant dining area, a new surface was applied on the indoor pool decking as well as 15 rooms which were redseigned with our new comfortable Cape Cod theme. To answer you specifically regarding the review that was immediately removed last week , it was an error and did not happen at The Riviera Beach Resort. We hope to see you back on The Cape in July and August for a summer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    73
    37
    19
    6
See reviews for
123
34
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've gone back to this resort the last three years. Obviously we loved it the first time and it only keeps getting better. The rooms aren't anything special and. Provide you with a good nights sleep and lots of room. But this resort isn't about the rooms. It's about the view from your porch or balcony (beautiful ocean views). It's about the beach, with some of the softest white sugar sand around. The water is actually 10 degrees warmer on this stretch of the cape. The beach is private and they'll set up your beach chairs and umbrella just for you each morning. They have the greatest kids activities and run it like a camp. Our daughter couldn't wait to get going each morning after breakfast. From kite building to minigolf,hermit crab races, sand castle building, soccer, swimming and on and on.

The staff here is friendly, welcoming and accommodating. We can't say enough nice things about them. Perhaps that's why we bump into the same families who return year after year to the Riviera Beach Resort. They wouldn't choose anywhere else on the Cap. We know we'll be back again this summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage at the ocean front Riviera Beach Resort. It is our pleasure to serve you and your family and create memorable experiences each time you stay. Hope you come back soon and experience July and August on Cape Cod!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location in Cape Cod and expected a little more. This is an older hotel but it is on the beach and our room had a small balcony with an ocean view. There are no restaurants (other than the hotel restaurant) or shopping areas within walking distance. The room did smell very musty and the screen in the bathroom window was very dusty and dirty. The front desk was very friendly and provided printed directions to nearby destinations. There is free coffee in the lobby but wish there had been a coffee pot in our room. There are lots of choices in the area so would probably go elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been going to this resort for over 20 years. It is a great place to stay on the Cape. The rooms and facilities are clean and spacious. The resort is removed from the busier roads but close enough to everything-mini golf, restaurants, ice cream, bike trails, etc. They have a beautiful beach with waitress service and umbrella set-up, fun outdoor pool for the kids, indoor pool, and whirlpool. They also have fun activities for adults and kids and frequently have music in the evenings and a bar on the beach. The property is beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Last year, a friend and I decided to go to the Cape for Labor Day weekend. It was a last minute decision and we booked a room here largely because many other places were full. We ended up having a great time and decided to make it a yearly tradition. This year was a complete let down. The staff was rude. Our beds were horribly uncomfortable. Our "ocean view" was more of the parking lot of the resort next door. You could actually feel the mattress springs in places and the sheets were scratchy. While the rooms are large, they are dark and dated. The light on the deck apparently doesn't turn off because it is part of their "security system", so we had a very bright light shining in our room that we were unable to turn off. The room towels are thin. There were a few damp beach towels thrown in a plastic bin for use at the pool and beach. The walls are very thin and the noise definitely travels. The sink is located outside the room itself. The room was a little smelly. This condition of the room and resort did not command the 200 a night (in the off season) that is charged. Last year's experience was better, so I gave it a three instead of a two. Additionally, the beach is lovely and the pool looked to be well kept. However, there is a lot that needs to be updated in the property and the guest porches should not be part of the security system (again, it appeared this was the case for only a few of the porches)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riviera this weekend. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is beautifuly landscaped and well cared for. We totally enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The staff strives daily to provide a memorable experience at the Riviera Beach and we are happy to announce numerous upgrades that took place over the winter. The dining area, the indoor pool, 14 guest rooms all had makeovers and are decorated with a comfortable Cape Cod theme. We hope to see you back here or at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts located on the Cape and in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This resort was a major disappointment for us. The pictures on hotels.com made it look so much nicer than it actually was. After checking in we went to the room which smelled moldy and was very dark. I tried to open the window, but it wouldn't budge. We had to rely on the extremely loud air conditioning unit to keep from sweltering. The bathroom had mold between the tiles and on the shower curtain. The sheets were scratchy and uncomfortable. There was also sand on the carpet when we checked in. It just wasn't an inviting or comfortable room, and frankly, they have nerve to charge $300 a night for something of that caliber. I have stayed in beach rentals on Cape Cod before, and would expect this room to be about $150 a night, or half the price of what we paid.
The beach was beautiful and clean, but we dreaded going back to the room at night and kept out of it as much as we could. If it had been a rainy day where we couldn't sit at the beach all day, this vacation would have been a total bust.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your stay and we certainly are glad you enjoyed our ocean front property. I have looked closely at all our interiors and found no rooms to have any mold in them whatsoever. I do agree that a few of our rooms are dark and we will look at how to make them lighter and to potentially re- do bathrooms that are in need. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.