We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Mid-Week Special!
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plant City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We made the mistake of staying only one night. The Red Jacket is a great place for relaxation and fun. Indoor/outdoor pools, a very clean, isolated beach, river activities, and ongoing daily activities for everyone in the family make this a great destination. For day trips it's easy to head out to Martha's Vineyard, go whale watching, or just walk around Hyannis. The hotel restaurant is excellent and the whole experience almost makes you feel as if you were transported back to a summer in the 60s----right down to the fact that your door still has a real key!

Room Tip: Save a little and choose the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We hope that you can return in the near future and take advantage of all we have to offer here at Red Jacket Beach....................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    121
    71
    28
    12
See reviews for
195
72
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stay there last week with my entire family and all the children. What a great location for the kiddos. The beach is large and clean with many activities to keep the kids entertained throughout the day. The rooms are large but a bit dated for the
price you pay. However I guess the cost includes the
convenience of the beach right
there however it was a bit pricey. Had breakfast twice at the resort. One day the service
was great and the food was delivered in a timely manner.
The second time there were several staff members just
standing around and it took over 15 minutes for them to come
ask us we wanted coffee. Breakfast overall took more
than an hour which is ridiculous for coffee and a muffin. The staff was very friendly throughout the resort. We loved the waitstaff coming onto the beach to take food and beverage orders.
This resort is so wonderful for people who have children. So many conveniences right on the resort. Would definitely go back with my family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for your family friendly comments we all appreciate it. We discuss these reviews in our staff meetings and pre meal so the young dining staff can understand the impact of less then attentive service. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is our 4th year vacationing at the Red Jacket! Location is perfect and the pool and beach make it ideal! Every year we take our family pictures here and use the hotel photographer, Denise at Fleeting Moments Photography. This is a great service that the hotel offers. She is kind, friendly, great with kids and takes amazing photos! It is truly an awesome way to capture your vacation memories! Always look forward to returning to the Red Jacket!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for the kind words....and I'm guessing you were the early light... white and Khaki group getting in those photographs before the day really began. Congratulations on getting everyone up in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was there for 2 nights, it is located right on the beach with water sport activities available right at the hotel, however hotel is dated and is more like a glorified motel then a resort, also beware that there are tons of kids there so if you are looking for a quiet romantic spot this is not the place to go

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to add your objective comments. We are a family friendly resort with loads of programs geared primarily to children. We do offer the largest private beach and pools on Cape Cod and provide all the services that most people expect in a family setting. The spring and fall season we would consider to be the best time to pursue a romantic holiday here at the Red Jacket Beach...especially the fall when the beach is deserted and the temperatures are still warm under a bright September sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My third stay at Red Jacket, and like others have said, the resort has many great features. The beach, the activities, very kid-friendly, and in a great location. The only con is the resort needs a renovation. This trip we stayed in the ocean front cottage of which you can not beat the proximity to the ocean, but the inside is very outdated, making the cottage seem dirty. For the money (very expensive) I feel the resort should put more effort into making the rooms and cottages more updated. The whole look of the cottage is 80s style and I had my family keep their shoes on inside as the rugs and tile floors were gross. I understand that the ocean air adds a wet factor, but the overall quality of this resort could be better as far as the rooms go. Renovate and up the cleanliness factor and the Red Jacket would be perfection.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for the objective comments we appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I booked this resort last minute. The grounds, pools and beaches are spectacular. The rooms are pricey for what you get. The best way to describe it is Cape Cod Classic. This is not a couples place, although it might be good for a wedding. They have installed a new tent, which overlooks the ocean and has a bar. Although this is a kids place, a suggestion would be to have more music in the tent/bar area. They also need more seating, but I think they are working on that. Just remember, you are not going here for the room, you are going herre for the amenities which are plentiful. We did not eat at the resort, there are so many options around here and it was good for a change of scenery to leave campus!

Room Tip: River view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the objective comments we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

love the place, we just went for the 4th july so prices are little expensive. the place is very clean and the service was excellent. Super friendly people and food was not bad.
the pools were very well maintained and clean. there were lots of kids so keep this in mind, this is very family orientated place.
we will definitely go back again next year

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to recognize the family experience here at Red Jacket Beach. During the summer season we offer a multitude of choices for every member of the family. The value associated with all the summer activities available is considerable and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#6 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing, jetskis, and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.