We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape Inn

Save Saved
You added The Escape Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
Great Neck, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Escape Inn stays true to its name because you really feel that you have escaped from hectic life and into a cute little inn. The rooms are decorated simply and you could smell the clean scent of newly washed sheets and towels when you first walk in. It is obvious that Michael and Holly, the owners, take great care and pride and want to create a positive experience for their guests. They were very helpful when giving suggestions about possible adventures and even included the best roads to avoid traffic! The location is terrific for doing lots of activities and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
121
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This was reviewed highly on trip advisor and it lived up to the reviews! Holly and Michael, the husband and wife owners, were very welcoming and very helpful on local knowledge. Room was bright and airy. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. The Escape Inn was perfectly located 'mid cape' on route 28 so able to access all of the cape very easily. We would highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned after spending 6 nights at The Escape Inn. Michael and Holly made us feel at home as soon as we checked in. The rooms were nicely decorated and extremely clean and fresh. Every day the rooms were cleaned and beds made with immaculate white linens. The Escape Inn is conveniently located on Rt 28. The breakfast every morning was delicious and they have great coffee!! We would definitely recommend The Escape Inn for anyone staying in Cape Cod. Thanks Michael and Holly for make our stay in Cape Cod so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was really excited to stay here after reading so many positive reviews. I guess many of those reviews are from people that have no kids. I was shocked that on the first night that the owner comes up banging on our door at 10 o'clock saying that we are shaking the whole building. Keep in mind that they put us on the second floor with only the office below us. All of the rooms have hardwood floors so I would suggest tip toeing in the evening which is hard to tell kids to do after a long day.

The good:

This place is very clean and I can tell the owners put quite a bit of effort keeping it that way.
The rooms are good size and it has a nice flat screen to watch TV.
Great location a short distance from many activities.

The bad:

The bathroom is small and the beds creak a little when you get into it.
It has portable air conditioners that says you have to keep a window cracked to operate. With the window open, you can hear traffic from route 28. ( they do supply ear plugs )

I would recommend this place to couples that go to bed early and don't have children. This place is a ghost town as soon as it gets dark.

Room Tip: Select a room away from route 28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Travelled with my son for four days. The Escape Inn is vey clean and neat.Holly and Michael are polite, welcoming and pay lots of attention to all their guests. The location of the Escape Inn is convinient to everything. I would definetely recommend it to everybody stay in this inn again. Thank you Holly and Michael!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clean, quiet with simple with many nice touches. This should be the model for every other motel on Cape Cod. The Escape Inn is an oasis of reliability in a desert of dirty, rundown lodging on Route 28 in Hyannis, Yarmouth & Dennisport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Escape Inn is conveniently located on Rt 28 and is directly next door to the Cape Cod Creamery-(yummy). My family and I recently stayed for 4 nights. Check in was quick and easy and Michael and Holly were welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated with a simple relaxed beach feel and had beautiful all white bedding. The best part was that our room was exceptionally clean! The pool was great for our kids and breakfast each morning was just enough for us to start our day. I would definitely return...

Room Tip: A/c does take a while to cool down the room....Rooms do get hot.... Maybe a ground floor room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.