We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on the Cape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Escape Inn to your Saves list
The Escape Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on the Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I think we found a hidden gem when we stayed at the Escape Inn. The owners, Mike & Holly, couldn't have been more gracious or helpful - from providing extra beach towels for us, providing us with an umbrella in the rain or giving us tips on which beaches the locals go to (which, BTW provided us with one of our best beach days EVER) - they were fabulous. Breakfast each day was very basic and healthy - perfect start to our day. Our room on the 2nd floor was immaculate - it epitomized everything you think a "Cape Cod" room should be - crisp white linens, clean lines, cheery, light walls, comfortable bed. The portable A/C in our room kept it very comfortable in the Aug heat. The location is perfect - right in the middle of everything on the Cape. We were able to do day trips in both directions. The value was unbeatable. We will absolutely stay here again on our next trip to the Cape and would recommend it to anyone! I do think this B&B - at least the room we stayed in - is probably more suitable for couples or a friends getaway than for families with kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
149
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Booked this room based on price & TripAdvisor reviews. However we were surprised & disappointed when we saw the room. Small simple room, so simple in fact that there was no where to sit except the bed. We had done a lot of driving so we just had snacks for dinner when we got there. No place to sit our soda cans & food. Nice wood floors but VERY noisy if someone is in the room above yours. Breakfast had only a couple choices & extra small amount of food. I'm sure the owners were lovely people, but they appeared quite busy when we were there, so very little interaction with them. The biggest plus....the bed....it was comfortable & CLEAN.

Room Tip: 2nd level may be much more quiet. Don't expect to do anything in your room except sleep. May w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three separate times caring for an elderly relative nearby. Hosts made our stay much easier during a difficult time. Breakfast was easy and varied a little each day. Accommodations were just like the online pictures , we stayed in three different rooms. Clean as a whistle and white comfy bed linens. The only recommendation I have would be to put an Adirondack chair in each room for tv watching when you don't want to watch from bed.
Definitely the best buy motel on the Cape!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is my husband's and my first visit to Cape Cod. I read overwhelming positive reviews from TripAdvisor members about this place and was excited to see what the buzz was all about. The Escape Inn exceeded my expectations. Holly gave great recommendations on things to do when I made my reservation. Mike gave great tips on where to dine when I checked into the hotel. The room is so cute and more importantly very clean. Check out this place the next time you are in town. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great experience, Mike and Holly have created a little home away from home on the Cape. They offer friendly, personal service and a great beachside ambience. All for a great value. We would definitely recommend to friends and family for a quiet romantic getaway and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Do not let the outside fool you. Very nice, clean and airy rooms...all have queen beds with two (2) rooms having double queens..Bathrooms are clean and well stocked...nice breakfast for the added touch.

Holly and Michael welcome you as if you we're in their home..

No question we will return...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Modernised motel with friendly owners.

Very clean and tidy, though somewhat minimalistic with wooden floors.

Reasonable continental breakfast included.

Free wifi in room (a little weak).

Reasonably-priced stopoff. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.