We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf and Sand Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surf and Sand Beach Motel to your Saves list
Surf and Sand Beach Motel
277 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
L'Assomption, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I`m giving this hotel a 3 star rating because of the amount of noise you can here from other rooms. We barely slept, due to the fact that the walls and ceiling are paper thin. You can hear very clearly conversations on either side of us and upstairs. This includes t.v.s and bodily functions. Our room was very clean and I appreciated the kitchenette.
The beach was full of sea weed but the grounds were kept very clean. The pool was crystal clear.
It`s not a place that I would go back to. Disappointing, not much to do there either.
By the way,the picture of the hotel is actually the back,the front looks like a run down factory,not very inviting. I actually thought I had the wrong place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    9
    8
    17
See reviews for
25
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I will give this hotel 2 stars because it a perfect location right on the beach and the upgraded rooms are very nice with half kitchens, but the women who is the management or owner of this place will make your stay a living hell. My fiance and I visited our parents staying here last year when we were first approached by her screaming we could not visit hotel guests amenities were for paying guests only and we would be towed if we did not move our car. This year we booked our own room for the weekend (the penthouse mind you) and my parents booked their own room and we were treated the SAME way as the women who wrote the review above. Pounding on the door at 9pm accusing us of sneaking guests into the room and being disruptive when we were only enjoying dinner and some laughs on the patio. Ridiculous and unprofessional I will never give this place my business again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I have been coming to this motel for 6 years now and we have had a great stay each time. The location, grounds and rooms are excellent as well as the front desk staff. I can't say the same for the owner of the property. She was exceedingly rude to my boyfriend when he was trying to help someone out, had a bad attitude not only with him but other guests on the property. It is for this reason he and I will NEVER stay there again. It's too bad because we both look forward to coming to that motel each summer. We will definitely find another place to stay but the Surf and Sand will not get anymore of our money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great views Upgraded rooms lobby and Common area are being refurnished All new furnishing.I Would recommend this motel highly Front desk staff Robert and Pat were very informative on places to see and restaurants to eat at

Room Tip: second floor balconies have the best views of the manicured grounds and ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was a nice hotel right on the ocean. Very large room with kitchenette, microwave, coffee maker, stove top and small fridge. Very good price during off season making an ocean front room very affordable. Rooms were clean and location is excellent. My only complaint was no wifi so I could not use my tablet to read my morning paper.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you want front ocean views, an efficiency apartment and friendly staff, definitely stay here. Every room overlooks the ocean. The scenery is like unspoiled old Cape Cod. Most of the rooms have been refurbished with new baths, new kitchenettes and new furnishings.
Muffins and coffee are served mornings in the common room. A two storied building with patios on the first floor and balconies on the second floor. The location allows for plenty of walking and biking by the beach and the Bass River. It has an outdoor pool on the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The view is amazing, I wish I could have stayed longer. The rooms are clean and super cute! The beach is right outside your door. The lobby and the exterior of the hotel is not that appealing but it won't matter once you enter the updated room. We loved having a kitchen and it too, was updated with granite. Great price for the view!

Room Tip: Stop at a grocery store before going there because it's far and the main road is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf and Sand Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Beach Motel

Address: 277 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a secluded stretch of private beach directly on Nantucket Sound offering a vacation distinctly different from most Cape Cod resorts. Sit back and relax at your own pace, basking in the warm Cape Cod sun 'til your heart's content; or stroll along the shore gathering shells at sunset. Stake claim to one of the beach chairs on our extensive lawn or poolside while you catch up on your reading; or if the kids beckon, build castles in the sand or play a challenging game of shuffleboard... without ever moving from your home by the beach.We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. Whether your here for a family vacation, a family reunion or to celebrate the union of two in matrimony, we want to be of service.When the mood strikes, you're just minutes from the many popular activities which dot the landscape in the Mid-Cape area. From museums and history to antique and gift shops... miniature golf to whale watching, you'll set your own pace to enjoy the many activities for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surf and Sand Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Surf And Sand Beach Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf and Sand Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.