We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Those thrilling days of yesteryear!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunes Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Dunes Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Those thrilling days of yesteryear!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In September 2012 I was with a group which stayed at the Dunes Motel during a guided tour of Cape Cod. I was not at all prepared for the “Dunes experience.”

Where to start? I remember the Eisenhower administration (1953-1961). The Dunes Motel must have been here then and VERY little has changed. It all came flooding back when I entered the room. The aqua tiled walls of the bath room with the aqua sink and tub. WOW! I have not seen that in years. The metal cabinet over the sink, the old Koehler sink fittings it was all there. If you want to go back in time, to those thrilling days of yesteryear, “with a hearty Hi-Yo, Silver. Away!” here is THE spot.

This is another one of those “check list” motels found on group tours. Room; check. Beds; check. Bath room en suite; check. Hot water; check. All the parts are there but the total experience leaves a lot to be desired.

The owner, and family, responded to any and all issues quickly. The problem is there should not have been so many issues to respond to. My room had a plumbing problem. We were offered a different room; we accepted. The plumbing problem was fixed later the same day but should have been found and fixed before the room was rented. Others in the group had similar issues which all seemed to be resolved quickly as well. Still, the issues seemed to arise from the fact the property needs to be completely overhauled ASAP.

I spoke to another couple who were ending a week-long stay. They were quite satisfied. Others in our group were also satisfied with the responsiveness of the owner/operator.

Breakfast (included) was odd by contemporary standards. Again, all the parts were there but it seemed a bit “quaint” and reminiscent of the early days of motel development in the United States. Not awful just odd.

For travelers in their 30’s this place is a living, 3-D historical experience. Want to know what the motels of the 1960’s were like? Stay here.

This is a very quiet area, mostly rental cottages. The ocean is about two long blocks away. There is a small public beach (100+- yards) with benches, parking and sand to walk on. Easy walk to, from and on the beach. That is about all there is in the neighborhood. There is one restaurant near the ocean about ¾ mile from the motel. Other services are a car ride away on the main road.

All in all it was an experience. Interesting experience, not terrible, but it was interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After returning here many years, the Dunes has deteriorated to the point of "no more returns" for us. The place changed owners a couple times since Greg sold it. You can only use a facility so long, then you HAVE TO update. Torn rugs, blankets with numerous holes, and cleanliness at marginal level. The help, though courteous, don't understand you and any needs through them are lost in translation.
Our family loved this place in its prime, but the prime is long gone. Stop milking the cow, and feed it once in a while.

Room Tip: If you do stay here try to get the larger end rooms by Seaview Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton township, nj
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

room is good size, bathroom ok, had fridge, microwave and iron. king bed was comfy. it is an older place, but adequate. had a pool, but we did not swim as it rained. continental breakfast is ok. cold cereal, bagels, donuts, coffee. it is about 2 blocks from a small public beach on Nantucket Sound. the beach was not great, small and smelly from dead shellfish laying around. hotel is located on a residential street, that has cottage rentals on it. if you are looking to be close to the big beaches, head towards Wellfleet or Truro and that area. This hotel is 45 miles from Providencetown. It did not smell like smoke and did not have bugs, but next day i did notice that all my clothes smelled damp/musty from the room. its ok, not great, not horrible. not a great location for the beach, but there are many shops and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: if you want to be close to a good beach, look in Wellfleet, or Truro area. there is a bit of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beacon falls ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

OMG! Had the best time last week at the Dunes Motel. We were treated like royalty by Jack and Pax who run the place. clean as a whistlen! u can eat off the sidewalks! place is older but thats what gives it its charm. Had everything we needed, full kitchen, fridge, stove toaster, hair dryer, iron and board, loads of closet space. decent continental bfskt. close to everything shopping , restaurants, beach around the corner. very inexpensive for area, cottages down the stret 250 a nite. would reccomend this place to everyone, families, friends, couples.Cant wait to go back with my family at end of summer. Thanks Jack and Pax for a wonderful stay! Nancy and Lynn from CT

Room Tip: rooms with kitchen are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had a wonderful experience with an overnight stay at the Dunes. Owner stayed open awaiting our late arrival, didn't arrive until after 10:00 pm. Extremely clean and the staff were very helpful in meeting our needs. There were other people there who stay at the Dunes during their yearly visits to the Cape. The TV, fridge, micro, hair dryer were not the newest models but everything worked fine. The breakfast was compatible with the cost of a room (danish, bagels, english muffins and cereal).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticiut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay at The Dunes Motor Inn. It had everything we were looking for: affordable rate, excellent location, clean, relaxing, and friendly staff. We loved being off of busy route 28, but close enough for a quick drive to local attractions. A short walk took us to the beautiful beach and a great local restaurant. The room, grounds, and pool were kept very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were looking for a clean, comfortable, cheap no frills motel. If this motel was $75 cheaper, I'd give it a positive review. But it's way too expensive for what they offer.

Room - The two full beds in our room were tiny and the matresses were too firm. The tv was from the 1980's; I know, my family had the same model in 1989! The remote didn't work. The room stunk of cleaning products, but it was clean and there were no bugs. The blankets were thin, but passable. The pillows were flat. Overall, this would have been a passable room in 1989, but now, it was terribly outdated and overpriced.

The walls were thin, so we were treated to listening to screaming kids every single morning.

Breakfast - This is the worst breakfast I've ever seen. All they had were a few TINY muffins and some cereal. I've seen better at the Comfort Inn.

Pool - It looked ok. We never went in.

Parking - There are not enough spaces for all of the cars. If you arrive late, you may not be able to park.

Location - It is near the beach and the main strip, so the location is fine, if you want to stay mid-Cape.
We've stayed at worse, but we won't be back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.