We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very obliging people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunes Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Dunes Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Sherbrooke, QC
1 review
“very obliging people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We have just returned from a week at ''The Dunes'' Cape Cod.
We were 4 adults with a bed for each one of us.
We rented the only appartment of the complex.
Clean with good room service.Every morning continental breakfast.
The pool is very well maintained, clean with lots of chairs.
5 Minutes from the beach by foot.
We loved our stay

Pierrette from Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Well as reported previously, the Inn has changed hands, but we found no problems with our original booking or what we found there. The staff on reception and at breakfast time were more than helpful. We arrived the day after Labor day for two nights - what a great time to go ! Price for rooms were around $75pn, empty roads and glorious weather. Rooms, yes although a bit tired, were clean. Breakfast consisted of hot drinks, juice, pastries, bread and bagels - as much as you wanted, nothing seemed to much trouble. Paper stands and cold drinks dispencers were also located just outside reception. Plenty of places to dine out on the main Highway 28, a mile from the Inn. The coast was less than 5 minutes by foot, we strolled along the shoreline for about an hour, doubling back along the access road to all the wonderfull properties. - yes there are areas of 'private' beaches, but we just walked straight thru' onto the next public area - nobody stopped us. No hesitation in recommending anyone to stay over at the Inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no tea/coffee in room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

When my family traveled to Cape Cod for the first time, we neglected to make reservations and almost ended up sleeping in our cars. After driving hopelessly from town to town, someone gave us the number for the cape cod chamber of commerce. They recommended The Dunes, and we were reluctant to stay there. The term "motor inn" doesn't exactly sound inticing. When we arrived there, we got one of the last available rooms. Parking was cramped, and we had to park one of our cars down the street. The staff was very friendly. The girl who checked us in was very helpful and recommended a great restaurant for dinner that night. We had requested a cot over the phone, but there wasn't one there when we arrived. However, within 15 minutes, one was brought for us. The continental breakfast is decent, your average muffins, bagels, orange juice coffee, etc. The only difference was the attendant who was fittingly very attentive with coffee, toasting bagels, etc. The girl at the desk also told us about some of the local spots, restaraunts, beaches, etc, which was great. The decor is charming old Cape Cod style, and while the place definitely a bit dated with the brown tile in the bathroom and colored toilets (yikes) it's clean and affordable. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't neccesarily want to pay the extra 150 dollars for ocean view, but still wants to be within walking distance to the beach.

  • Liked — Staff, decor
  • Disliked — no technology
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

The Dunes was sold this summer and it was quite evident upon checking into the motel. There was a young girl there who could have cared less about checking us in. We have been staying there for the past 10 summers and was always use to the owner "Greg" answering our questions and telling us what was new on the Cape. Now that he is gone, it seems like the personal touch is gone.
We always loved the breakfast in the morning. The nice silver service sets are gone and now it is one big "help yourself " continental breakfast. The dirty dishes were piled up so high one morning that it was disgusting.
The rooms are still clean. The crowd renting the rooms was much different than before. It used to be a very quiet motel. The four nights we were there there was partying until the wee hours of the morning, and we could not get to sleep. Also. alot of kids, which we were not used to.
We found another motel to stay at next year, close by, called the Windjammer. The rates are comporable and the desk clerk was so nice!
We never really appreciated how nice the property was run until we came back this year. It was like day and night!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

My wife, 8 year old daughter, mother-in-law and I stayed in regular room. for 7 days It was little tight, but the efficiencies were already booked and besides, we spent most of time site seeing, at the beach, or eating out so just needed a place to keep our stuff and sleep.

Older motel so can get some musty smells on first level, but clean. Pool is good size and property is kept up. Lots of families stayed there same week, many of whom told us they come here year after year.

Has amenities such as microwave, dorm size fridge, iron and hair dryer. Basic Continental breakfast fare such as cinnamon rolls, croissant, bagel, cofee, juice, etc. Very nice, hardworking staff. I rated the place higher because of this as really appreciate people who take pride in work and make extra effort . No laundry on site, but there is a big laundromat a short drive away.

The "300 yards away" beach is a very narrow strip of public beach. Location is close to the Yarmouth town beaches. We bought a pass and drove down as had a 68 year old in our party, but most of the others just walked down. The farther town beach has swing sets, bathroom, and food shack.

The beach is narrow, but water is warm and fairly calm. Good for younger kids. There was more sea weed than we were used to seeing. We go to different beaches every year: Myrtle Beach, Hilton Head, Destin, Gulf Shores, San Clemente and would say this is not as nice as those.

All in all would say this is a decent, clean family place and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no internet service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacolle, Quebec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Me and my family stayed at this motel for three nights.
It is clean, everything worked properly (we had an efficiency room) and everyone was courteous and helpful.

Yes, the bathroom is equipped with coloured toilet, sink and bath.
But who cares! If you do mind, well stay elsewhere.
It is located on a quiet street and within a short distance from the beach.

There is a breakfast included.

We loved both the beach near the motel as well as the one located at the cape cod seashore park (race point).

Beach near the hotel:
The water is clear and warm (keep in mind that we're from Canada! We've already experienced the cold water from Prince Edward's island, Nova Scotia or New Brunswick.)
Also, it is a good place to bring young children (no strong current when we were there).
Plenty of seashells

Beach at race point :
The water is colder, the waves bigger and the current is definitely stronger. It is the ocean not the Nantucket sound.
Plenty of rocks

If we visit Cape Cod again, we will definitely return to the Dunes Motor Inn.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

My husband and I got up one morning in late July and looked at each other and I said "let's go to the Cape!" It was scorching hot in New York , so it did not take too much convincing to have him agree with me to take off for the Cape.
We had no reservations anywhere. We would have slept in our van if we had too. In Plymouth, we stopped at an information center to ask about accomodations. They recommended The Dunes in Yarmouth. We paid $149. per night for a beautiful room with just a short walk to the beach.
The motel was really nice. Room very nicely decorated. Fridge and microwave. Also iron and board and hair dryer! Our bed was very comfortable (better than the new one we have at home!)
To top it off, we had a continental breakfast in their breakfast room which topped all complimentary breakfast we have ever had. The man that served the breakfast was great! He would toast our bagel and refill our coffee cup. The breakfast room is full of beautiful antiques, which the owner says have been passed down to him from his family. Classical music is played. It is sooooo relaxing!!
If you stay here, make sure you ask the owner - who is usually behind the front desk - for restaurant recommendations. We stayed for 4 nights and each recomendation he made was a hit!
Can't think of a complaint to make. I am a country bumpkin from New York State and have not done alot of travelling, but I felt as though this place was worth the money.
We would like to go back her next year and bring some friends with us. Someone told us the property was being sold , so I asked about it. We were assured that no changes were going to be made.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.