We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 Main St., Route # 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Louisa, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here with our group of people on a bus tour. I don't know how this compares to other hotels but if I was traveling on my own I would consider this hotel. It appeared that a lot of the hotels on Cape Cod are older. Our room was clean and I got a good nights sleep. My only complaint is, the bathroom vanity area is very small making it more difficult to get ready when sharing the room with another person.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    45
    17
    26
See reviews for
63
48
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and had a decent size. However, the refrigerator in the room was working so loudly, woke me up 5 times before I unplugged it which takes 15 minutes. You can easily hear people talking in the other rooms, closing their doors and even walking. There was no extra blanket in the room. They were so cheap about breakfast, even they couldn't purchase real orange juice e.g. Florida. The lady in the front desk was unnecessarily angry. Considering all these things, it was highly overpriced, you can find a better place with this rate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed over labor day weekend. The room was clean, the hotel was well maintained, and in general seemed to be well managed. Free continental breakfast included waffles, cereals, coffee, juice, etc was a nice extra. Restaurant within walking distance. It was fine for the $$ -- would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When my husband and I first walked into our room, we both gasped and were overwhelmed by a terrible odor. We were running late and needed to change in our room quickly. We only spent a couple minutes in the room, but the odor remained overpowering. The room smelled like sewage! The bathroom sink had toothpaste stains, the bathtub was stained with a black ring and the toilet was not flushed...if you know what I mean?! We gathered all of our belongings and headed out the door. We called the front desk from the car and asked if they could move us to another room because the odor was so foul. The woman who answered the phone was incredibly rude and couldn't understand what I was saying. When I told her that we wanted to change the room due to the smell, she replied, "Well, no one else is complaining." Seriously! I told her to go down and smell it herself and requested again, to change rooms. She then said, "We are completely booked, as you can see, we are a popular hotel. We don't have another room available." She offered no apology or offer to check the room. That's when I lost it. She finally admitted that they had one king-size room available, but it had no windows. (If you read the other reviews, you will hear about the room with no windows). We told her to hold it for us, just in case. We then tried to find another hotel in the area, but everything was booked up. Also, because there were other wedding guests staying there, my friend arranged for a shuttle to bring us to the reception. When we checked back at the desk to inquire about the shuttle, the same woman said that she didn't know anything about it. (Later we found out that there WAS a shuttle?!!) Argh! After the ceremony, we ran back to the hotel to check out the room with no windows. We went from sewage to mildew. But, unfortunately, we were stuck. We checked the bed and the bathroom and the room seemed to be recently cleaned. Thankfully, we were spending only one night. Early the next morning (5:30-6:00), we heard slamming doors and loud voices outside the room with no windows. I heard someone approaching our room and then I heard the same woman's voice, say "No! someone is in there". The couple, who I assume were the proprietors, argued outside our door. I couldn't understand what they were saying, but I got the sense that the man was not happy that we were in there. This was a very disappointing and poorly run facility, with sub-par customer service.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room with no windows and the rooms that allow dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrived late on Friday night and got up for an early Nantucket ferry. Came back on late Nantucket ferry and checked out first thing next morning. It seems like an older hotel that has been refurbished a bit. Carpets, bedding, etc were newer. Wood furniture was new. Walls had old wallpaper and bathroom was old and tiny. Seemed clean. Room had an antiseptic smell. My room had a window that looked out onto hallway, which made it a little odd. Chose the hotel for the price and last-minute availability. If I do the same itinerary again, I'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed two nights recently, and mostly agree with TSal1: you get what you pay for. Our stay was fine; we've stayed there before and had no surprises this time (maybe because we're not 'high maintenance'). Management was friendly, room cleaned ok, bathroom good size, air conditioner noisy (we decided to ignore the noise rather than ask to switch rooms), no great TV service-but you should be at the beach anyway. Breakfast was adequate for the price, if it's not crowded, as ours was so we went elsewhere. Indoor pool got a lot of use and kids liked to use it; outdoor pool was used too, and people seemed to be okay with all that.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms on the south side are quieter, but frankly we did no have any problem with outside noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I recently stayed at this property for a vacation in cape it had nice and clean modern rooms with good decent breakfast. The most important thing was its customer service I checked in late night during a heavy rain storm and I was greeted by its owner who was friendly and professional so as the other staff . I will recommend this property to everyone while visiting Hyannis area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn and Suites

Address: 1314 Main St., Route # 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA approved & very conveniently located near the airport in South Yarmouth, Ambassador Inn & Suites is close to West Dennis Beach, Bass River Lighthouse, and Pirate's Cove Mini Golf. Also nearby is Seagull Beach. Ambassador Inn & Suites has an indoor pool, a spa tub, a sauna, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Business amenities at this 3.0-star property include a 24-hour business center, small meeting rooms, and business services. Guests are served a Deluxe complimentary breakfast each morning. Guest parking is complimentary. Event space measures 800 square feet. Additional amenities include an arcade/game room, multilingual staff, and coffee in the lobby. Guestrooms. Ambassador Inn & Suites has 85 guestrooms. 27-inch televisions are equipped with premium satellite channels, free movie channels, and DVD players. Guestrooms provide complimentary wireless Internet access, direct-dial phones, complimentary weekday newspapers, and free local calls. Beds have down comforters. Guestrooms feature refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include climate control, air conditioning, and desks. In addition, amenities available on request include extra towels/bedding and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered. Rollaway beds are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel South Yarmouth
Ambassador Inn And Suites Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.