We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully nostalgic Old Cape Cod motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Motel

Save Saved
You added Village Green Motel to your Saves list
Village Green Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Green Motel
37 Seaside Village Road, P.O. Box 39, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
NYC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully nostalgic Old Cape Cod motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place is soooo Cape Cod! It’s one of the most wonderfully down-to-earth family owned motels we’ve ever stayed at. No air conditioning, but the price reflects that. Besides, there’s always a refreshing sea breeze from the beach across the street, and they have lots of fans. (Hey fellow New Yorkers: The beach is free!) The owners and employees treat you like family... no wonder they have so many repeat guests. They take great pride in their business. Wait until you see the landscaping! Love the pool: It’s a big old nostalgic jewel right out of the 50’s. Heated too. This is a lovely motel with a proud tradition of warm hospitality. Great place, great price, great location.

Room Tip: There is an adorable little secluded "doll-house" of a cottage at the end of property. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, General Manager at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
15
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This place has a wonderful location across from the beach and the Skipper restaurant, a really nice pool, a lovely picnic type area around the pool, delicious homemade breads for breakfast BUT they really need to invest in doing some updating and renovations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, Owner at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been updating the motel on a regular basis. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson, ma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great location for beach lovers, but way too hot and stuffy on the second floor under the roof, even with the fans that were provided. Otherwise - an average rather outdated motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, Owner at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Usually the ocean breeze and fans suffice for most of our guests. We have updated the motel on a regular basis. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the village green. We had a suite with a queen bed and 2 love seats which pull out to twin beds. My son said the pull out was comfortable. However, my bed was as hard as sleeping on the floor. Some people prefer this firmness, but I am not one of them!! The rooms overall were clean, just a few spots that were overlooked. The wall behind the nightstand had an impressives amount of dust clinging to it. The blind in the bathroom was filthy. Supposed to be housekeeping every day but I only saw them in our room the 2nd day. The other days I got my own towels and took out the trash. There is a large inground pool which always had screaming kids in it. No A/C, but there were fans, which were adequate because there is always a breeze off the ocean.

Anywhere you go there are pluses and minuses. The woman who runs the place is so pleasant and charming. And it is right on the beach. Just depends if you are willing to overlook some other things.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, Owner at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for writng a review. We do offer housekeeping every day. If the Do Not Disturb sign is on the door or if it is past the time the housekeepers are working, then the guests do ask for their towels and put the trash outside the door. We are sorry they missed your first day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is our third year returning to the VGreen. This yr. was 1st without our grandaughter. We found our room to be very pleasant. Seems to have been newly painted. This is a very warm, family oriented motel and hope it remains that way. We will be back next yr. with our grandaughter (who loves your blueberry bread!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, Owner at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. The blueberry bread will be ready for your granddaughter when you visit us again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Our family booked this hotel as many of our friends recommended it. We went for a weekend (actually prior to June 2010, earliest dropdown date available) and the room was both filthy and smelled overpoweringly of mold. Furnishings were old and dirty looking. My spouse has asthma so as soon as we walked in we went to the desk and had to fight for a credit (we had of course paid in the office before going to the room) to be issued. It was a holiday weekend and we were lucky to find a clean and friendly option on Rt. 28 not far away so we left in a hurry. We often rent a house not far from here in the summer and VG always seems packed-no matter how close something is to the beach, and even if you only have to sleep there, it still has to be clean and mold free, IMHO. Stay away. There are several other good options of varying prices in the same area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, Owner at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for wring the review. We take pride in our rooms being clean. We are not fancy but offer a comfotable, relaxing and affordable visit at The Village Green. Having the beach across the street, a large pool and picnic benches and grills in the courtyard makes it ideal for most of our guests. The Continental Breakfast is free and appreciated by our guests. We are sorry you were not comfortable when you visited us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night and was so shocked how horrible this stay would be was greeted somewhat nice but this place is very very old . Lots of junk all over the place and also very old rooms beds are terrible furniture I have seen better on the side of the road on trash day . Breakfast is very limited a slab of blueberry and small cups of coffee well not worth the stay here . This place should be condemed and rebuilt as the location is nice with the beach in walking distance . Do yourself a favor do not waste your vacation here like I did .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreen, Owner at Village Green Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not comfortable at the motel. We offer a clean, comfortable, homey atmosphere at the motel but it does not appeal to everyone. The Continental Breakfast is free. Most of our guest appreciate being able to get coffee, juice and homemade breads in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Motel

Address: 37 Seaside Village Road, P.O. Box 39, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Village Green Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Green Hotel South Yarmouth
Village Green Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.