We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Escape Inn to your Saves list
The Escape Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights at the Escape Inn the 1st week of july.
I booked this hotel based on reviews alone, and was not disappointed. The rooms were big & clean, with very comfortable beds. Linen was spotless...
The complimentary continental breakfast was simple but adequate for my liking.
Holly and Michael, the hosts, were incredibly helpful in giving us daily advice on towns /sites / places to visit.
I truly felt like I was a guest in their home.
Thank you both for a great stay, and Holly, your blueberries were awesome! ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    42
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
136
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I travel all over the globe, and Michael & Holly's place ranks amongst the best for value, cleanliness, service and hospitality. Great location and convenient to everything at the Cape! Given the business July 4th weekend, they couldn't have made us feel any more welcome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent three nights here in June and were very happy we did! Rooms were very clean and everything was new. The owners Mike and Holly couldn't have been more helpful when we asked for advice on ferries and local attractions.
Lots to do in the area, restaurants were all great! We would highly recommend The Escape Inn to anyone planning to visit the area...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family stayed at The Escape Inn for 4 nights in June 2013 and it exceeded both our expectations and past experience of motels.

It's located in South Yarmouth, a perfect central location for exploring the length of the cape. From Province Town at the top of the cape to Woods Hole (for Marthas  Vineyard ferry), the Escape is only a hour away at most.

The rooms were well equipped with free wifi, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, moisturiser, ironing board & iron, bathroom & pool towels, air conditioning and large plasma TV. Our room was spotlessly clean with new white bedding and towels, and it was cleaned daily (unless you use the do not disturb sign). More hotel than motel.

They also have a decent sized pool with sun loungers, tables and garden area that is also kept very clean. It's well fenced off so is both private and safe if you have younger kids that you would want kept away without supervision.You also get a continental breakfast as part of the package including a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, breads and rolls. I recommend the toasted fruit loaf and great coffee.

But best of all is the owners, Michael and Holly.  What ever your plans it's worth having a chat with them. They'll keep you right with their local knowledge and on more than one occassion gave us suggestions that enhanced our experience of the cape.

Highly recommended.

The Penicuik Belles

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just returned from spending a wonderful two nights at the Escape Inn. This older-style, motor-lodge type property has been completely renovated inside and out, and really could not be nicer.

We were greeted in a spacious, sunny lobby with gleaming hardwood floors and wicker furniture by Mike and Holly, the owners. Throughout our stay they were always available, friendly, full of really useful information and helpful suggestions about local beaches, restaurants, etc. Continental breakfast is available in the lobby every morning. Offerings are simple: cereal, breads, muffins, fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs, coffee & juice. Everything is very fresh and beautifully presented.

We stayed in room 19, on the second floor. The entire property inside and out is painted in soft, beachy pastels. Our room was peach. All of the rooms have hardwood floors, which is so nice because it's clean and you don't get that damp, musty carpet smell. The room was small but had everything we needed. The Queen bed with soft white linens was very comfortable. We had a large flatscreen TV mounted on the wall. All of the furniture is white, in keeping with the beach theme. The bathroom was also small but absolutely spotless, with plenty of soft white towels and nice toiletries. We found a hairdrier and towels for the pool in our armoire. The room has windows on both sides, so you get a lovely cross-breeze. We also had modern, excellent AC.

Everything about this hotel shows tremendous attention to detail. Every nook and cranny, every flower and blade of grass, is fresh, clean and pristine. I can't stress enough how nice this property looks. The grounds are immaculate, with lots of care given to landscaping. We used the outdoor pool and not only was it spotless, but there are really nice loungers surrounding it, making it somewhere you'd actually want to sit and relax. Each room has it's own outdoor table and two chairs. They are spotless. The paint looks brand new. You won't find a scratch, spot or stain anywhere here.

Housekeeping obviously does a fantastic job, and our room was freshly made up when we returned from a day out. We enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby and conversation with Mike and Holly each morning.

My one and only suggestion would be a different window covering in the rooms. Our room had five windows, which was great. However, they have mini blinds, which do not keep out the light. There is a light fixture outside the door to each room, which is a nice security/safety feature, but makes the room extremely bright in the evening, even with the blinds closed. These lights seem to stay on until 2am. There is also a fair amount of street noise, given that this hotel sits right on busy Route 28, and there's a very popular ice cream store next door. Mike & Holly provide sleep masks and ear plugs in a basket next to the bed, which is helpful and thoughtful. While they can't do anything about the street noise, I hope they consider some room darkening shades in the future.

Overall, we were so pleased with our stay, and look forward to returning to the Escape Inn often. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thanks tripadvisor as I followed the positive reviews to this Motels doorstep and wasn't disappointed. Grounds were landscaped to perfection so really not too surprised when opening the room door...Flawless. Beds were extremely comfortable with nice white crisp sheets and a 42' inch plasma mounted on the wall! Bathrooms small but spotless and the floors were Hardwood none of that musty like carpet here and met the owners Michael & Holly who couldn't have been any nicer so in closing I really give this establishment a perfect 10 out of 10. If staying in the mid-Cape area stay here there will be zero regrets trust me.

Room Tip: Further back are single floor units..Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a single queen room last minute for one evening, and how lucky were we? The grounds were very nice, with a finely manicured outdoor pool, and seating outside. The rooms were immaculate. Maybe the cleanest hotel I've stayed at in years....which is very important to me. The towels and sheets smelled bleachy fresh, which was awesome. There was a simple complementary breakfast. The room was quiet (but came with earplugs and a sleeping mask just in case). I would absolutely stay there again, and hope to with the kids the next time. There was Cape Cod Creamery literally next door which was an amazing treat after a long day :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.