We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good ecperience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added The Dunes Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
Brunswick
1 review
“Not a good ecperience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our extra needed sheets and pillows(for our third in the room) were noticed to be coming from what I found out later was called a "staff room" .The employee sat in there watching tv. It was setup like one of the regular rental rooms. All of the staff were of Indian descent and had poor English speaking capabilities. I slipped on bathroom tub and sustained broken tooth and when I asked the desk manager who owned the hotel, he said he did not know. No problem for them to figure out how much I owed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you want Cape Cod Style this is the place to be - very clean - older bathrooms, comfortable beds, phone, refrigerator, microwave and AC. I had the most relaxing weekend with my 12 year old. The Beach is right down the road. The Pool was very clean, the lounge chairs very comfortable. The Best part was the employees - Jack and his team are very professional and courteous. Very attentive with their continental breakfast as well. I have been in the industry 25 years and would definitely recommend this diamond in the rough - Thank you Jack!! You are a true gentleman!!

Andrea and Sophia Manni

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on memorial weekend and unlike many others they had everything ready and great. The pool had been tested and certified.The rooms from the outside look like a basic motel room but inside they clearly have been update with very luxurious bedding and accessories.the bathroom could have been in a upscale hotel.You usually dont expect much when they say there is a "breakfast" at the motel but this was very nice complete with waffles.

The key to the pleasant atmosphere was the family who managed the place who prioritzed service.It was about a 8-10 miniute to the beach. Despite the fact it is a motel, it is in a totally residential neighborhool It must have been grandfathered in which is lucky for you as there is no traffic noise at night as in many motels.

Room Tip: If you dont mind stairs, choose an upstair room and enjoy sitting out on a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Dunes for 3 nights and have no complaints. Our room was very clean and the folks that operate the place are extremely pleasant and accommodating. While this is a older motel the owners are making the effort to upgrade. While we were there new carpeting was being installed in many of the rooms. This work was done during the day while we were not at the motel so it was not a bother at all. They do serve breakfast but we did not go down for it due to early morning commitments at a Bridge tournament. Our room was on the second floor and it was very quiet at night. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave oven and both were new and very clean. The television was a bit small but worked fine and had a good selection of channels. The shower was interesting, when first turned on it is very hot then goes to cold then comes back and moderates to a perfect temperature. Did not need to even turn on the cold water tap. If you turn it on and wait a few minutes to go through it's hot, cold, perfect cycle then you will have no issue with it. I would have no issue with staying here again and probably will next year when I return for the tournament. For the cost it was exactly what we needed for the weekend. If you want quiet and clean this is the place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In September 2012 I was with a group which stayed at the Dunes Motel during a guided tour of Cape Cod. I was not at all prepared for the “Dunes experience.”

Where to start? I remember the Eisenhower administration (1953-1961). The Dunes Motel must have been here then and VERY little has changed. It all came flooding back when I entered the room. The aqua tiled walls of the bath room with the aqua sink and tub. WOW! I have not seen that in years. The metal cabinet over the sink, the old Koehler sink fittings it was all there. If you want to go back in time, to those thrilling days of yesteryear, “with a hearty Hi-Yo, Silver. Away!” here is THE spot.

This is another one of those “check list” motels found on group tours. Room; check. Beds; check. Bath room en suite; check. Hot water; check. All the parts are there but the total experience leaves a lot to be desired.

The owner, and family, responded to any and all issues quickly. The problem is there should not have been so many issues to respond to. My room had a plumbing problem. We were offered a different room; we accepted. The plumbing problem was fixed later the same day but should have been found and fixed before the room was rented. Others in the group had similar issues which all seemed to be resolved quickly as well. Still, the issues seemed to arise from the fact the property needs to be completely overhauled ASAP.

I spoke to another couple who were ending a week-long stay. They were quite satisfied. Others in our group were also satisfied with the responsiveness of the owner/operator.

Breakfast (included) was odd by contemporary standards. Again, all the parts were there but it seemed a bit “quaint” and reminiscent of the early days of motel development in the United States. Not awful just odd.

For travelers in their 30’s this place is a living, 3-D historical experience. Want to know what the motels of the 1960’s were like? Stay here.

This is a very quiet area, mostly rental cottages. The ocean is about two long blocks away. There is a small public beach (100+- yards) with benches, parking and sand to walk on. Easy walk to, from and on the beach. That is about all there is in the neighborhood. There is one restaurant near the ocean about ¾ mile from the motel. Other services are a car ride away on the main road.

All in all it was an experience. Interesting experience, not terrible, but it was interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After returning here many years, the Dunes has deteriorated to the point of "no more returns" for us. The place changed owners a couple times since Greg sold it. You can only use a facility so long, then you HAVE TO update. Torn rugs, blankets with numerous holes, and cleanliness at marginal level. The help, though courteous, don't understand you and any needs through them are lost in translation.
Our family loved this place in its prime, but the prime is long gone. Stop milking the cow, and feed it once in a while.

Room Tip: If you do stay here try to get the larger end rooms by Seaview Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton township, nj
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

room is good size, bathroom ok, had fridge, microwave and iron. king bed was comfy. it is an older place, but adequate. had a pool, but we did not swim as it rained. continental breakfast is ok. cold cereal, bagels, donuts, coffee. it is about 2 blocks from a small public beach on Nantucket Sound. the beach was not great, small and smelly from dead shellfish laying around. hotel is located on a residential street, that has cottage rentals on it. if you are looking to be close to the big beaches, head towards Wellfleet or Truro and that area. This hotel is 45 miles from Providencetown. It did not smell like smoke and did not have bugs, but next day i did notice that all my clothes smelled damp/musty from the room. its ok, not great, not horrible. not a great location for the beach, but there are many shops and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: if you want to be close to a good beach, look in Wellfleet, or Truro area. there is a bit of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.