We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not customer friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House

Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House
152 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5844 (Formerly Skipper Restaurant & Chowder house)
508-394-7406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House serving the finest seafood with the best view since 1936. Winner of the Newport, Boston and Cape Cod chowder festivals.
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not customer friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have frequented this restaurant over the years. However our recent trip was far from enjoyable. While we enjoyed our dinner the way we were treated was not the way a customer should be treated. Beware DO NOT go in with a Visa gift card. They do not tell you nor do they post signs that they don't take them. Even though it seems everything was okay when the bill was paid the waitress came running out in front of other customers to say they didn't take. We were so embarrassed as if we were not paying for dinner. So happens they claim to have been burnt in the past and have to pay fees for this. Whatever the problem is they are having with these they are not letting the customer know before they decide to humiliate them publicly. Go elsewhere if you want to be treated with respect.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    170
    58
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Get there early and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Advice for everyone who plans to go out to dinner on the Cape in the summer - get there before 5PM and you will be fine! We had a party of 10 and had a great time! The chowder is excellent, definitely order at least one bowl and share if you can't take too much cream. It's worth a taste! Everyone's dishes were great. The service was friendly and kids can enjoy an after dinner playground visit. The only issue we had was that it was very noisy, making conversation very difficult, especially with our large party. If you have a smaller group, try to check-out the upper level, which is outside overlooking the beach. It looks like a great place to hang.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

While they do not take reservations and the wait is lengthy, if you stay at the Red Jacket in South Yarmouth the concierge can call ahead and shorten your wait for a table. It was fantastic!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average quality food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had early dinner before the crowds. The food was very average and service was kind of pushy as they tried to clear tables ASAP !
I would try another place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great food, big portions, amazing taste and value. What else could you ask for ??
Will return again and again, for sure

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.