We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in a lovely, quiet setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   308 Old Main Street, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Western Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in a lovely, quiet setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Captain Farris Room where we had our own sitting room with comfortable sofa. The water pressure in our spacious bathroom was great and the shower was one of the best I've ever had. Breakfast was outstanding and there was always a selection of snacks in the casual dining area off the kitchen, including apples, homemade cookies, individual snack-size bags of chips, and hot tea. The staff was very helpful and eager to please and encouraged us to help ourselves to beverages in the main kitchen at any hour of the day or night. The Inn was quiet and I appreciated that the staff was not overly chatty. They had their work to do and we had ours...which was to simply relax, and the Captain Farris Inn was perfect for that!

Room Tip: The public library next door is a plus. South Yarmouth is not a particularly "happening" p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review of us and for your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our breakfast. We do our best to create a quiet relaxing and romantic atmosphere for our guests. We hope to see you again sometime.
Best,
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
141
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My favorite place to stay on Cape Cod! Impeccably clean, great breakfasts, professional and yet very friendly and personable staff, the most comfortable beds, close to other areas of the Cape including beaches and restaurants. This is the only B&B I will stay at, I highly recommend it to anyone going to the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Marie & George, thank you so much for another wonderful review of us...we thank you for your kind words. We value and appreciate all of our repeat guests and it is always so nice to see your smiling faces walk through our door! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Best,
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I cannot say enough about this place -- it is truly amazing! The innkeepers are kind, friendly and attentive, and the inn itself is both beautiful and charming. A Cape Cod gem for sure! Will be returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you Nicole and Will for your kind review. It is always so nice to see your smiling faces walk through our door each year. We look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Best,
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and just celebrated another delightful anniversary weekend at the captain Farris House. The breakfast is consistently delicious and the portion hearty. Our room was neatly decorated complete with a jacuzzi tub. We enjoyed our nightly walks to the Bass River beach and bridge. You've never failed us Captain Farris! Thank you for helping us celebrate our 11th anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Captain Farris House for the second time for a weekend away from the kids. We were again treated like royalty. The rooms were spotless and beds the most comfortable we've ever slept in, didn't want to leave. The inn keepers were gracious and informative. The breakfast 5 stars to say the least, the presentation was beautiful. I notified the innkeeper of a dietary restriction and they were happy to alter my meal accordingly. I can't wait for our next weekend away, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Donna and Paul thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of us and for your very kind words. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us in August. We were happy to hear you had an enjoyable time and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
And again, thank you for choosing the Captain Farris House.
Best,
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I had a memorable weekend at the Captain Farris House. The staff were not just friendly they were actively welcoming us at all times. The room was spotless and charming. The breakfasts were amazing! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay this past August. It was my pleasure to personally meet you and we hope to see you back next August!
Nancy (& Michael)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in Captain Farris house for 5 nights in July 2013. I think anyone would be hard pressed to find a better equipped bed and breakfast. The facilities were first class. There were other aspects of our stay however which we did not enjoy or appreciate and which would put us off either recommending the place or staying there again - which is a shame.

The breakfasts are totally over the top and a recipe for obesity/diabetes. In fairness we had seen some of the photos before booking but we assumed that as well as flans/quiches/etc etc you would be able to enjoy a simple breakfast of fruit, yoghurt or cereal or even a plain egg but no - there was no choice in the matter. I can imagine that if she replies to this review - the owner - who we didn't meet will say - anything could have been provided. To this I would say we did try - as tactfully as possible - to rein in Howard & Linda but they didn't want to listen. Moreover they encouraged us to photograph the breakfasts and waited until we did so! In fact we were glad to do this as we didn't think anyone in the UK would believe some of the combinations eg bacon and fresh cream.

Howard and Linda were professional innkeepers from Colorado doing a summer stint in Cape Cod which to us took a lot of the "soul" out of the experience. A lot of the pleasure of staying in a B & B is that you are in someone's home and as a local they know the area etc. Howard and Linda were keen to advise but they only knew what they had experienced in their limited stays in the area and I'm very sad to say we didn't find them charming. For example, I had very bad conjunctivitis when we stayed. While Linda helpfully directed us to an emergency treatment room it didn't make me feel better when Howard constantly commented on the state of my eyes eg "Gee you're eyes are pink - you look like a rabbit".

In conclusion 10/10 for the house and facilities, but a simpler breakfast choice would have been appreciated and we didn't enjoy the hosts "humour". I suspect Howard felt we enjoyed his "kidding" but unfortunately we didn't.

Room Tip: Our room had an extremely noisy window mounted old style air conditioning unit - I'm not sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
First we want to thank you for taking the time to write your review of us and for your kind words regarding the house. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and all the amenities that we offer. However, it is very disheartening for us to hear of the unprofessional behavior of our interim innkeepers. We hired Howard and Lynda Lerner of InnCaring, a professional interim innkeeper team, to run the day to day operations of our bed and breakfast for a few months while we were unable to be here on a daily basis. In general, our guests seemed to enjoy them during their short time here. We do receive constant rave reviews on our breakfast, and cold cereal, oatmeal, toast, eggs, etc. are always available for anyone that does not wish to have our full breakfast. We are surprised and sincerely sorry to hear about your unusual breakfast experience and honestly, we are at loss for words! We can't explain why Lynda or Howard did not fix you a breakfast to your liking, or why you were asked to take a photo. We can only offer our sincere apologies and say this is not something that will ever happen again. Also, we want to say that Howard is truly a kind man and while we do absolutely agree his joking remarks to you were insensitive and unprofessional, we are sure he felt he was just being funny and he didn't intend to make you feel bad or offend you in any way, and once again, we offer our sincere apologies on his behalf. Going forward we want our future guests to know that we are back to business as usual and these interim innkeepers are no longer with us. As for the loud air conditioner, we wish that you had told someone about that as we stock new air condtioners, and whenever one is broken or causes any problem at all, a new one is immediately installed. We want to thank you for choosing the Captain Farris House for your Cape Cod Lodging. We appreciate and value each and every guest that walks through our door. As you and our future guests can see from other reviews, we operate our business with passion and pride and we do our best to make every guest's stay special. We hope that if you are back to the United States and on Cape Cod sometime, you will give us a chance to make up for your past experience.
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 308 Old Main Street, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and romantic bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth, just one mile from the beach. The Captain Farris House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Beautifully restored and furnished with antiques and elegant window treatments reflecting a peacefulness of an earlier time, each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable with private baths. Each morning enjoy our seasonal breakfast served at your own table for two. As evening draws near, relax with a complimentary cordial in the elegant parlor. Close to many beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, dining, shopping and many area attractions. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.