We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Farris House Cape Cod

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Farris House Cape Cod to your Saves list
Captain Farris House Cape Cod
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   308 Old Main Street, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 February/March!
Pelham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Romantic Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I spent our first anniversary last year at the Captain Farris House and I have already booked it again for this years. We stayed in Aunti Liddy's room the first time and now I have booked Russels Hideaway. The hospitality was wonderful, as was breakfast. My favorite was the banana muffins! The rooms were extremely clean and the overall atmosphere was lovely. After a day of exploring the cape you can come back to the hotel and eat one of the yummy cookies that were baked for a snack! The yard is beautiful and there are plenty of chairs to sit and relax in while enjoying the day. The innkeepers were so friendly. We even got to meet their dogs one day who were adorable and caused no trouble or noise for us at all. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a relaxing and romantic stay on the Cape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so happy to hear we will be seeing you again! We will be sure to include banana muffins in our menu during your stay. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review of us. We look forward to seeing you in August.
Best,
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
132
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Captain Farris exceeded our expectations! We found it on line and were somewhat skeptical, and hoped it was as nice as it showed. We arrived and Nancy greeted us and showed us our room, it was immaculate, and the bed and sheets were so comfortable. (We bought a set of the sheets to bring home!) The two person jetted tub was FABULOUS, and much needed after an endless Cape Cod winter! (We live about 30 minutes away, and wish we had come here sooner). We both felt so relaxed and at ease, Nancy couldn't do enough to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. We would highly recommend the Captain Farris House for a get-a-way or vacation. The breakfast was wonderful a tomato basil frittata served with fresh fruit all arranged beautifully on fine china. Be sure to book your visit soon,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review of us. Your kind words are certainly appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best,
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the Davis Room in the middle of moving in August 2012. It was the ideal relaxation we were looking for.

Everything about the Davis Room was phenomenal. The linens were to die for, the bed was comfortable, the room was large, the bathroom was perfect with a beautiful deep jetted bathtub. We were concerned that the Davis Room was right off one of the dining areas, so we were concerned with noise--we were not bothered at all. The same dining area had homemade cookies (to die for!), coffee, and tea available 24/7.

The B&B is prepared with beach towels and beach umbrellas for guests, along with beach and beach parking recommendations. It really isn't close enough to walk. We were more than prepared for the beach, thanks to innkeepers Howard and Lynda. One morning my husband commented how much he loved the lemon poppyseed muffins and Howard sent us to the beach with a bag of muffins--how nice!

The breakfasts were very sweet, which isn't what I typically enjoy, BUT with that being said, it was very well done and enjoyable. Holidays weren't meant to be granola! We had creme brulee french toast and other delicacies from the kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed each breakfast, and the young waiters and waitresses that were brought in were so sweet and doting on each table. Howard and Lynda kept the kitchen running, but still found time to chat with the guests, offer restaurant recommendations, and answer any questions or needs. They steered us to the best lobster rolls we've ever found! They asked about our dog who was in a nearby daycare daily and told us he was welcome to stop by for a visit, which we didn't do but thought was so nice of them.

Every evening we had a glass of sherry and played chess in the front parlor before bed. Not a way we as a young couple had ever spent our evenings, but so enjoyable and relaxing! We were a bit concerned that everyone would be retired, but we met lots of nice people of all ages, including another young couple our age that we are still in contact with. Lynda always got us reservations for the restaurant we wanted, even when we weren't personally able to.

We were very impressed. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are luxurious. If parking is an issue for you (it was for us), the parking lot is large and has more than enough room for all the guests. It is the perfect romantic getaway.

*The B&B also offers a military discount.

Room Tip: The guests were all discussing the various rooms and there was no one who did not love their room--t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review of us, and for all your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My mother and I decided to visit the New England area for the first time. When planning our trip, I spent a lot of time reading and researching to find good places to stay. My mom had never stayed at a B&B. The Captain Farris House was our first stop. After staying here two nights, it was hard for the other places on our trip to come even close. We stayed in one of the suites upstairs. The room was lovely and comfortable. Our hosts were helpful but let us do our own thing. The extras (sodas, coffee, tea, cookies, water, fruit and evening cordial) made it feel like home. The bedding made for a great night's sleep. The breakfasts were great. Try their hot chocolate - yummy! Even trying to think of a negative, I can't. South Yarmouth is a pretty little town and not overly touristy at all. If you want to stay "mid-Cape" this property would be a great choice.

Room Tip: The Irma Farris Suite was very nice. It is upstairs, on the corner and faces the front yard. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for taking time out of your busy day to write your review of us. Our guests are enjoying our new linens and we are glad you enjoyed them as well. We hope that you will come back to Cape Cod's Yarmouth area and stay with us again soon.
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

What can I say about Captain Farris House that has not already been said. My wife and I have travelled extensively through the New England Area of the US and this is the best guest house we have ever stayed in. You would be mad if you stay anywhere else in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime!
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

As soon as we arrived at the Captain Farris House we knew we had found ' a little gem'. Nancy was so welcoming and knowledgeable and immediately made us a dinner reservation for that evening as my husband wanted to stay local after our long drive from Vermont. The location of this B & B is perfect as you are not too far from any of the other great places you might want to visit in Cape Cod. We stayed in the Reubens room which had a lovely private porch to sit and watch the squirrels in the garden. Each morning the breakfast was amazing and it was a lovely touch having access to the kitchen for milk, soda etc.
Thank-you Nancy for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review of us. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything!
Nancy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first ever B&B experience and I have to say we were more than satisfied with it. I must say this is the only place I'd ever stay in when visiting the Cape Cod area. We felt right at home here. The breakfasts were amazing, and the to-go bag the last day was great as well since we had to travel early to get home. The treats each day were a nice touch (cookies, brownies, coffee, tea, sodas, cherry/port wine). Each time we returned from our day's adventures, it was like coming home to even more comfort than even an everyday hotel could provide. We stayed in Aunt Liddy's room which made us feel like we were living in our own little apartment. It was a very nice room that came with a semi-private deck and a jacuzzi tub. We loved it but will definitely look to try other rooms in the future since our first experience made us curious about other rooms as well. All in all, it was a great experience and don't think it's just for elderly folks as my boyfriend and I, both in our mid-20's loved it there. We're city kids at heart, but can't wait for our next trip back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Cape Cod, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review of us. We have many young couples stay with us and we always enjoy having them and reading their reviews of us. We are glad you felt at home and enjoyed your room and our breakfasts. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Farris House Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Cape Cod

Address: 308 Old Main Street, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Cape Cod 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and romantic bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth, just one mile from the beach. The Captain Farris House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Beautifully restored and furnished with antiques and elegant window treatments reflecting a peacefulness of an earlier time, each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable with private baths. Each morning enjoy our seasonal breakfast served at your own table for two. As evening draws near, relax with a complimentary cordial in the elegant parlor. Close to many beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, dining, shopping and many area attractions. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Captain Farris House Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Cape Cod South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Farris House Cape Cod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.