We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My secret hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Rock Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Rock Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Rock Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   39 Todd Rd, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
Somewhere in the middle of nowhere in Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My secret hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Since many many years Iam there to relax and to play golf sometimes. It is the atmosphere, mostly created by Jessica, Kathy and Kevin, the friendliest bartender I ever met and the only bartender I know who has his own Fan club, but all the others are also nice up to very nice. Try the Blue Rock and enjoy a memorable Stay. Find Out the gift that they bring you. George from Germany

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello George from Germany

I passed around your review of your last stay with us and we where all very proud of our whole team. Jessica, Kathy, and Kevin wanted to personally thank you for naming them personally. We always enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit to Blue Rock. We all thank you for the terrific review.

Thanks from your friends at Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    28
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Anne & I have played many rounds at Blue Rock & truly enjoy this wonderfully maintained facility.

Pat, the pro, is friendly & a great teacher. Get on his email list for tips.

While the golf is great, the secret is the restaurant on the premises. The real deal is a round of golf with a free lunch; and the food is great! The lunch is free except for booze & the lobster salad is extra. But here's the real deal---Once you pay for 18 holes, you can play all day!

Play all day & get a free lunch.

Come on!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I take a group of 16-20 golfers to the Blue Rock Resort every Sept and once again had a great weekend. We have been doing this trip for over 30 years and always look forward to it. The golf,rooms and restaurant were excellent as always. We enjoy a great breakfast and golf each day and then we gather around the pool for a relaxing afternoon. The course was in the best shape anyone can remember so congrats to the staff's hard work.
Jessica and the rest of the staff at the hotel are always top notch which makes it easy for us to come back every year.
Thanks, George

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Blue Rock Golf Resort which is part of the Red Jacket resorts. I've been to the Cape many times but never knew about this place. It boasts the 3rd best par 3 golf course in the country- and even though we didn't play golf, we enjoyed the atmosphere and gorgeous grounds. The people were super friendly and attentive to your needs. They have a lovely lounge where the bar tender knows everyone's name... and serve a delicious breakfast. We didn't use them for lunch but the menu looked wonderful.
Our room was super clean and comfortable. The hotel is older style but well kept and you get full use of 3 other facilities on the oceanfront closeby.
The Cape was quiet and the warm fall days afforded us ample time to visit nearby lighthouses and beaches.
We actually won the 2 nights free stay from a time share seminar and we very happy with the vacation stay.
This hotel was off the beaten path of busy 6a or 28 - but very closeby to everything.
They do have golf packages for those who like to play.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor which was large and had windows on both sides... and balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello ChristineMS

Glad to see that you enjoyed your visit to the Cape and thanks for taking the time in writing this review. I have passed your TripAdvisor response on to the whole staff and they thank you for the kind words. Our bartender Kevin is well known for remembering our guests and came right off the set of Cheers. Thanks for choosing Blue Rock and we hope you visit us again on your next trip to the Cape.

Thanks Team Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from four days at Blue Rock Golf Resort. We selected it for its central location to all the places we wanted to see...and each day drove to another place...getting a good sampling of all things "Cape Cod".
We had viewed the photos and were not expecting a luxury hotel. We were not disappointed because it was just as photographed...clean, a little dated...and staffed by great people.

Staff was incredibly helpful at check in or whenever we needed help.
One morning we saw the manager chasing an errant beach ball for a lady as it blew across the green front lawn...his coat tails flying out behind him as he ran. Nice gesture...

Room was immaculate...with loads of fresh towels every day.

Food is basic: "I'm a golfer"...no yogurt or granola...but then again...they cater to Golfers .
Service was attentive...and then did have fresh fruit and fixed my eggs just the way I like them.
Of the Restaurants they recommended...Captain Parkers...was so good we went there twice. Be sure to try the Award Winning Clam Chowder.

You do not have to play golf to stay here...just come for the lovely greenery, flowers, great location ....and the best value...$150 per night on Expedia.

Room Tip: After reading comments from on Trip Advisor, we asked at check-in for an updated room...upstairs...a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello SummerwindNC

The staffs enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the great write up. With many guests visiting it's great to hear back on what they enjoyed and impressed them. I'm glad to see that you where able to enjoy the Cape and was able to get out and sight see. Capt. Parkers is a favorite to all of us. The Chef and restaurant team where happy to hear you enjoyed your meals with us. We hope that you visit the Cape again next season and hopefully choose us as your hotel.

From your friends at Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and it was a big disappointment. I thought as a sister resort of the Red Jacket properties it would be nice, but the property is outdated and needs some help! I must note, however, that the customer service here is great. I was able to check in early and even got my room changed with no hesitation from the staff (I was assigned the infamous poop room [see a traveler's review from July 2012] and didn't want to take any chances).

So, I got a "renovated" room by the pool but it didn't look that updated to me. The wallpaper was peeling, the screen to the patio door was ripped, and the curtains were dirty from squished bugs. The entire room was infested with carpet beetles. Squished bugs could be seen on the walls and ceiling. Not sure why the cleaning people didn't bother to do a better job of cleaning this.

The property where the hotel itself is is beautiful but it is removed from nearby restaurants/shopping. Not a huge deal if you don't mind the drive, but still, it's a drive. The best advantage is you have free access to the sister resorts, so we did spend some time at the private beaches which was nice.

I would have given this hotel an "average" rating but the beetle infestation really got to me. Get an exterminator!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hello voxine

We at Blue Rock apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. I am a little taken back on your review of our newly renovated rooms as we have received such positive feedback. For the bugs, here on the Cape is a constant battle. Having screen doors going out to patio's and exterior entrances do give us a tough time. I thank you for your positive remarks about our team and have passed them along. I hope you visit the Cape again and give us another chance. If you ever have any issues please let us know during your stay as we are better able to rectify your negative situation.

Thanks Team Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in mid-August. Rate exceeded $200 on weekend. Room smelled like mildew, probably due to no exhaust fan in bathroom. Room hasn't been updated since 80's - single, formica sink in bathroom, dirty carpet, dirty bathroom, and thick dust on many surfaces. Doubt rooms are ever given a deep cleaning. Sheets and towels o.k. but did not replenish toiletries until 4th day including the soap bars! Old t.v., no in-room movies. Restaurant had limited menu but food good and service very good. No dinner and no room service. Atmosphere also shabby. I agree with earlier review that this isn't a resort - it is a par 3 golf course with a very dated motel. Use of sister property beaches inconvenient. Office staff very nice and helpful. Grounds beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hello susanburner

We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not up to par. I read that your room cleanliness was below expectations and wish you had notified us during your stay as we could of rectified the situation. I also saw that you where able to take advantage of our oceanfront properties but found the 3 mile commute a little too much. We have been currently updating our guest rooms and have not completed the project as of yet. I do thank you for your kind words about our office staff and will pass your review on.

Thanks Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Rock Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rock Golf Resort

Address: 39 Todd Rd, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Rock Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winner among Cape Cod golf resorts. Rated one of the "Top Places to Play" by Golf Digest, Blue Rock Golf Resort boasts its own meticulously maintained par-3 golf course. This secluded resort features 44 comfortable rooms, suites and Club House apartment overlooking gardens and scenic greens. Great choice for families with young children and couples looking for the serenity Cape Cod has to offer. After a full day of sightseeing and activities, the peaceful charm of our Cape Cod golf resort is the perfect place to relax. Discover why golfers - and overnight guests - return time and time again to this lovely setting. Affiliation with 3 nearby beach front resorts with free access to beach, indoor & outdoor heated pools, spa, live entertainment and season nighttime family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Blue Rock Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Rock Golf Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Rock Golf Resort Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Rock Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.