We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great quiet area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I came here for a off season weekend getaway. We loved everything about this place. It was quiet (even though it was a Girl's Escape weekend). Everything was clean and the beaches were great. We plan on coming back hopefully for another weekend getaway in the fall. If I had to say one bad thing about this is that they don't have a coffee machine in the room, we like to have coffee as we are getting ready. But they do have free coffee in the lobby, which my husband went down to get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay here at Red Jacket Beach Resort. Though many guests may consider us a family oriented resort, or a nice location for a wedding or corporate function. We have plenty of space so that we also are known as a "get away". our spacious grounds, 1,000 foot private beach and my favorite the "riverside" area always provides opportunity for private moments. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    119
    69
    28
    12
See reviews for
190
71
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went there weekend before memorial day. Though things were still starting for the summer but the resort was perfect. location is amazing overlooking the sound. Kids enjoyed the beach (private) and the rooms had bunkbeds with privacy door to give us time to ourselves. clean rooms, great service and all resort activities. Recommend to all. check out the individual houses for larger families right on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments......you describe one of our 2nd floor family rooms...one of the best values in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. If you liked the spring you will love the summer. Every day in summer season we have plenty of activities for children and adults. Starting with morning Yoga on the beach, supervised "Kids Klub" (an active participant program ages 5-12), magic shows, clowns , face painting and loads of other things. Take a look at our website under daily activities. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If anyone ever thought about this weekend, my recommendation is to definitely do it~!! Everything was great. We are a group of 9 people that went this year and would definitely return for another Girls' Escape Cape Weekend. You can't beat the price for what you get. The accommodations are great, the activities are fun and the food is fantastic. I actually was very lucky to speak with Executive Chef John Payne about a particular dessert he made for us...an Almond Tuille Cookie. He very kindly shared the recipe and I have distributed it to my friends. When he told me how much time he spent on making this I was truly impressed that he would do that. All of the food was fantastic and plentiful. I certainly hope Chef Payne will be there next year when we return~!

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a bad room anywhere. We prefer the River Side because our group likes to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to comment on Girls Escape....seems like a great time was had by all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Ten friends spent the weekend at the Red Jacket Resort, enjoying their special "Girls Night Out". Everything was well planned and executed and the accomodations were wonderful, as well as the meals. One of the friends contacted the Executive Chef, John Payne, to compliment him on the meals and he offerred the recipe for one of the dishes, which we have now all shared. The rooms, the meals, the location, the services, were all great and we will surely return for another vacation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thats for sharing you comments about Girls Weekend......we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family & I have been coming up to the Red Jacket now for 20 years. In the last few years, we've definitely noticed the hotel was been "slipping". We've kept coming back in hopes that things would improve, but after our last visit, I felt compelled to write this review. The room decor has not changed since our first visit, except for a flat screen TV. The furniture is dated & very worn. I feel like I'm visiting my great aunt rather than Cape Cod in these rooms. Yes, I get it. You come to the Red Jacket for the location - which is great, it's right on the beach. Beautiful outdoor pool area as well. There's a terrible tent in the middle of the resort that blocks beach views for weddings and events. I don't think the prices of the Red Jacket at all are justified based on the room. We've had several issues with loud noise at night due to parties or weddings. Please give this hotel a facelift & then I'll be willing to spend whatever on a room!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We appreciate your family loyalty in visiting Red Jacket Beach for over 20 years. As you know we do have one of the nicest Oceanfront locations on Cape Cod. We are continually making efforts to update our classic Cape Cod style décor. As noted all rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, our bedding, most carpets and draperies are new. Each of our rooms has a balcony or deck allowing for a pleasant view with ample room for seating and taking it all in. During the early spring and after Labor Day we do provide a ceremony tent on the lawn. Our facility is a popular location for Oceanfront wedding ceremonies and we must have an option if the weather is not cooperative on that special day. In late June the tent is removed, the patio area will be for family activities, dining, and this year and Beach front bar. We apologize for the noise of a few thoughtless folks contributing to creating an unpleasant memory here at Red Jacket Beach. Our staff will always react appropriately when challenged with noise issues to resolve the situation and insure that our guests return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in a family room with our one year old daughter. Great for a short getaway! Unfortunately, sleep was scarce in the first night due to a loud party, which it took three reception calls to quiet down. Apart from that the service was great and Virginia and her team did an outstanding job of making us feel home away from home. Don't miss Song's back massage!
Thanks,

Meike, Jens and Claudia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in recognizing some of our associates that contributed to your enjoyment here at Red Jacket Beach. As noted there were some noise issues that night that were resolved in a satisfactory manner. We are always pleased when an experience at Red Jacket Beach provides lasting family memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, ME
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A vacation on Cape Cod in April is a good way to avoid the crowds and enjoy time together. Accommodations were comfortable, clean, spacious, and convenient to the beach and bike trails. Our family (over 40 adults, teens, and young children of all ages) stayed in the condos and houses adjacent to the hotel. We've been here before and hope to come back next year. Customer service is outstanding and use of the hotel pool and hot tub (indoor), tennis courts, docks for fishing, and many grassy areas added to the fun. Weather was cool and breezy so dress appropriately. Some couples would have preferred queen-size beds as there were several doubles.

Room Tip: The 4 bedroom ranch condos were the best for 2 families. The saltbox and large house were also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your review....the first one of the 2013 season! We appreciate the comments and look forward to your extended family returning To Red Jacket Beach. As you know we have 150 hotel units and 14 "cottages" surronding the main hotel grounds. The cottages are multi bedroom with a variety of bedding options. All of our hotel units provide Queen beds in the double rooms and Kings in the single rooms. Again thanks for being with us on opening weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#6 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children’s pool and Jacuzzi spa. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker’s River, which borders the resort. Parasailing, jetskis, and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour’s drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket’s dining room serves signature New England cuisine, while the Oceanview Grill is the place to be on summer evenings with themed grill nights accompanied by live musical entertainment. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort’s full service spa, offering manicures, pedicures, facials, and a full complement of massage treatments. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. The Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. Rates start at $139 per night. Open from early April until early November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.