We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cape Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Escape Inn to your Saves list
The Escape Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Cape Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

When we fisrt stayed at this "inn" last August it was love at first sight. It proved to be everything it appeared to be on their websight. We have already been back again this season and hope to get there again soon. It will be our first choice when coming to visit family on the cape. Close to everything. This is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
149
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A group of us descended on Cape Cod for memorial day weekend. We landed at The Escape Inn, in South Yarmouth. While driving on RT-28, we passed dozens of run down, shanty motels. When we checked into the Escape Inn, we were immediately greeted by the owners. We were quickly checked in and escorted to our room. The room was cute, beach oriented, relaxing and comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the room's cleanliness. The bathroom/shower was great and the facilities were in tip top shape. It was the perfect spot for our memorial day visit to the Cape. One hint: bring a sleeping mask if you dont like to rise with the sun...its bright in the early am!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln university, pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Michael and Holly, owners of the Escape Inn, were so friendly and helpful. It was almost like staying in a bed and breakfast without having to feel like a houseguest. The rooms were modern and clean---hardwood flooring and shades instead of the standard yucky carpet and heavy window coverings. No room phones or refrigerators but a good computer and ice machine were handy. We didn't use the lovely pool but it has a pleasant setting and the small tables and chairs outside our room were the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner glass of wine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

TA reviews for the Escape Inn have been so uniformly good, we had to pick it for a one night stay on Cape Cod. We were not disappointed.
The hotel has been renovated from two years ago by owners Michael and Holly, and they've done a superb job. Everything is so clean, fresh, and beautiful, from the hardwood floors to the bright white bedding. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, and there were a few nice restaurants in walking distance. My only complaint might be the lack of space in the bathroom, but it did complete the Cape Cod design nicely, and the rates for just off season couldn't be beat!
The continental breakfast was simple but tasty, just right to start the day. The also have a 9 foot pool, probably a holdover from days when they had a diving board. We didn't spend any time there (sort of superfluous for Florida travelers), but it also looked pristine and inviting.
Holly and Michael are hospitable and helpful, with lots of information about the Cape and things to do. They obviously take pride in their operation, and it shows. This was our first time on Cape Cod, but won't be our last, and the Escape Inn is well situated for a longer stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I DON’T stay at “Motel” or local places normally. But I do stay in chain hotels about 150-175 nights a year… This was a last minute vacation day the GF and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay. My Friend lives in Hyannis and told me horror stories about some of the cheaper Motels along RT 28. Thanks to Tripadvisor we found this gem. This place really was immaculate, very well kept and very affordable. I would recommend this place highly.

We didn’t use the pool etc but looked clean. They have coffee and bagels etc snack on in the AM, a nice bonus I wasn’t expecting as part of the price. The owners were nice and friendly and more than willing to help you with any plans you may have. GREAT DEAL possibly best value, $79 for a Saturday night (just off season, I expect the rates higher during high season). Book now, don’t hesitate they will book up!

Room Tip: They only have 21 rooms so they will book up, book in advance if possible or you won’t get a room he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here this May 2012 and we were welcomed by the owners Holly and Michael. We were give access to our room right a way and enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon around their beautiful pool which was decorated in new aqua blue pool furniture. It was so clean and the landscaping of the grounds looked so nice. The room was just perfect. It could not have been cleaner, bright,and cheerful with all the added seashore decorations. We had a wonerful breakfast there. The owners are so friendly they make you feel like family. We are looking forward to our next stay here!

Room Tip: Alll the rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at this delightful hotel recently, May 14th and 15th. We were blown away by the attention to every detail to ensure this establishment catered for our needs. Of specialy not is the immaculate cleaniness and the friendly welcome. This business is a labour of love and it was a total joy staying there for 2 perfect nights, I can't recommend the place highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are completed to te same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.