We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel on a beautiful location!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average hotel on a beautiful location!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is average at best- the rooms are a outdated- furniture, tv, bathrooms need a facelift desperately.
The Spa is the best part about this place. The staff that worked there were friendly and made you feel special.
I was shocked to find out that the price for this hotel can be as high as $450!!! It is true that the location is beautiful, but it is also true that the Red jacket as a hotel cannot justify this high rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for your thoughts regarding our wonderfull location and the friendly service which made you feel special. We are located on a 1,000 foot private beach directly on Nantucket Sound. Our room rates are a reflection of the season and the associated level of amenities, services and programs available to all of our guests. During the summer season along with our in -season dining and beach services, our emphasis is on family entertainment and many associated activities along with daily supervised childrens programs, yoga on the beach , painting classes, jugglers, clowns, face painting, build and fly your own kites and a myriad of other programs all offered on a complementary basis. Our room rates in the spring and fall are of considerable value, we are one of the only direct oceanfront hotels on Cape Cod. As you have stated the value in all seasons here at Red Jacket Beach the best location available to experience Cape Cod, along with warm personalized attention and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    141
    79
    33
    16
See reviews for
230
83
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I think it would be cheaper in the long run to rent a house. Did not eat much of the food as they were not fully season-ready. What we did eat wasn't well prepared. Service was okay at the resort. The spa wasn't very high end for the prices. The rooms were average. they have that musty ocean-side odor which i was told was a "Cape Cod" smell. The location was FABULOUS!! Water front. A beautiful slice of Cape Cod. Many restaurants, famille activities within a 3 mile radius.

Room Tip: We stay in a 2 bd ocean view suite. It's a good value for 4 people if you prefer privacy. 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Every year, in July, my whole extended family gets together for a reunion. The last several years, we have spent our reunion weekend at the Red Jacket, on the beach in beautiful South Yarmouth.

The resort has an offering for everybody. Our family spends three days in the surf and sand, in the indoor pool and hot tub, singing by the *resort sponsored* beach bonfires; some even attend beach yoga. Without fail, every year my cousins and I go fishing.

While we always hook fish, this year was special. On the last cast of a long day fishing, I landed a huge flounder. The catch was too good to throw back. I figured at worst I could put it on ice and bring it home.

On a whim, I asked the restaurant manager if he could find somebody to clean it for me. He told me that he could not only clean it for me, but if I wanted, he would cook it so my family could enjoy it with me! I was thrilled.

The Sous Chef, James, cleaned and cooked the flounder two ways for us. Both recipes were amazing! The fish was big enough for the whole family (20 People) to try and enjoy. Everybody was impressed with the resort’s willingness and ability to accommodate my unusual request. The resort went above and beyond to help create a special moment for all of us!

Little things like James taking the time during a peak dinning period to help create this memory is what makes the Red Jacket such an amazing place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing "Bass River" for amazing sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The rooms were average. Typical beach hotel musty smell. The beds were comfortable once you removed the old bedspreads and added a top sheet over the blanket. We had a river view room which opened up to the lawn which gave my children room to run. The food was good and the restaurant offered a good variety. The pool/beach front dining was wonderful especially with the music entertainment. I loved being right on the beach, but would had loved if the beach was raked everyday. There was too much seaweed. So the downside was the fact that many large families stayed and had rooms next to each other. They set up tables and coolers and left their trash out everyday. I wish the resort would not allow this "camping" not to happen since there are many food well prepared food options.

Room Tip: It is not worth the price for the beachfront rooms. All the rooms are close enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We saw a deal for this hotel for Halloween weekend that we had to do! We had never been here because in the typical Cape season, the prices are out of our budget, so this was a good opportunity to check it out. The location is perfect, right on the beach with more than plenty outdoor chairs. The grounds are spectacular! The outdoor pool was closed, but it looked well kept; the indoor pool was nice and clean as well. The options available during the summertime looked enticing. The spa prices were not too appealing! The overnight rooms were very outdated and the bathroom extremely small. The restaurant was OK, just a little pricey.

The weekend we were there was a Halloween special. They had an adults costume party, complimentary with overnight stays. They had a live band, dancing, contest, quite a few appetizers and a cash bar. For a small fee, you could send your child to a supervised event for the kids on the premises - what a great idea! They had arts and crafts, swimming, movies, etc. from 7:30-midnight. The kids had a blast and we had a nice time at the adult party as well.

Before the evening festivities they did have a scavenger hunt and a face painting activity, complimentary. The hotel was festively decorated. The staff was very nice, friendly and accommodating. One senior staff member was out of line, but it was a little shocking.

If the Red jacket had a reduced rate during the prime summer, I would definitely be interested in staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the great review of Halloween events and our season ending weekend........We have many family programs during the April School vacation opening week 2013, with daily "Kids Klub" activities.....Fun Clowns.... face painting... and more for the entire family....along with some season opening value rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed here for a long weekend, and was mostly disappointed. Although the location and grounds of the hotel are beautiful, the rooms desperately need to be updated, and cleaned better. I had purchased a voucher from living social, which included a credit for the restaurant at the hotel, which I felt was a total waste because the food was horrible. I will however say, that the staff and service at the spa was excellent. My advice to others would be to shop around before selecting this hotel. Prices are better elsewhere, and I'm sure you can find a much nicer inn as well for the price! Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
During certain times of the season we participate in discount programs such as "Living Social". This enables us to introduce the Red Jacket Beach and Cape Cod to guests that are looking to achieve a value oriented bundled package. Usually we are successfull in creating and nurturing an experience that builds the fondation for a future guest . Our goal always is to be available to the needs of our guests, providing the satisfaction that they expect of all of our amenities and services. There may be a time when a guests has a less then desirable breakfast or room....but that is rare. We would always do whatever it takes to provide a fresh wholesome product served with care and genuine hospitality. If there is ever a problem with any of our services, it be a room , spa or meal a we encourage a little conversation which can usually make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently stayed for several nights at this great Inn. The staff, facilities, and view were spectacular, and the breakfast buffet was the best one ever! We will be returning to the Red Jacket Inn often. Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your fall experience here at Red Jacket Beach Resort. As the days get shorter and the beaches quieter we do feel more like a country Inn. We look forward to your return in any season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#10 of 20 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#1 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing, jetskis, and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.