We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Value-OFF Season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Mid-Week Special!
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“GREAT Value-OFF Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed for part of April Vacation. I am blown away at how friendly every single staff member I came across was. They all had huge smiles on their faces and were eager to help.Even the lawn guy who opened the door for us. However, this is the first weekend they have opened for the season, so lets see they are still this friendly come mid July! The rooms were antiquated, but this is Cape Cod. Every hotel on the Cape has the "Beach Charm". I think some people may be thrown off by this when they pay $300+ a night, but after 30 years of vacationing here, I'm used to it.
We stayed in a very large room (3 bedrooms, 1.5 bath, slept 8) that was clean and had a massive deck! We were told that the room had no view- not true. It is impossible not to get a view on theis resort. Our deck still had a beautiful view of the ocean.
For those who need to be connected, there is free wi-fi everywhere on site.

The children's programs were wonderful: movies, balloon making, magic tricks, pool games, arts & crafts, beach sports. I didn't send my children for the whole day- we just "dropped in" to several of the activities. The GM was walking around all week informing everyone of all of the programs going on. Again, so friendly & helpful.

The indoor pool is great as it has two floors for sitting so you never have to worry about a seat. They also allow beverages in the pool area which is a plus. I liked that there was excercise equipment in the pool area. Work out, while you watch the kids swim.
Our only gripe was that both the indoor & out door pools (outdoor is zero entry kiddy pool and an addtional pool) were both dirty. This may be due to their just opening. The indoor pool was slimy and the out door pools had debris in them. Gross.

The best part of our stay BY FAR was the breakfast! WOW! Your choice of a buffet- a REAL buffet with fresh pastries, a fresh fruit bowl with melons, berries, pineapples, etc., pancakes, meats, eggs, potatoes, and cereals. OR you can order from their wonderful menu. We had eggs benedict-unbelievable! Food was outstanding. A plus was the waitress opening the bar to make us special mimosas. I was weary of eating at an onsite restaurant, but would definitely try the dinner there in the future.

Our trip included a spa package, but we never got to use it because it seemed the spa was NEVER open.
I also want to note that there were kids everywhere and we went to bed relatively early and still got a great night sleep. The rooms are VERY well soundproofed!
Overall we got a GREAT package because of school vacation-worth every dime & more, however I am still on the fence if I would pay full price in the heat of the summer. It IS right on the beach and the staff is wonderful, food great. But I still am not convinced that I would payy 400 a night to stay here.

Room Tip: Sign up for emails,book when they are having deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you for the kind words. We take great pride in our friendly guest focused staff, we will share this review with our associates, thoughtfull comments are always appreciated. The crew in the Kitchen was excited to be recognized for the WOW! factor. We look forward to welcoming you later in the year to experience all summer has to offer here at Red Jacket Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    121
    71
    28
    12
See reviews for
195
72
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

It was our first trip with two kids(under five) and we chose this hotel. It was great as they have their own private beach and a nice pool with mushroom sprinkler and a kiddie bridge. They also have a kids club with programs going on which we didnt use. The best part is all attractions are nearby and we took the kids to pirates cove mini golf, a animal zoo and everything was minutes away.The rooms tho pricey are average but if you dont want to spens a lot of time in the room its ok!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJacketResortRep, Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
We're so glad your family enjoyed the amenities at the Riviera, which is a Red Jacket Resort. The location makes it easily accessible to area shops and restaurants.Next summer you should look into the Kids Club which includes all sorts of activites for the children.This
summer concluded with a visit from Sponge Bob.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We were two families in house No. 7 (4 bedrooms). Good weather made the stay a success. The kids enjoyed the outdoor pool and on the green lawn outside the house. The house was well soundproofed, the neighbors had a barbeque a whole night without the annoyance to us. The house was spacious for four adults and four children. A windy day made the beach unusable due to a lot of sand in the air.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJacketResortRep, Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Before I booked I read all the reviews and knew this would be a great place for me, my husband, and our 2 year old son. It has three pools, two outdoor (kiddie and regular) and an indoor pool for those cool days/nights. We arrived the Sunday before Labor Day and they already went into off season mode, so paying the daily resort fee seemed a bit much to ask.
Pros:
Located on the beach
Clean, manicured grounds
Beautiful views (we faced the river/bay)

Cons:
Uncomfortable beds. Could feels the springs and the bottom sheet was too small, kept slipping off all night.
Restaurant service
Rooms are dated

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJacketResortRep, Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thanks for spending the time to write a review. We agree that the Red Jacket Beach is a great family spot. The pools are very popular with the kids and the view is most popular with the adults. There have been recent updates with some of the rooms and expect more to be completed over the coming months. The resort fees cover the internet, morning coffee, towels, beach chairs and umbrellas all year long. We hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYRACUSE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We chose this hotel as we wanted to get away, sit on the beach, have good restaurants nearby but not too close, be able to walk/run in the mornings, sleep in and sit out on beach later in day. As nice as our room was - right on ocean, clean, large - we were still taken aback by the number of children - too many unattended and even those being watched were all over the place. We both love kids but this was not what we had in mind. Kids on vacation don't really have bedtimes - be prepared to be up early and to not be able to sit out until after 10. We would be out just in front of our room and would have toddlers coming and going - one went right over the side wall, a 6 foot drop onto sand; he was fine but scared the he-- out of us.
Having said this, however, if you have children, you will be very pleased with the number of child activities, the indoor (small) and outdoor (bit bigger as it's extended) pools and the abundance of playmates. This should never be considered a spa or resort - just doesn't fit at all. It's a clean pleasant hotel on the ocean for families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJacketResortRep, Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The OceanView is truly a beautiful spot, and the area is a great place for a morning run. The hotel is conveniently located close to many nearby restaurants and shops. The spa is also a great place to relax and be pampered. We hope to see you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Very nice location, on the beach.
PROs: good for families due to the pools and the beach. We didn't test the food as we only slept there one night.
CONs: a bit 1960sh style, under some aspects it means that it would need some renovations. The pools was not the cleanest I have seen. Rooms are essential, a bit oldish, I would abolish the moquette.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJacketResortRep, Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
The Red Jacket Beach Resort has the Old Cape Cod Charm that has brought back families year after year. This season has been especially busy due to the beautiful weather and during the off season, many of the updates are done. In the Spring of 2010 updates were done including new bed linens.
We pride ourselves on the fact that the Red Jacket Beach is a family resort with activities for
everyone. This summer the Kids Club was one of the most popular activites. Thank You for taking the time to write a review. See you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Since the children were young, we have stayed here. Red Jacket has improved and we still love it. When it's sunny, we enjoy the beach, kayaks and jet skis. When rainy, the indoor pool and hot tub. Clean and comfortable, it is near the action but still tranquil. We always get a room (with kids alcove) facing the sunset and wetlands, and spend our quiet time on the terrace with binoculars. Some suggestions: I'd like to see the concierge (wonderful ladies) at the desk for more hours, add a sauna to the indoor pool area. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJacketResortRep, Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
We are glad to hear you keep coming back. Thank you. It means we must be doing something right.

We will talk about your suggestions at the winter meetings.

Thank you for your kind words and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#6 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing, jetskis, and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.