We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Water on the Ocean to your Saves list
Blue Water on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The facilities are clean and the beach is nice but - overall - I would have expected more modern facilities. Also, for the price I paid, I was a little disappointed in the "motel-like" feeling I got.
Still, the room was clean and spacious, the parking free and abundant and I didn't spend much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at Blue Water. The resort has had some recent upgrades to rooms, the lobby the dining room and grounds. We also added new interiors to 8 ocean front rooms and many of our Edge of Sea units. We will contIinue this winter with additional upgrades and renovations. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly courteous staff and our white sandy private beach. We hope to see you back at one of the seven Red Jacket Resorts here on Cape Cod and in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
59
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Solid resort at reasonable prices and with the beach, indoor and outdoor pools it's very kid friendly. The resort is clean, has a nice outdoor bar/snack bar which is nice and the beach is in good condition. There is one woman at the front desk who could have been a little nicer, but it's a good place that I would come back to and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your review of your experience. Our staff and management strive daily to exceed every expectation you have. We also pay close attention to these reviews and use them to train our team for improvements. Hope to see you back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts on Cape Cod or in the White Mountains of New Hampshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful beach resort in the Cape that makes you never want to go home! I was recently at the Blue Water with a group of 34 people. Not only did the hotel staff accommodate us as a group, but individually everyone there was helpful, friendly, and looking to make our stay unforgettable! The beach is just steps away from your room and private! The outdoor pool was refreshing and in the perfect location right next to the beach - for those of us that saw JAWS too many times, we could cool off there. The outdoor bar felt like I was on vacation in the Caribbean! Also, indoor pool and jacuzzi were great for cloudy days or just when you wanted to hide from the sun. We had a banquet dinner there as well and EVERYONE in my group thought the food was AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! It just so happened the Bruins were playing game 1 of the semifinals and since everyone wanted to watch it, the hotel set up a projector and displayed the game on the side of the hotel so everyone could sit outside next to the beach or at the outdoor bar and watch the Bruins win! I haven't experienced a hotel go above and beyond for their guest like that ever!
Hotel was located right off a main road with TONS around it to do - mini golf - AWESOME Pirate's Cove Mini Golf (one of the largest/best courses), shopping, restaurants, grocery stores, go carts and sooo much more! If you want a true Cape Cod experience, then stay at the Blue Water Resort - we are DEFINITELY coming back again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room - we stayed in room 204 and loved it - great view, ocean breeze and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you and your group for staying with us and it was our pleasure to serve you . The resort is well suited for families and groups of up to 75 people. The staff and management strive daily to provide friendly professional service , well appointed very clean rooms and a great selection of food and beverage offerings. Please come back again as a group or with your family and thank you from each and every one of us here at Blue Water-Riviera Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had an oceanfront room for a recent 4 night stay in mid-May. Rooms were of average size, flat screen TV and small fridge. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Room was literally just steps to the beach. But there seem to be very few that face the ocean, most of the property is laid out so you'd have a limited "side-view" of the water, if at all. They have a restaurant in the basement of the building. Had breakfast there once - fairly high priced for the convenience and certainly nothing special. Did not try dinner as we weren't there on the weekend, which at this time of year is the only time the restaurant operates for dinner. A very nice indoor and outdoor pool, if you are so inclined. Overall a nice spot, if you can get a room close to the water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
The staff and management thank you very much for staying with us. We strive daily to offer numerous activities as well as a white sandy private beach. The resort has various room types for individuals, couples, families and groups. Please when you come again do not miss our oceanfront bar and grill and beach parties on tuesday and thursday evenings starting in late June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location and resort. Staff was young and friendly. Especially enjoyed Kids Camp staff, who supervised activities each morning. Lots of activities planned every day to enjoy (or ignore). Jet skis and parasailing available on the beach in front of hotel. Staff helped facilitating sunbathing on beach, but I had to ask them. Indoor and outdoor pools were often crowded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We thank you and your family for choosing our ocean front resort year after year. This year we have added new upgrades to our indoor pool area, 15 rooms have also received substantial remodeling and our restaurant also will have new menus and interior finshes as well! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were given a room at the side nr the entrance with no balcony/view or patio area.

No one showed round the resort and when we needed the laundry room we couldnt find it and had to go back and ask someone to show it to us. Room was basic. rooms were not cleaned or towels replaced we had to go and get some spares from the beach area.

When we mentioned it to reception we had an apology that the room was not due to be cleaned but towels should have been replaced. We have been travelling new york and new england for three weeks and this was the place with no daily cleaning. We didnt have breakfast no one showed the room to us or gave us any times. Very poor all round. Beach area looked nice but we saw no staff during early evening, apparantly the bar was closed due to a private function when we were there. Luckily we spent our days out visiting the area so didnt have to endure this all day. would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are certainly looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First trip to the Cape. Hotel does need some updating. Found rooms clean/comfortable. Easy walk to beach. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Already thinking of returning next summer.
Geart resort for familes and our grandkids.
Try The Skipper less than a couple of miles away. FOOD OURSTANDING.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
The title of your review reflects a message we would like all our potential new guests to hear and share. The Red Jacket Resorts have beautiful locations and our management and staff strive daily to offer a tremendous resort experience while you are here. The activities for all ages is something we take very seriously and we are proud to offer. Please come back soon and tell your friends to visit any one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts. Thank you for your recent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views, including Jacuzzi and pet friendly accommodations. Offering food and beverage services in the dining oom and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beachside Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, jet ski rentals and banana boat rides, basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.