We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windjammer
192 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in South Yarmouth
Winchester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable & clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I have to say, I was pretty impressed with this place. First of all, the ladies that run the place are top notch. Super friendly. You can tell they take pride in their motel.

The Windjammer is your typical cape cod
motel that you used to go to with your parents. Yes, the place needs a major overhaul but it is clean and well maintained. It's great for families and travelers who just need a place to lay their head. It's definitely not the Four Seasons but you cant beat the price for the location.

I have stayed at a few hotels in the area and have rented a house in the past. This is a great option if you want a quick cape trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Cannot beat the location, being right across the street from the beach! The rooms are clean, the staff was so friendly. I loved being able to park there the day we got in before check in and then after we checked out to take in more beach time. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Love it here. Can't beat the location for the price. Beach is across the street and there is also a pool. Rooms are clean and the staff are so nice. Go out of there way to be helpful. I would recommend to anyone. Always hae a pleasant stay. Going back again.

Room Tip: Stayed both times on the upper floor and once on lower level. I was happy with both locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We always drove by this hotel and never stayed until this month. The rates are phenomenal for the Cape and walk to beach!! hands down, that is the selling point. The beach is across the street and is about a 3 minute walk to the sand. Albeit, the beach is not a popular one compared to others and is small but the sand is clean, soft and the water is great!
The motel is outdated. The rooms are small and the furnishings are old (reminded me of my 90 year old grandmothers house that hasn't been renovated since she moved in). HOWEVER, IT WAS CLEAN. The beds on the other hand were small...I think they were full size. They were also rather hard and reminded of plywood. Don't plan on getting a good night sleep.
The outdoor pool is large and the pool chairs are plenty and comfy.( more comfortable than the beds) we did find it odd that they pool's vacuum was in the pool and on the entire stay. It's one of those vacuums that moves by itself. Probably should be done after the pool closes as there is a very long hose that is hanging throughout the pool and not great for swimming.
Overall, we would stay again for the location and price. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have never written a review before and I probably never will again but my husband and I felt so strongly pleased with our experience, we had to share it. My husband and I were driving from New York to Springfield, MA and wanted to see Cape Cod. We only had one night-definitely not enough time to see the cape; but it is all we had. We found the Windjammer on Tripadvisor and loved the location and price ($129 for a monday night). We pulled up to the hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the location right across the street from the beach within walking distance to an awesome lobster dinner at the Skipper. The hotel is a bit on the older side but we were more than happy with the location and the staff. The ladies that helped us in the office went above and beyond to make sure we had the best experience on the Cape. They told us which lighthouses were the best for our time constraint, let us leave our car in their lot after check-out and made us feel like we were the most important visitors they have ever had. The hotel was nice but the staff was what made us want to return time and time again. We will only stay at the Windjammer when we return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I really wanted to love it, it has other good reviews online, and for the price, seemed like a fantastic deal. The location is wonderful, tucked into a quiet neighbourhood with the beach across the street and a pool onsite. But a couple of things really would have made a huge difference overall, and taken this from a 3 star rating to a 5.
1) having a coffee maker in the room. I'm usually up by 6:00 - 6:30 at the latest, and to wait around until 7 am was frustrating. + it just feels like such a basic thing these days, even the cheapest of motels offers a coffee maker.
2) the pool is unheated. It's large and very enticing for sure, but man it was cold - and we were there in July, so imagine how cold it is in September, or May. Not very appealing.
3) still on the pool - it opened at 9 am each day, which if you have children, is not great. 8 am would be better, or even 8:30 - but by 9, we'd already trekked over to the beach out of boredom. And to hear the lady at the front desk complain about how the kids are always driving her crazy asking her to open the pool was frustrating. It was never opened at 9 - they seemed to always run 5- 10 minutes late opening the gate, so yes, the kids are chomping at the bit by 9 to go for a swim, as most have been up for an our and a half or more at that point. Just open it on time... Please.
It just didn't feel like the most child friendly place.

Room Tip: Each room has a big picture window facing the pool, with curtains that do not totally black out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very outdated and not that clean. Also, saw a roach on the floor. And you don't get phone service. What a terrible place to stay. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windjammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer

Also Known As:
Windjammer Hotel
Windjammer South Yarmouth
Windjammer Hotel South Yarmouth
Windjammer Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA
Address: 192 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Windjammer to your Saves list