We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Water on the Ocean to your Saves list
Blue Water on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very nice vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, a family of 4. We had an oceanfront room with a small kitchenette. The room was probably recently renovated, large and super clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We didn’t like our assigned room and the lady at the desk came with us to show us other rooms with a smile. The beach is very nice; the water was surprisingly warm but no waves. Very important: the beach towels, chairs and umbrellas are supplied by the hotel, free of charge. It is family oriented, lot of kids. Activities such as beach parties, sand castle competitions, but not too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us in July. We strive daily to provide a very clean well kept property packed with great food and beverage options and a host of fun activities you can choose to be a part of. Our beach and pools and friendly staff are keys to your enjoyment. Please visit us again soon. Thank you for the review and the continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    19
    15
    4
See reviews for
59
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place was the best place so far Ive stayed at the Cape. I ran into reservation problems and AnneMarie Bridges(Room Manager) and Bruna,also Ryan were so helpful and accomidating. They were so friendly,nice,always in a good mood and made my family vacation the best one ever. I will always go back to Blue Water and Ive told all my friends and family how great the place is and the people that work there. Thank you AnneMarie,Bruna and Brian for making this the best vacation yet. See you soon! We will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your vote of confidence in our resorts and staff and the many activites we offer to our guests both day and night. The staff strives to be freindly, helpful, professional and create lasting positive memories of Red Jackets Resorts.Our hope is we will see you back visiting Cape Cod or the mountains of New Hampshire real soon. Enjoy the remainder of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was my first time in Cape Cod and I found the area and the hotel to be nice. I am always very appreciative of properties that accept animals. The pet-friendly rooms are without a view at the front of the property -- it would've been nice to have an oceanfront room. However, it was a very short walk to get to get to the beach which was clean and not crowded. The water was very clear. The food on the premises is fine if you don't feel like venturing into the town.

The hotel had a lot of activities while we were there from fireworks on July 4th (you could see fireworks up and down the coastline which was lovely), a band playing on the beach and a movie night outdoors.

I would visit this location again. As a side note, I found the wi-fi service to be very spotty and the parking lot is very tiny/spaces narrow for all the SUVs that park there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and being here during a very busy 4th of July holiday. It is our pleasure to offer a host of activities including our wonderful Kids Klub. The staff and management team strive to provide a memorable stay while on our property. Thank you for your comments and continued support. We do hope to see you back in the near future either here on Cape Cod or up in The White Mountains of New Hampshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revere,Mass
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and i stayed at the Blue Water from July 8 thru the 14th it was a wonderful vacation we styed in the patio area with a kitchen room plenty of room for the family. They allow you to use there charcoal grills there which is a huge savings when you have a large family to feed. We also had a bunch of friends there stay in the same area and also met more people there that want to come back with us next year. It was a great vacation awesome beach great pool and a great manager named Christine she was so accomadating and her staff is great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with your family. As you know we specialize in catering to families on vacation and offer many ammenities and activities that cater to fun, water related activites. Our pools are clean and refreshing and our white sandy beach is second to none. We certainly hope to see you back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First I found the front desk with poor customer service - no smiles, no polite conversations nothing inviting. I was checking back through our stay on availability for my parents to join us during our stay and saw quite a few unhappy guests. The resort rooms need some updating - our room was very small and not all look like the website standard property view room like I thought we were getting. Our standard room had no sitting area and again was small. The rooms are non-smoking however the guests beside our room who were outside quite a bit smoked. Their chairs were right next to our room so felt like we were rushing and trying to dodge the smoke and our room smelling like smoke since the wind blew it our direction. The towels are thin and small - ask for extra. However, our room was very convenient to the pool and beach!

One day decided to eat lunch at the Grille for convenience - ordered 2 lobster rolls. They tastied awful like old lobster or old fish!! I mentioned this to the girl working at the register as I walked by throwing the full lobster rolls away and she said "sorry". A guy (thought to be the manager/supervisor - saw him when ordering) asked" what did she say?" She told him and he said "hmmm". I was shocked that they said and did NOTHING!!! That awful taste we had all afternoon and was reluctant to order another lobster roll somewhere else! But love our lobstar! =) That night for dinner ordered only one roll took a bite then ordered another! We talked to the guests next door from our room and he said breakfast was awful and we told him not order the lobster roll but chicken nuggets were fine.

On positive note - resort on the beach, plenty of chairs, umbrellas and space! Great program for kids! If you have kids take them next door to Rivera to their pool more suited for younger kids. The bar at the pool is very convenient - we did not use it but it was very busy!

When checking out the clerk never asked about our stay! Small side note - we were celebrating our anniversary and wrote this in our reservations and mentioned to the clerk when checking in and nothing..no basket of fruit or even happy wishes! Last year stayed at Red Jacket Beach and they sent champagne, fruit and cheese basket - very sweet and a great touch!

Room Tip: Get a larger room for more space - request sitting area room if doing a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We appreciate your review and are very sorry for your recent experience at Blue Water-Riviera Beach. Happy Anniversary John Verity the General Manager will contact you and invite you back and make every attempt to show you and your family how hard we work to make sure your stay is a memorable and enjoyable one. We are committed to providing you with an outstanding visit at our resort. Thank you for choosing to stay at Red Jacket Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Must have for a beach hotel, waterfront, beachfront, pool-both inside and outside but most importantly, cleanliness. Stayed at the Blue Water this weekend and must say that the room was immaculate. Not the fanciest place but very clean. Liked that it had the indoor and outdoor pools, loved the location, nice beach with dunes. Had a great ocean view, though the air conditioners kind of take away from that. As far as customer service, I must compliment the staff, every single person from the front desk, bartender, maid and beach attendants were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Everyone was pleasant, nice and polite. It was actually noticeable, not just an afterthought. Not the Ritz but really pleasant beach hotel, clean, well maintained grounds. Great trip! Thanks Red Jacket-knew I could count on this hotel as we have stayed at the one in North Conway too.

Room Tip: Stayed in a first floor room which was convenient to pool and beach, nice oceanview to wake up to in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Blue Water-Riviera Beach. It is our pleasure to have you here to enjoy the private beach, clean comfortable accommodations and picture perfect grounds. The staff and manager's strive each and everyday to be warm, polite and very friendly to all our guests. The ocean and private beach add to a wonderful and peaceful vacation. The properties have been here for sometime and we do everything in our power to keep them modern, clean, efficient and comfortable for all our guests to enjoy. We appreciate your continued support and we welcome you back again in the 2012 summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Another wonderful family reunion ! This was our 8th consecutive year visiting the Blue Water Resort - 35 of us from various parts of the northeast. Christine and her staff go out of their way to welcome us back each year. The location is perfect for relaxation or activities on the beach. We have our rooms booked for 2013

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
It is our pleasure to continue to have your family re-unions here at Blue Water-Riviera Beach. The entire team focus daily on keeping our resort in tip top shape and offering very clean and comfortable accommodations to all our guests. Group business, family reunions and family vacations are the areas we specialize in and we are happy you will return again in 2013. Thank you for your continued support and we also thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay here. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views, including Jacuzzi and pet friendly accommodations. Offering food and beverage services in the dining oom and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beachside Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, jet ski rentals and banana boat rides, basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.